The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2017, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 4
I am stumped !!

A1 goes up for a two handed dunk - he gets stuffed by the rim, never lets go of the ball and returns to the ground with the ball. What is the call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2017, 10:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankienova View Post
A1 goes up for a two handed dunk - he gets stuffed by the rim, never lets go of the ball and returns to the ground with the ball. What is the call?
The ball must be released for a pass or try for goal before the pivot foot returns to the floor. If he didn't release the ball for the try, I think you'd have travelling here.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2017, 10:58am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Good question. I know the shot clock does not reset in those situations.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2017, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
The call is one embarrassed A1.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2017, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
The call is one embarrassed A1.
Oh, c'mon, that must have been a foul!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2017, 08:17pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
If he gets clobbered on the way down does he get two shots?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 08, 2017, 07:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If he gets clobbered on the way down does he get two shots?
Why would the airborne shooter provision not apply to a dunker?
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stumped tw1ns Basketball 7 Thu Oct 27, 2016 10:06am
Stumped a bit Refsmitty Football 5 Fri Sep 02, 2016 04:10am
Stumped fullor30 Basketball 24 Sun Feb 22, 2009 02:28pm
Stumped PABlue Baseball 4 Sun Mar 05, 2006 04:36pm
Im Stumped IURef Baseball 7 Sat Jun 25, 2005 01:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1