![]() |
Kicked Ball
Okay, unsure whether this is a technical that is assessed because of safety, but I need to check because my assigner added a technical foul to one of my calls the other night.
Ball is on the floor at the feet of several players. One of them moved the ball with her foot away from the arms of several other players. It wasn't a hard kick, just a picking up of the foot and moving the ball. I called a kick ball, because it was an intentional use of the foot to gain an advantage. But then my partner, also our assigner, comes over and asks me about the play and adds a technical onto it. Does a technical get added onto that because of safety, or is that a second rule that he doesn't know? Because I found another in the games that I had with him the night before. |
Thank you for any help you might offer.
|
Probably one of many rules that he doesn't know.
I hope that this is a rec league. |
Quote:
|
Your assigner is T happy.
I understand that you might be hesitant to challenge him, but if he had to ask you about the play and only then gave the T, he was stepping on your toes. Did you ask him why he assessed the T? |
Quote:
|
Devil's advocate. Wondering if maybe he observed something unsporting? But then again, if he had to ask you about it....
Truthfully it sounds like your assignor/partner really believes there is some kind of auto-T here (i.e. like when a defender reaches across the plane and dislodges the ball from a thrower). There is decidedly not an auto-T here. |
Only possible thing I can think of, other than making stuff up, is he thought the player kicked another player in the process which could result in a personal or personal flagrant foul and a T is not possible in this situation.
|
Attempted ???
Quote:
|
Thank you! I was pretty sure that I had a pretty good sense of the kick rule and couldn't find anything about that in the rule books.
Have a great weekend! |
Quote:
What I want to know is why was your partner making a call out of his Primary? MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
Whenever I hear this “stay off my turf” mentality, it tells me all I need to know about that official. And no, I’m not saying in any way that I agree with what his partner did in this instance. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
I am not saying that it should never (with apologies to the late J. Dallas Shirley) be done, but if it is a two-person crew then it should almost never happen, and in three-person (and more) crews the mechanics are designed to have multiple sets of eyes on the ball. In the play described we do not know how many person crew it was, but I from the wording of the OP I would bet dollars to donuts that it was a two-person crew. That said, I would like to know more about what actually transpired: Just why did the "off-ball" call a TF and who did he charge with the TF? MTD, Sr. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48am. |