The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Could I have done anything? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103206-could-i-have-done-anything.html)

Scrapper1 Wed Dec 06, 2017 09:54am

Could I have done anything?
 
Here's my situation from last night's college game.

With about 6 minutes remaining in the 2nd half, Team A attempts a try, which is unsuccessful. Before either team gains control, A5 intentionally bats the ball into Team A's backcourt, where A1 is the first to touch the ball.

My partner at T (R on the game) blows the whistle for a backcourt violation.

As I start to walk to T to discuss it, my other partner (U1) gets there first and they discuss the play. Players are all still on the court, so I do not join the conversation. I am watching the players.

Whistle blows and U1 points toward Team A and moves back toward his position in the frontcourt. Ok, good.

R then says to me, "Team B ball!" and directs everyone to the other end of the court. U1 (never having gotten back to his original position) hustles to the other end and does not re-engage the R.

So what do I do here? We've already stopped the game once. We've had a long (too long) conversation. We've had confusion. And we've stayed with the original incorrect call.

Do I stop the game again? Do I take a crack at changing the R's mind? If I do this, don't I make the crew look worse? "Come on, make up your mind!"

What I actually did was nothing. In the confusion, I felt like I would just be extending the bad situation.

So at the next TO, I'm next to the U1 and ask what happened. He said the R was 100% that there was control. (In the locker room after the game, he said it was a controlled tap.) He wanted to stay with the call and he would take the responsibility for the call.

So here's my honest question. Should I have taken my turn at trying to change the R's mind?

The team that was called for the violation lost by 2.

Matt S. Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:27am

My thoughts...
 
First, let me say this is a tough play - and judgment rules the day with respect to 'controlled tap.'

In my pregames, we always talk about bringing information when you're on the floor, not back in the locker room. That said, if you were going to bring your information, it should've been during the crew conference, not a 2nd conference.

I think what you did was right - because your partners assumed (correctly) you didn't have an opinion on the play since you didn't join the conversation. If you had something, no harm in sending players to their benches while the three of you discuss.

CJP Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:32am

Does a player have to "control" the ball to make it "intentionally" go somewhere?

bob jenkins Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012378)
Does a player have to "control" the ball to make it "intentionally" go somewhere?

No. (except where defined by rule, as in a tap for a basket)

so cal lurker Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:52am

So is this a judgment call as to whether the tap was sufficiently controlled to warrant determining team control in the front court? What do you rely on for that judgment?

CJP Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1012380)
No. (except where defined by rule, as in a tap for a basket)

Could a pass or rebound be "tapped" by a player to teammate who scores and get credit for an assist?

Scrapper1 Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt S. (Post 1012376)

I think what you did was right - because your partners assumed (correctly) you didn't have an opinion on the play since you didn't join the conversation.

I absolutely did have an opinion. But it was so obviously an incorrect call that I (stupidly) assumed that my U1 was going to bring the information and the call would be corrected.

I should have sent the teams to the benches and been part of the original conversation, but I honestly didn't think my input would be necessary. Again, stupidly.

The question for me is what should/could I have done after the initial conference.

Scrapper1 Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012382)
Could a pass or rebound be "tapped" by a player to teammate who scores and get credit for an assist?

Nobody in stripes could care less who gets credit for an assist. The real question on this type of play is "would you grant a TO to a player who is "tapping" the ball to a teammate?".

CJP Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1012384)
Nobody in stripes could care less who gets credit for an assist. The real question on this type of play is "would you grant a TO to a player who is "tapping" the ball to a teammate?".

There is a correlation. If you can't see it then stick to your back court violation. It is the safe call but I am not convinced it is the correct call. Either way, I would not worry about stopping a game to convince my partner. I would back him up on either call.

Scrapper1 Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012385)
There is a correlation. If you can't see it then stick to your back court violation.

What is the correlation that you're referring to?

Quote:

It is the safe call but I am not convinced it is the correct call.
I don't know about safe, but it was definitely NOT the correct call.

Raymond Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt S. (Post 1012376)
First, let me say this is a tough play - and judgment rules the day with respect to 'controlled tap.'

