The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Indirect Technical vs. Bench Technical Foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103080-ncaa-indirect-technical-vs-bench-technical-foul.html)

Smoothieking Wed Nov 01, 2017 09:56pm

NCAA Indirect Technical vs. Bench Technical Foul
 
What is the difference between an Indirect Technical Foul and a Bench Technical Foul? I know that a Bench Technical Foul counts towards a player's total of 5, and goes down as a team foul, but what actual situations warrant the calling of an indirect technical vs. a bench technical and vice versa?

SC Official Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:48pm

If you are talking men’s, you won’t find “bench technical” or “indirect technical” in the rules. Those are NFHS terms and NCAA women’s terms. I’ll address NCAA-M first and then the other two.

In NCAA-M, from a broad perspective every technical foul fits into one of three categories: administrative, Class A, or Class B. Class A technical fouls include your garden-variety unsporting fouls. Whenever bench personnel is assessed a Class A technical, the head coach is assessed a Class B (ejected whenever he receives two Class A’s or any combination of three A/B). Only Class A technicals count towards the team foul count. It is possible (and very common) to receive a Class B on its own in this ruleset, unlike an indirect T in the other rulesets as you’ll see below.

For the other two rulesets, which I believe are identical on this issue, first of all understand that an indirect technical foul is never assessed on its own; it is assessed to the head coach in conjunction with a bench T. “Bench technical foul” is just a rule book term for a T that is given to someone under the head coach’s responsibility, i.e. bench personnel. You wouldn’t even need to report “bench technical foul” to the scorer because the only thing that matters is who the offender is. The indirect T that is assessed to the head coach does not result in any free throws and does not count towards the team foul count, but the head coach is ejected upon receiving any combination of three technical fouls (directs and indirects, 2 directs is obviously an EJ). In NFHS, the head coach loses the box for the game upon receiving an indirect, as well.

So just remember that any time bench personnel receives a Class A (NCAA-M) or bench (NFHS/NCAA-W) technical foul, the head coach is always charged with a Class B/indirect T.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Nov 02, 2017 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1010898)
If you are talking men’s, you won’t find “bench technical” or “indirect technical” in the rules. Those are NFHS terms and NCAA women’s terms. I’ll address NCAA-M first and then the other two.

In NCAA-M, from a broad perspective every technical foul fits into one of three categories: administrative, Class A, or Class B. Class A technical fouls include your garden-variety unsporting fouls. Whenever bench personnel is assessed a Class A technical, the head coach is assessed a Class B (ejected whenever he receives two Class A’s or any combination of three A/B). Only Class A technicals count towards the team foul count. It is possible (and very common) to receive a Class B on its own in this ruleset, unlike an indirect T in the other rulesets as you’ll see below.

For the other two rulesets, which I believe are identical on this issue, first of all understand that an indirect technical foul is never assessed on its own; it is assessed to the head coach in conjunction with a bench T. “Bench technical foul” is just a rule book term for a T that is given to someone under the head coach’s responsibility, i.e. bench personnel. You wouldn’t even need to report “bench technical foul” to the scorer because the only thing that matters is who the offender is. The indirect T that is assessed to the head coach does not result in any free throws and does not count towards the team foul count, but the head coach is ejected upon receiving any combination of three technical fouls (directs and indirects, 2 directs is obviously an EJ). In NFHS, the head coach loses the box for the game upon receiving an indirect, as well.

So just remember that any time bench personnel receives a Class A (NCAA-M) or bench (NFHS/NCAA-W) technical foul, the head coach is always charged with a Class B/indirect T.


Very well stated.

MTD, Sr.

Smoothieking Thu Nov 02, 2017 09:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1010898)
If you are talking men’s, you won’t find “bench technical” or “indirect technical” in the rules. Those are NFHS terms and NCAA women’s terms. I’ll address NCAA-M first and then the other two.

In NCAA-M, from a broad perspective every technical foul fits into one of three categories: administrative, Class A, or Class B. Class A technical fouls include your garden-variety unsporting fouls. Whenever bench personnel is assessed a Class A technical, the head coach is assessed a Class B (ejected whenever he receives two Class A’s or any combination of three A/B). Only Class A technicals count towards the team foul count. It is possible (and very common) to receive a Class B on its own in this ruleset, unlike an indirect T in the other rulesets as you’ll see below.

For the other two rulesets, which I believe are identical on this issue, first of all understand that an indirect technical foul is never assessed on its own; it is assessed to the head coach in conjunction with a bench T. “Bench technical foul” is just a rule book term for a T that is given to someone under the head coach’s responsibility, i.e. bench personnel. You wouldn’t even need to report “bench technical foul” to the scorer because the only thing that matters is who the offender is. The indirect T that is assessed to the head coach does not result in any free throws and does not count towards the team foul count, but the head coach is ejected upon receiving any combination of three technical fouls (directs and indirects, 2 directs is obviously an EJ). In NFHS, the head coach loses the box for the game upon receiving an indirect, as well.

So just remember that any time bench personnel receives a Class A (NCAA-M) or bench (NFHS/NCAA-W) technical foul, the head coach is always charged with a Class B/indirect T.

SC,

Yes I was referring to NCAA-W with my question. Thanks for the great reply. That's exactly what I wanted to know.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1