The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   College Rule Only - GT Play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103136-college-rule-only-gt-play.html)

JRutledge Wed Nov 15, 2017 03:24pm

College Rule Only - GT Play
 
Did the ball hit the backboard? In college, this would be a GT if it did.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/7UhIZQB5iMQ" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

crosscountry55 Wed Nov 15, 2017 03:45pm

I thought it was touched on it's downward flight. I can't tell if it hit the backboard first or not, but it sure looked like it was touched on its downward flight when it had a chance to enter the basket. Isn't that goaltending either way in all rule sets?

On another note, T seemed to indicate goaltending, while C had a foul on the shot. Great mechanics there. But there was no awarded score and two free throws were taken. Huh? Did T reconsider after discussing with C? Or was T's signal not GT to begin with?

Raymond Wed Nov 15, 2017 04:00pm

I have GT for downward flight.

(nothing to do with call) Lead needs to close down on this play. He was not in camera range for the entire drive to the basket.

Raymond Wed Nov 15, 2017 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 1011482)
I thought it was touched on it's downward flight. I can't tell if it hit the backboard first or not, but it sure looked like it was touched on its downward flight when it had a chance to enter the basket. Isn't that goaltending either way in all rule sets?

On another note, T seemed to indicate goaltending, while C had a foul on the shot. Great mechanics there. But there was no awarded score and two free throws were taken. Huh? Did T reconsider after discussing with C? Or was T's signal not GT to begin with?

You can see the Trail (Driscoll) mouthing to the ND coach that it was not GT, that the defender put the ball on the backboard. But it does look like he was counting the basket when the play occurred.

BigCat Wed Nov 15, 2017 04:27pm

I think the player hit the ball just before it hit the board. Driscoll is pointing up saying ball still on the way up. That's close. ball also has to have possibility of going in. maybe it did. I didn't look at it that close. I do think Driscoll was saying ball was on its way up.

Zoochy Wed Nov 15, 2017 05:09pm

The shot was taken from about 3-4 feet from the basket. The ball is touched either after it hit the backboard or just before the backboard.
So my questions to the crew... How is the ball still going UP?
Bill Rafferty is an idiot. The ball is below the rim?? He needs to go home

JRutledge Wed Nov 15, 2017 05:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1011487)
Bill Rafferty is an idiot. The ball is below the rim?? He needs to go home

He does not know the rules like the others. Why should we be surprised now?

Peace

Camron Rust Wed Nov 15, 2017 09:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1011487)
The shot was taken from about 3-4 feet from the basket. The ball is touched either after it hit the backboard or just before the backboard.
So my questions to the crew... How is the ball still going UP?

While it wasn't going up it wouldn't be impossible for it to still be going up.

Scrapper1 Wed Nov 15, 2017 09:23pm

1) Definitely GT, regardless of whether it hits the backboard or not. I'm not really sure why the clip even asks about the backboard.

2) T originally clearly counts the basket.

3) L clearly says "No basket".

4) T then indicates that the ball was on the way up.

I have no idea how they determined to waive off the basket. There doesn't seem to be any real discussion of the play.

JRutledge Wed Nov 15, 2017 09:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1011500)
1) Definitely GT, regardless of whether it hits the backboard or not. I'm not really sure why the clip even asks about the backboard.

Because in college it matters if the ball has hit the backboard. It was an open-ended question for a reason. It was not determined it was GT, so I wanted to see if those watching the video agreed. If you felt it was GT regardless, that is kind of the purpose of the video. You see what you see and make a judgment. But again, the college rule is a little different than high school. If the ball touches the backboard and you touch the ball, it is GT, whether the ball is going up or on its downward flight.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1011500)
2) T originally clearly counts the basket.

3) L clearly says "No basket".

Not sure it was clear. His signal was confusing for sure. And as I looked at the video, his signal was pointing "up." He gave the signal to the coach about what he saw. I had to go look at it again to be sure, but that was clear if you see just his signal.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1011500)
4) T then indicates that the ball was on the way up.

Well, that would matter if he feels the ball was touched before the ball hit the backboard or he took the ball to the backboard.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1011500)
I have no idea how they determined to waive off the basket. There doesn't seem to be any real discussion of the play.

I believe right after the play they went to a media timeout. So it is possible they did discuss the situation during the timeout.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1