In my pregames, we always talk about bringing information when you're on the floor, not back in the locker room. That said, if you were going to bring your information, it should've been during the crew conference, not a 2nd conference.

I think what you did was right - because your partners assumed (correctly) you didn't have an opinion on the play since you didn't join the conversation. If you had something, no harm in sending players to their benches while the three of you discuss.

Three officials should not be conferencing at the same time unless the teams are at their benches. So by the time he realized what was going on it is way too late to send the teams to their benches.

If this were the last two or three minutes of the game I would do so. But in this situation I'm going to let the crew chief live with his call.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

CJP Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1012386)
What is the correlation that you're referring to?

I don't know about safe, but it was definitely NOT the correct call.

Sounds like you have it all figured out then.

OKREF Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:43pm

If I think a player intentionally batted the ball into the backcourt, that would probably be enough for me to say he had control, maybe... Just my thought...

walt Wed Dec 06, 2017 01:13pm

I think the only thing you could've done was send the team's to the benches and join the initial conference once you saw how long it was taking. That being said, it sounds like even if you did that, the official who made the call was convinced that the tap established "control" and was not going to change the call. The last thing we want is an argument on the floor. Did either coach say anything? What did the film show? Did you send it to your coordinator for his/her opinion? Information was brought to the official who made the call and he decided to not accept the information. That is about all you could do.

Raymond Wed Dec 06, 2017 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 1012391)
If I think a player intentionally batted the ball into the backcourt, that would probably be enough for me to say he had control, maybe... Just my thought...

So you are saying that if A2 bats the ball away from B2 during the course of rebounding action, you would call a violation when A1 retrieves the ball from the back court?

bucky Wed Dec 06, 2017 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1012373)
Here's my situation from last night's college game.

With about 6 minutes remaining in the 2nd half, Team A attempts a try, which is unsuccessful. Before either team gains control, A5 intentionally bats the ball into Team A's backcourt, where A1 is the first to touch the ball.

My partner at T (R on the game) blows the whistle for a backcourt violation.

As I start to walk to T to discuss it, my other partner (U1) gets there first and they discuss the play. Players are all still on the court, so I do not join the conversation. I am watching the players.

Whistle blows and U1 points toward Team A and moves back toward his position in the frontcourt. Ok, good.

R then says to me, "Team B ball!" and directs everyone to the other end of the court. U1 (never having gotten back to his original position) hustles to the other end and does not re-engage the R.

So what do I do here? We've already stopped the game once. We've had a long (too long) conversation. We've had confusion. And we've stayed with the original incorrect call.

Do I stop the game again? Do I take a crack at changing the R's mind? If I do this, don't I make the crew look worse? "Come on, make up your mind!"

What I actually did was nothing. In the confusion, I felt like I would just be extending the bad situation.

So at the next TO, I'm next to the U1 and ask what happened. He said the R was 100% that there was control. (In the locker room after the game, he said it was a controlled tap.) He wanted to stay with the call and he would take the responsibility for the call.

So here's my honest question. Should I have taken my turn at trying to change the R's mind?

The team that was called for the violation lost by 2.

You were correct in your actions. The R took responsibility for the call after a debate. Not a big deal. You could have done something else but in the end, the R took the call. Any reports made will indicate that. If there are any ramifications they would be very minor and you can walk away with your integrity. Usually that is the most important thing unless of course you are trying to climb the collegiate officiating ladder.

Rich Wed Dec 06, 2017 01:49pm

Sometimes you can be right....and you can be wrong.

At the point where you needed to make a decision, you made the right one. You couldn't send the teams to the benches and then get the crew together and then (possibly) have an argument with the R over the call. Sounds like he would've stuck with it.

There's a pretty famous YouTube video where I was faced with an official making an obviously incorrect decision and an obviously incorrect call. In the end, I decided to do what I felt was best and that was to get the ball back into play.

And it's up to over 95K views now.

Camron Rust Wed Dec 06, 2017 02:03pm

There is no such thing as a "controlled tap". The player either tapped the ball or the or the player caught the ball and threw it. The fact that the player was able to direct the ball where he desired on the tap is not relevant. A tap, by definition, does not create player control or team control.

