The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel or just another dribble (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10320-travel-just-another-dribble.html)

jking_94577 Mon Oct 06, 2003 01:40pm

A1 attempting shot but while in mid-air and before releasing ball knows B1 is going to block shot. So instead A1 pulls ball down and throws ball to ground before landing and proceeds to dribble. What is the call?

[Edited by jking_94577 on Oct 6th, 2003 at 01:43 PM]

ChuckElias Mon Oct 06, 2003 01:45pm

When starting a dribble, the ball must leave the hand before the pivot foot leaves the floor, 4-43-3c. Therefore, tweet!

bob jenkins Mon Oct 06, 2003 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by jking_94577
A1 attempting shot but while in mid-air and before releasing ball knows B1 is going to block shot. So instead A1 pulls ball down and throws ball to ground before landing and proceeds to dribble. What is the call?

[Edited by jking_94577 on Oct 6th, 2003 at 01:43 PM]

Travelling.

The pivot foot was lifted before the dribble bagan.


ChuckElias Mon Oct 06, 2003 02:13pm

Soooooo close. :) I even had a rule reference in mine!

Mark Dexter Mon Oct 06, 2003 04:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Soooooo close. :) I even had a rule reference in mine!
Of course, the beauty of being a moderator is that Chuck's post can simply be erased . . . . .

Damian Tue Oct 07, 2003 01:52pm

more fuel for the fire
 
Of course the smart thing the player could have done was bounce it off of the opponent or bounce it to allow another player on his team touches the ball first.

Otherwise, traveling...

mick Tue Oct 07, 2003 02:56pm

Re: more fuel for the fire
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Damian
Of course the smart thing the player could have done was bounce it off of the opponent or bounce it to allow another player on his team touches the ball first.

Otherwise, traveling...

So, which is it, Damian or Damain? ;)

jking_94577 Tue Oct 14, 2003 02:42pm

I have been told in this forum that it is not a travel if A1 shoots an airball and retrieves the ball. So isn't the difference between this scenario and the aforementioned scenario very small and would need a judgent by the referee?

Jurassic Referee Tue Oct 14, 2003 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by jking_94577
I have been told in this forum that it is not a travel if A1 shoots an airball and retrieves the ball. So isn't the difference between this scenario and the aforementioned scenario very small and would need a judgent by the referee?
It's not very hard at all to differentiate between a shot and someone just dropping the ball. It's judgement,but it's not really a tough call.

jking_94577 Tue Oct 14, 2003 03:43pm

But like I said, in this case, A1 was in a very awkward position up in the air. A1 kinda just improvised and threw the ball forward (not really down and not really up). But it would seem that this is a judgement call.

Jurassic Referee Tue Oct 14, 2003 06:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by jking_94577
But like I said, in this case, A1 was in a very awkward position up in the air. A1 kinda just improvised and threw the ball forward (not really down and not really up). But it would seem that this is a judgement call.
Jmo,but I think that the ball had better go <b>up</b> in a case like this, to even be thought of as a try.

mick Tue Oct 14, 2003 08:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by jking_94577
But like I said, in this case, A1 was in a very awkward position up in the air. A1 kinda just improvised and threw the ball forward (not really down and not really up). But it would seem that this is a judgement call.
Jmo,but I think that the ball had better go <b>up</b> in a case like this, to even be thought of as a try.

JR,
I think I can picture this play, and I would lean to calling a travel if the ballhandler got the ball back, This would be similar reasoning, to me, as when an out-of-control dribbler drives the lane and forces contact on the arm of a defender.
In neither case will I reward the ballhandler (ie. bail 'im out)
mick


Dan_ref Tue Oct 14, 2003 08:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick


JR,
I think I can picture this play, and I would lean to calling a travel if the ballhandler got the ball back,


You mean if the ball goes up, not down?

Anyway, I agree with jr that in this case it's not hard to tell between a legitimate (or even half-@ssed) shot and something else. And if you miss it you're gonna get a lot of help! ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1