The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Basketball Questions Need Help (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102928-basketball-questions-need-help.html)

Rman11 Mon Sep 18, 2017 12:53pm

Basketball Questions Need Help
 
Following a team warning for any type of delay, it is a team technical foul if the free throw is delayed because of a Team A huddle or contact with the free thrower. True or False

Technical fouls include all of the following, EXCEPT
A) A foul by a non-player.
B) A noncontact foul by a player.
C) A contact foul while the ball is live.
D) A contact foul while the ball is dead, except a foul by an airborne shooter.
E) A direct technical charged to the head coach as a result of his/her actions.

A simultaneous violation is called if offensive players occupy the first marked lane spaces and defensive players occupy the second marked lane spaces during the free throw. True of False

SC Official Mon Sep 18, 2017 01:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rman11 (Post 1009199)
Following a team warning for any type of delay, it is a team technical foul if the free throw is delayed because of a Team A huddle or contact with the free thrower. True or False

Technical fouls include all of the following, EXCEPT
A) A foul by a non-player.
B) A noncontact foul by a player.
C) A contact foul while the ball is live.
D) A contact foul while the ball is dead, except a foul by an airborne shooter.
E) A direct technical charged to the head coach as a result of his/her actions.

A simultaneous violation is called if offensive players occupy the first marked lane spaces and defensive players occupy the second marked lane spaces during the free throw. True of False

True

C

True

Rman11 Mon Sep 18, 2017 01:51pm

Thanks for your help.

bucky Mon Sep 18, 2017 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1009204)
True

C

True

Is striking the ball considered "non-contact"?

During a throw-in, the ball is live. Crossing the boundary plane and hitting the ball from the inbounder is a technical foul.

BillyMac Mon Sep 18, 2017 05:14pm

Simultaneous Violation By Each Team ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rman11 (Post 1009199)
A simultaneous violation is called if offensive players occupy the first marked lane spaces and defensive players occupy the second marked lane spaces during the free throw. True of False

True.

It's a violation for an offensive player to be in the first marked lane space and it's a violation for a defensive player (assuming there are at least two defensive players) not to be in the first marked lane space.

Shame on the official who let's this happen and then bounces the ball to the shooter (and that includes me).

There, but for the grace of God, go I.

BillyMac Mon Sep 18, 2017 05:18pm

Contact Or Non-Contact ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1009206)
Is striking the ball considered "non-contact"?

During a live ball, ball handler A1 pushes the ball into B1's stomach, displacing B1. Personal foul or technical foul?

Nevadaref Mon Sep 18, 2017 07:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1009214)
During a live ball, ball handler A1 pushes the ball into B1's stomach, displacing B1. Personal foul or technical foul?

Or no foul at all?

Nevadaref Mon Sep 18, 2017 07:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rman11 (Post 1009199)
Following a team warning for any type of delay, it is a team technical foul if the free throw is delayed because of a Team A huddle or contact with the free thrower. True or False

Technical fouls include all of the following, EXCEPT
A) A foul by a non-player.
B) A noncontact foul by a player.
C) A contact foul while the ball is live.
D) A contact foul while the ball is dead, except a foul by an airborne shooter.
E) A direct technical charged to the head coach as a result of his/her actions.

A simultaneous violation is called if offensive players occupy the first marked lane spaces and defensive players occupy the second marked lane spaces during the free throw. True of False

What specifically do you need help with? These questions all seem clear and have obvious answers.
I find it disappointing that a couple of people have posted the answers without asking the OP exactly why he is struggling to answer these himself.
Shame on the people who just gave him the answers.

bucky Mon Sep 18, 2017 11:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1009219)
What specifically do you need help with? These questions all seem clear and have obvious answers.
I find it disappointing that a couple of people have posted the answers without asking the OP exactly why he is struggling to answer these himself.
Shame on the people who just gave him the answers.


Lol, respect meet toilet. Fluuuuuussshhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

BillyMac Tue Sep 19, 2017 06:24am

It Could Happen ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1009218)
Or no foul at all?

After a previous altercation, during the next live ball, ball handler A1, intentionally, and in an unsporting manner, pushes the ball into B1's stomach, displacing B1 and gaining an advantage.

You make the call.

bob jenkins Tue Sep 19, 2017 07:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1009214)
During a live ball, ball handler A1 pushes the ball into B1's stomach, displacing B1. Personal foul or technical foul?

It depends on which of the players is wearing a concussion headband.

Raymond Tue Sep 19, 2017 08:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1009214)
During a live ball, ball handler A1 pushes the ball into B1's stomach, displacing B1. Personal foul or technical foul?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1009218)
Or no foul at all?

Had this convo with some college officials last week. They all say PC foul. I say the defender needs to grab the ball and take it.

Nevadaref Wed Sep 20, 2017 01:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1009229)
Had this convo with some college officials last week. They all say PC foul. I say the defender needs to grab the ball and take it.

Ask those same college officials to rule on this situation: A1 and B2 both grab a rebound and A1 yanks the ball away from his opponent by pulling it across his chest. The force of this causes B2, who was attempting to hang onto the ball, to fall to the floor.

If they don't have a foul, ask them why they believe that pushing an opponent with the ball is a foul, but pulling on the ball and displacing an opponent isn't.

Nevadaref Wed Sep 20, 2017 01:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1009228)
It depends on which of the players is wearing a concussion headband.

Thanks, Bob. That gave me a good laugh tonight.

Camron Rust Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1009251)
Ask those same college officials to rule on this situation: A1 and B2 both grab a rebound and A1 yanks the ball away from his opponent by pulling it across his chest. The force of this causes B2, who was attempting to hang onto the ball, to fall to the floor.

If they don't have a foul, ask them why they believe that pushing an opponent with the ball is a foul, but pulling on the ball and displacing an opponent isn't.

I believe the justification for their position is, at least in part, intent...using the ball solely to move an opponent from a legally obtained position. In your situation, the other player is complicit by continuing to hold onto the ball. In the "push" scenario, the other player is not.

I agree the rules don't specifically support this line of thinking but the spirit and intent of the rules does.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1