The R either made an incorrect call based on incorrect understanding of the rules defining player and team control or made a correct call by misstating what he judged to have occurred.

CJP Wed Dec 06, 2017 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1012408)
There is no such thing as a "controlled tap". The player either tapped the ball or the or the player caught the ball and threw it. The fact that the player was able to direct the ball where he desired on the tap is not relevant. A tap, by definition, does not create player control or team control.

The R either made an incorrect call based on incorrect understanding of the rules defining player and team control or made a correct call by misstating what he judged to have occurred.

The definition of a pass actually has the word "bats" in it.

rockyroad Wed Dec 06, 2017 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1012404)
Sometimes you can be right....and you can be wrong.

At the point where you needed to make a decision, you made the right one. You couldn't send the teams to the benches and then get the crew together and then (possibly) have an argument with the R over the call. Sounds like he would've stuck with it.

There's a pretty famous YouTube video where I was faced with an official making an obviously incorrect decision and an obviously incorrect call. In the end, I decided to do what I felt was best and that was to get the ball back into play.

And it's up to over 95K views now.

95,001 now...I just went and watched it again! :)

Scrapper1 Wed Dec 06, 2017 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012412)
The definition of a pass actually has the word "bats" in it.

All that means is that you can move the ball from one player to another without establishing player control. Which is exactly what happened in my play.

Scrapper1 Wed Dec 06, 2017 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1012408)
There is no such thing as a "controlled tap". The player either tapped the ball or the or the player caught the ball and threw it. The fact that the player was able to direct the ball where he desired on the tap is not relevant. A tap, by definition, does not create player control or team control.

Where's the "like" button?

CJP Wed Dec 06, 2017 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1012417)
All that means is that you can move the ball from one player to another without establishing player control. Which is exactly what happened in my play.

No. It means that your partner ruled the "intentional bat" a pass to a teammate in the backcourt.

Anyone using "tap" to say there is no team control need realize that this is not a "tap for a goal".

Raymond Wed Dec 06, 2017 03:58pm

There is no Team Control during a try. In order for a BC violation to occur PC needs to be established. How does batting a rebound fulfill the following?

Rule 4 Section 9. Control—Player, Team Art. 1. A player shall be in control when:
a. Holding a live ball; or
b. Dribbling a live ball while inbounds.


Additionally, there is this, which is directly on point in regards to this conversation:

4-9 Art. 4. There shall be no team control during:
a. A jump ball;
b. The tapping of a rebound (unless it is a try for goal);
c. A try for goal after the ball is in flight;
d. The period that follows any of these acts (a-c) while the ball is being batted (from the vicinity of other players) in an attempt to secure control; or
e. A dead ball.


So what am I missing? Seriously wish folks would actually look up and read a rule before telling others what the rule is. We get enough misinformation in AAU and Summer ball locker rooms.

Eastshire Wed Dec 06, 2017 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012430)
No. It means that your partner ruled the "intentional bat" a pass to a teammate in the backcourt.

Anyone using "tap" to say there is no team control need realize that this is not a "tap for a goal".

This doesn't matter though. There was a try for goal. That ended team control until it is reestablished by a player securing player control. Intentional or not, tap or bat, the action by A5 does not give him player control, so by rule, there is no team control.

Nevadaref Wed Dec 06, 2017 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1012373)
Here's my situation from last night's college game.

With about 6 minutes remaining in the 2nd half, Team A attempts a try, which is unsuccessful. Before either team gains control, A5 intentionally bats the ball into Team A's backcourt, where A1 is the first to touch the ball.

My partner at T (R on the game) blows the whistle for a backcourt violation.

As I start to walk to T to discuss it, my other partner (U1) gets there first and they discuss the play. Players are all still on the court, so I do not join the conversation. I am watching the players.

Whistle blows and U1 points toward Team A and moves back toward his position in the frontcourt. Ok, good.

R then says to me, "Team B ball!" and directs everyone to the other end of the court. U1 (never having gotten back to his original position) hustles to the other end and does not re-engage the R.

So what do I do here? We've already stopped the game once. We've had a long (too long) conversation. We've had confusion. And we've stayed with the original incorrect call.

Do I stop the game again? Do I take a crack at changing the R's mind? If I do this, don't I make the crew look worse? "Come on, make up your mind!"

What I actually did was nothing. In the confusion, I felt like I would just be extending the bad situation.

So at the next TO, I'm next to the U1 and ask what happened. He said the R was 100% that there was control. (In the locker room after the game, he said it was a controlled tap.) He wanted to stay with the call and he would take the responsibility for the call.

So here's my honest question. Should I have taken my turn at trying to change the R's mind?

The team that was called for the violation lost by 2.

By definition a tap is not control. The player would have to catch and hold the ball with one hand in order to establish control. Obviously, you know that or you wouldn't have posted this situation. So your real question is about how to deal with an incorrect rules decision by a partner because that person has an improper understanding.
There is t much that you can do. You can only advise him as to what you believe is the proper ruling and then allow him to either reverse or stick with his call. In your case a member of the crew did come to him and give him the opportunity to change the call. It doesn't matter if it was you or the other guy. Had you done it and he refused to change would you have wanted your third to come over and get involved?
Let the R stick with his call and his incorrect rules knowledge will get highlighted by a coach sending in the play to the league office/commissioner/supervisor. If the supervisor then tells him that he is wrong, he will change. That's about the only thing that will alter his thinking.
Games aren't called perfectly. We have to accept that. We can't do our partners jobs for them. We don't get their game checks!

CJP Wed Dec 06, 2017 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1012441)
There is no Team Control during a try. In order for a BC violation to occur PC needs to be established. How does batting a rebound fulfill the following?

Rule 4 Section 9. Control—Player, Team Art. 1. A player shall be in control when:
a. Holding a live ball; or
b. Dribbling a live ball while inbounds.


Additionally, there is this, which is directly on point in regards to this conversation:

4-9 Art. 4. There shall be no team control during:
a. A jump ball;
b. The tapping of a rebound (unless it is a try for goal);
c. A try for goal after the ball is in flight;
d. The period that follows any of these acts (a-c) while the ball is being batted (from the vicinity of other players) in an attempt to secure control; or
e. A dead ball.


So what am I missing? Seriously wish folks would actually look up and read a rule before telling others what the rule is. We get enough misinformation in AAU and Summer ball locker rooms.

Rule 4 Section 12

Art 2...A team is in control of the ball:

b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates.

Rule 4 Section 31

A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the ball to another player.

So if the "intentional" batting of the ball into the backcourt was to a teammate then this is a backcourt violation.

CJP Wed Dec 06, 2017 04:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1012441)
There is no Team Control during a try. In order for a BC violation to occur PC needs to be established. How does batting a rebound fulfill the following?

Rule 4 Section 9. Control—Player, Team Art. 1. A player shall be in control when:
a. Holding a live ball; or
b. Dribbling a live ball while inbounds.


Additionally, there is this, which is directly on point in regards to this conversation:

4-9 Art. 4. There shall be no team control during:
a. A jump ball;
b. The tapping of a rebound (unless it is a try for goal);
c. A try for goal after the ball is in flight;
d. The period that follows any of these acts (a-c) while the ball is being batted (from the vicinity of other players) in an attempt to secure control; or
e. A dead ball.


So what am I missing? Seriously wish folks would actually look up and read a rule before telling others what the rule is. We get enough misinformation in AAU and Summer ball locker rooms.

Maybe you should pay attention to the "from the vicinity of other players" part.

Raymond Wed Dec 06, 2017 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012452)
Rule 4 Section 12

Art 2...A team is in control of the ball:

b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates.

Rule 4 Section 31

A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the ball to another player.

So if the "intentional" batting of the ball into the backcourt was to a teammate then this is a backcourt violation.

When was player control established in this play? I'll wait.

Raymond Wed Dec 06, 2017 04:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012454)
Maybe you should pay attention to the "from the vicinity of other players" part.

Hmmm, so A5 was standing all by himself, saw a rebound coming his way, and decided to bat the ball away from only himself?

CJP Wed Dec 06, 2017 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1012455)
When was player control established in this play? I'll wait.

1.) It is not required (for the backcourt violation)
2.) A player who passes the ball without establishing player control just pulled off a neat trick.

CJP Wed Dec 06, 2017 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1012456)
Hmmm, so A5 was standing all by himself, saw a rebound coming his way, and decided to bat the ball away from only himself?

Now I just feel bad for you.

Camron Rust Wed Dec 06, 2017 06:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012452)
Rule 4 Section 12

Art 2...A team is in control of the ball:

b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates.

Rule 4 Section 31

A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the ball to another player.

So if the "intentional" batting of the ball into the backcourt was to a teammate then this is a backcourt violation.

The part your missing is that team control may "continue" while the ball is being passed but it doesn't begin until a player holds or dribbles the ball inbounds. It has to begin by one of those two acts before it becomes a pass....the pass assumes it came from player control.

Nevadaref Wed Dec 06, 2017 06:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012452)
Rule 4 Section 12

Art 2...A team is in control of the ball:

b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates.

Rule 4 Section 31

A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the ball to another player.

So if the "intentional" batting of the ball into the backcourt was to a teammate then this is a backcourt violation.

When I read through all of the responses in this thread, I knew that you would cite this rule. What you fail to grasp is that a pass does not establish team control, it only continues it if it already exists. You are only looking at part of the rule instead of the whole thing.

Team control has three parts: 1. establishment, 2. continuation, 3. termination

Batting or tapping the ball cannot establish team control. Only holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds can do that.

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012457)
1.) It is not required (for the backcourt violation)
2.) A player who passes the ball without establishing player control just pulled off a neat trick.

1. Establishment of player & team control inbounds absolutely is required for the backcourt violation!
May I direct you to the POE on page 69 of the NFHS Rules Book from this season for you to read?
"With specific regard to the backcourt violation, a team may not be the last to touch a live ball in the front court and then be the first to touch a live ball in the backcourt, provided that team has established player control/team control on the playing court (either in the backcourt or frontcourt).

There are only two ways to establish player control: holding or dribbling the ball. Passing is not a method to establish player control and that is why you are incorrect about this play.

2. It's purely definitional, but definitely possible. Batting a rebound to a teammate is one example. It also happens during a throw-in pass. There used to be no team control at all during throw-ins, now there is a specific throw-in team control only for fouls, which does not pertain to backcourt violations. Some people refer to this as a false or fake team control.

Nevadaref Wed Dec 06, 2017 06:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1012466)
The part your missing is that team control may "continue" while the ball is being passed but it doesn't begin until a player holds or dribbles the ball inbounds. It has to begin by one of those two acts before it becomes a pass....the pass assumes it came from player control.

You beat me to this point while I was crafting my post.
Correct, as usual, Camron. Have a great season!

CJP Wed Dec 06, 2017 08:33pm

If it is impossible to establish team control by batting the ball to a teammate after a try, why does the NFHS casebook have to explicitly spell out that no team is in control after a try, nor during the period which follows this act while the ball is slapped AWAY from other players in an attempt to secure the ball? Is it because when the ball is batted to a teammate it is a pass and established team control?

According to Rule 9 Section 9 Art 1, no player control is required for a backcourt violation to occur.

You have front court team control (bats to a teammate), A5 is the last to touch in the front court, A1 is the first to touch in the back court.

billyu2 Wed Dec 06, 2017 09:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012482)
If it is impossible to establish team control by batting the ball to a teammate after a try, why does the NFHS casebook have to explicitly spell out that no team is in control after a try, nor during the period which follows this act while the ball is slapped AWAY from other players in an attempt to secure the ball? Is it because when the ball is batted to a teammate it is a pass and established team control?

According to Rule 9 Section 9 Art 1, no player control is required for a backcourt violation to occur.

You have front court team control (bats to a teammate), A5 is the last to touch in the front court, A1 is the first to touch in the back court.

B5 goes up for a defensive rebound and bats the ball up and toward a teammate over in the corner of the court. When do you start your :10 backcourt count?
It appears according to your analysis of team control the count starts with the tap meaning the backcourt count could be at 2 or maybe 3 by the time the team mate catches the ball in the corner.

Camron Rust Wed Dec 06, 2017 09:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012482)
If it is impossible to establish team control by batting the ball to a teammate after a try, why does the NFHS casebook have to explicitly spell out that no team is in control after a try, nor during the period which follows this act while the ball is slapped AWAY from other players in an attempt to secure the ball? Is it because when the ball is batted to a teammate it is a pass and established team control?

According to Rule 9 Section 9 Art 1, no player control is required for a backcourt violation to occur.

You have front court team control (bats to a teammate), A5 is the last to touch in the front court, A1 is the first to touch in the back court.

And to have frontcourt team control, there must first have been player control. That is how team control is established.

If team control were established on a bat, we'd have a lot of team control fouls on rebounds as players bat the ball in an attempt to get the rebound. In fact, what if two players bat it? Are both teams in control?

CJP Wed Dec 06, 2017 09:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 1012484)
B5 goes up for a defensive rebound and bats the ball up and toward a teammate over in the corner of the court. When do you start your :10 backcourt count?
It appears according to your analysis of team control the count starts with the tap meaning the backcourt count could be at 2 or maybe 3 by the time the team mate catches the ball in the corner.

I would hardly say that in your scenario that there is a specific target.

CJP Wed Dec 06, 2017 09:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1012487)
And to have frontcourt team control, there must first have been player control. That is how team control is established.

If team control were established on a bat, we'd have a lot of team control fouls on rebounds as players bat the ball in an attempt to get the rebound. In fact, what if two players bat it? Are both teams in control?

You did not answer my question about the explicit text in the casebook.

Your questions are really not applicable if there is no reason to believe that the player was attempting to pass the ball to a teammate.

CJP Wed Dec 06, 2017 09:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1012487)
And to have frontcourt team control, there must first have been player control. That is how team control is established.

If team control were established on a bat, we'd have a lot of team control fouls on rebounds as players bat the ball in an attempt to get the rebound. In fact, what if two players bat it? Are both teams in control?

Where does it say that you HAVE to establish player control to establish team control? This make a descent argument against that.

billyu2 Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012489)
I would hardly say that in your scenario that there is a specific target.

The teammate in the corner is not a specific target? Again, when would you start your back court count?

CJP Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 1012495)
The teammate in the corner is not a specific target? Again, when would you start your back court count?

1.) Player and team control is needed to start the count.
2.) If the ball was batted so high that it took 3 seconds to reach the target 25 feet away then I would not say it was specifically intended to target that individual. You can but I won't.

billyu2 Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012496)
1.) Player and team control is needed to start the count.
2.) If the ball was batted so high that it took 3 seconds to reach the target 25 feet away then I would not say it was specifically intended to target that individual. You can but I won't.

Then how can you say A5's batting a rebound all the way into the back court was specifically intended for A1? By the way, in my situation I'm not starting the back court count until the teammate establishes player/team control when he catches the ball just as in the OP. When A5 bats a rebound all the way into the back court, player/team control did not begin until A1 recovered the ball. No violation, just the start of a back court count.

CJP Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 1012498)
Then how can you say A5's batting a rebound all the way into the back court was specifically intended for A1? By the way, in my situation I'm not starting the back court count until the teammate establishes player/team control when he catches the ball just as in the OP. When A5 bats a rebound all the way into the back court, player/team control did not begin until A1 recovered the ball. No violation, just the start of a back court count.

1. By the time the ball reaches the corner in your hypothetical situation, there would be multiple players there.
2. There has not been enough detail provided about the intentional batting of the ball in the OP. I am saying it is possible to have a backcourt violation. Others are saying it is impossible.
3. Of course you would not start your 10 count until there was player contol in the backcourt in your b5 rebounding situation. That is the rule.

Camron Rust Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012492)
Where does it say that you HAVE to establish player control to establish team control? This make a descent argument against that.

It is a fundamental concept of the rules.

Here, for one:

Quote:

ART. 5 . . . Team control does not exist during a jump ball or the touching of a rebound, but is reestablished when a player secures control.
Here is another, form the fundamentals at the front and in Rule 4:

Quote:

While the ball remains live, a loose ball always remains in control of the team whose player last had control, unless it is a try or tap for goal.
That pretty much says that it stays with the prior team until the new team establishes player control. It wouldn't be any different from a situation with no team control.

CJP Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1012500)
It is a fundamental concept of the rules.

Here, for one:



Here is another, form the fundamentals at the front and in Rule 4:



That pretty much says that it stays with the prior team until the new team establishes player control. It wouldn't be any different from a situation with no team control.

It is not a fundamental concept that you must have player control before establishing team control. There are 20 fundamental rules. This is not one.

Art 5 does not overrule Art 2. Art 2 says that you have team control during a pass.

You still did not answer my question about the casebook comment.

Edit: I am going to yield that you are correct about player control first then team control. I am sticking to my argument that batting the ball to a teammate (passing) established the player control.

Camron Rust Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012499)
3. Of course you would not start your 10 count until there was player contol in the backcourt in your b5 rebounding situation. That is the rule.

How so? The 10 count is about team control, not player control. If there is team control, the 10 count starts the instant the ball goes into the backcourt. If, as you say, a bat starts team control, then it would start on a ball batted to the backcourt on a rebound. And if it were to another player, it would have to be a backcourt violation. But it isn't.

Just trust me, you can't have team control without having had player control first. That is rules 101.

As for your casebook reference, they have to spell it out that way because some people will try to insist there is team control when there has never been player control. That just is not the case.

CJP Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1012504)
How so? The 10 count is about team control, not player control. If there is team control, the 10 count starts the instant the ball goes into the backcourt. If, as you say, a bat starts team control, then it would start on a ball batted to the backcourt on a rebound. And if it were to another player, it would have to be a backcourt violation. But it isn't.

Just trust me, you can't have team control without having had player control first. That is rules 101.

Rule 9 Section 8. Paste it here for people to read and decide when to count. Then I can decide if I should trust you.

Camron Rust Thu Dec 07, 2017 03:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012505)
Rule 9 Section 8. Paste it here for people to read and decide when to count. Then I can decide if I should trust you.

Not really relevant to this discussion, but if you insist....

Rule 9-8
Quote:

A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.
You can't have player control without also having team control, so all you really need to know with respect to the 10 count is that when there team control with the ball in the backcourt the count starts. There may or may not be player control too but it is completely irrelevant. The part about player control in that rule could be left out and it wouldn't change anything whatsoever.

Again....team control starts with player control, always. Batting the ball, even to another player, despite how much you want to twist the wording of the rules, does not constitute the start of player control. That phrase, as you've been told, only means to say that team control continues even when the ball is being passed.

Raymond Thu Dec 07, 2017 07:18am

Is there a troll meme we can throw out there?

Dude is obviously not an official, or a very very poor one who is incapable of interpreting a rulebook.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

Eastshire Thu Dec 07, 2017 07:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012502)
It is not a fundamental concept that you must have player control before establishing team control. There are 20 fundamental rules. This is not one.

Art 5 does not overrule Art 2. Art 2 says that you have team control during a pass.

You still did not answer my question about the casebook comment.

4-12-5 explains that 4-12-2 does not apply during rebounding. 4-12-5 is there specifically so people don't do what you are trying to do. It specifies (pretty clearly at that) the circumstances that allow team control to be re-established when it has been ended by rule.

By rule, there is no team control once the ball has become loose on a tap or try for goal until player control has been reestablished.

I'll be the first to argue that the basketball rules are poorly written (I still haven't found a rule that actually awards the first free throw in the 1 and 1, only the rule that awards the second if the first is successful). However, this issue is fairly clear if you'd actually look at what people are showing you instead of focusing on trying not to be proven wrong.

CJP Thu Dec 07, 2017 07:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1012509)
Not really relevant to this discussion, but if you insist....

Rule 9-8


You can't have player control without also having team control, so all you really need to know with respect to the 10 count is that when there team control with the ball in the backcourt the count starts. There may or may not be player control too but it is completely irrelevant. The part about player control in that rule could be left out and it wouldn't change anything whatsoever.

Again....team control starts with player control, always. Batting the ball, even to another player, despite how much you want to twist the wording of the rules, does not constitute the start of player control. That phrase, as you've been told, only means to say that team control continues even when the ball is being passed.

So now you are saying parts of the rules could be left out to fit your narrative. Got it. I see a pattern here.

CJP Thu Dec 07, 2017 08:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 1012516)
4-12-5 explains that 4-12-2 does not apply during rebounding. 4-12-5 is there specifically so people don't do what you are trying to do. It specifies (pretty clearly at that) the circumstances that allow team control to be re-established when it has been ended by rule.

By rule, there is no team control once the ball has become loose on a tap or try for goal until player control has been reestablished.

I'll be the first to argue that the basketball rules are poorly written (I still haven't found a rule that actually awards the first free throw in the 1 and 1, only the rule that awards the second if the first is successful). However, this issue is fairly clear if you'd actually look at what people are showing you instead of focusing on trying not to be proven wrong.

There is a difference between touching a rebound and batting a rebound to a teammate. That is the foundation of the argument.

4.5 does not apply because it is not a "touch". 4.2b. applies because it is a pass.

CJP Thu Dec 07, 2017 08:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1012515)
Is there a troll meme we can throw out there?

Dude is obviously not an official, or a very very poor one who is incapable of interpreting a rulebook.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

I may have not been an official very long but I am willing to ask questions and get better. I am getting something from this. Your insult really shows what kind of person you are. I do not want to partner up with anyone who thinks they know it all.

Eastshire Thu Dec 07, 2017 08:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012520)
There is a difference between touching a rebound and batting a rebound to a teammate. That is the foundation of the argument.

No, there's not. That's what 4-12-5 is telling you, but it seems to be a rule you want to leave out.

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012521)
I may have not been an official very long but I am willing to ask questions and get better. I am getting something from this. Your insult really shows what kind of person you are. I do not want to partner up with anyone who thinks they know it all.

Then, frankly, you wouldn't want to partner with yourself.

CJP Thu Dec 07, 2017 08:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 1012522)
No, there's not. That's what 4-12-5 is telling you, but it seems to be a rule you want to leave out.



Then, frankly, you wouldn't want to partner with yourself.

Asking questions and discussing an actual issue is not acting like I know it all. Insulting people about it does.

Eastshire Thu Dec 07, 2017 08:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CJP (Post 1012523)
Asking questions and discussing an actual issue is not acting like I know it all. Insulting people about it does.

Insisting that you're the only person correctly reading the rules when everyone else is telling you you're wrong is. And that's what you're doing. And frankly, it does look a lot like trolling.

CJP Thu Dec 07, 2017 08:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 1012524)
Insisting that you're the only person correctly reading the rules when everyone else is telling you you're wrong is. And that's what you're doing. And frankly, it does look a lot like trolling.

Okay. Then I am done.

Raymond Thu Dec 07, 2017 08:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 1012522)
...


Then, frankly, you wouldn't want to partner with yourself.


You win the Internets today.

Welpe Thu Dec 07, 2017 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 1012516)
(I still haven't found a rule that actually awards the first free throw in the 1 and 1, only the rule that awards the second if the first is successful).

I'm glad I'm not the only one that has this problem. :D

Rich Thu Dec 07, 2017 04:55pm

Life's much nicer when you stop agonizing over these things and just go work games.

Took me 25 years (of my 31) to get there, but I couldn't possibly care about rulebook mistakes anymore.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Welpe Fri Dec 08, 2017 10:15am

No agony at all here. I have just always found it odd.

JRutledge Fri Dec 08, 2017 10:47am

The only thing I might have done differently is to ask my partner what was the result? Then if they told me they had decided it was a "controlled tap" then I might have let it go. If they told me something else, I might still have had the conversation. A lot too would have been based on how well I know and respect my partners. Some partners I just know that it would not matter or that they discussed the right things. It would likely be a play I would discuss after the game or at halftime if it took place in the first half for more clarification.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1