The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2017-18 IAABO Exam Questions ... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102700-2017-18-iaabo-exam-questions.html)

BillyMac Mon May 29, 2017 12:20pm

2017-18 IAABO Exam Questions ...
 
I have been asked to submit ten questions to IAABO to be used on the 2017-18 Applicant Exam, and/or the 2017-18 Refresher Exam. The questions are to be based on 2016-17, and 2017-18 NFHS rule changes, and Points of Emphasis. Here's what I came up with. Corrections, and/or comments would be appreciated. Especially corrections. I would hate to get my own test questions wrong. That would be very embarrassing.

1) Cheerleaders are located along the endline. The official informs the cheerleaders that they may not stand in the restricted area along the endline between the free throw lane lines extended. Is the official correct? Yes (Rule 1-20)

2) Cheerleaders attempt to come onto the playing court during a thirty second time out. The official informs the cheerleaders that they must remain outside of the playing area during a thirty second or less timeout during the game. Is the official correct? Yes (Rule 1-20)

3) The timekeeper sounds a warning signal to end the twenty seconds permitted for replacing a disqualified or injured player, or for a player directed to leave the game. The official believes this to be the correct procedure. Is the official correct? No (Rule 2-12-5)

4) Players on Team A are wearing white jerseys and red shorts. Several players on Team A are wearing white wrist bands, headbands, leg sleeves, and arm sleeves. Player A1 is wearing red compression shorts that extend below the uniform shorts. The official allows this because A1’s compression shorts are the same color as the uniform shorts. Is the official correct? No (Rule 3-5-3)

5) Players on Team A are wearing blue jerseys and blue shorts. Several players on Team A are wearing white wrist bands, headbands, leg sleeves, and arm sleeves. Player A2 is wearing a white undershirt under his uniform jersey. The official allows this because A2’s undershirt is the same color as the equipment worn by the other Team A players. Is the official correct? No (Rule 3-5-6)

6) Player A1 releases a free throw attempt. B1, occupying a marked free throw lane line space, crosses the free throw line after the release and enters the free throw semicircle before the ball touches the ring, the backboard, or until the free throw ends. B1 does not contact A1. A1’s free throw attempt bounces off the ring and is unsuccessful. After signaling a delayed free throw violation with an extended fist, the official calls a free throw violation on B1 and allows A1 a substitute free throw attempt. Is the official correct? Yes (Rule 9-1-3h)

7) Team A has possession of the ball in their frontcourt. The head coach of Team A requests a sixty second timeout while the ball is in the air as A1 is passing the ball to A2. The official grants the timeout request while the ball is in the air because the ball is in team control of Team A. Is the official correct? No (2016-17 NFHS Basketball Points of Emphasis, Rule 5-8-3a)

8) Team A has possession of the ball in their frontcourt. Defensive post player B1 is using a stationary arm bar to hold his position as offensive post player A1 positions himself on the free throw lane line block. As guard A2 attempts to pass the ball to post player A1, B1 extends his arm bar and displaces A1 from his position on the block. The official charges B1 with a pushing foul. Is the official correct? Yes (2016-17 NFHS Basketball Points of Emphasis, Rule 10-7-1)

9) The Team A head coach shows frustration with what he considers a missed travel call. He gestures with a travel signal, and tells the nearest official that he missed the call. Previous to this, there was not a hint of misconduct by the Team A head coach. The official judges that this misconduct is not a major problem, but needs to be dealt with. The official stops play and gives the Team A head coach an official warning for misconduct, which is recorded in the scorebook. Is the official correct? Yes (Rule 10-5, Rule 4-48)

10) The head coach of Team A is calling out plays to his team while he is standing on the sideline, two feet inside the end line. The official charges Team A head coach with a technical foul for standing outside the fourteen foot designated coaching box. Is the official correct? No (Rule 10-6-1, Rule 1-13)

Freddy Mon May 29, 2017 12:52pm

Given we only have the NFHS press release regarding their description of what new rules were coming, your ten questions and accompanying answers appear legitimate and correct.
It would be interesting to see what questions could be added if they come up with any unannounced rules book or casebook changes or new POE's that either are or are not supported by a rule. ;) I guess only time will tell. Until then, you're right on, it seems.

Freddy Mon May 29, 2017 01:01pm

You Forgot One Mechanics Question
 
11. In the state of Connecticut, the digits of the player who committed the foul are reported to the table with the right finger(s) for the first digit and the left finger(s), if necessary, for the second digit for a fouler on the home team and with the left finger(s) for the first digit and the right finger(s), if necessary, for the second digit for a fouler on the visiting team. In the case that both teams are playing at a neutral site, the order of reporting will be purely random and it's up to the table to guess. Yes, 2-9-1 - rev. CT.
:D

BillyMac Mon May 29, 2017 01:17pm

The NFHS Is Always Right, Even When They Are Wrong ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 1006249)
POE's that ... are not supported by a rule ...

No way. That would never happen.

BillyMac Mon May 29, 2017 01:29pm

The Land Of Steady Habits ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 1006250)
11. In the state of Connecticut ...

We actually do have some "Connecticut Only" rules, and/or mechanics.

Point to floor for two-point field goal try when shooter has foot touching three point line.

Team members are not allowed to congregate at division line, or on school logo during introductions.

Coaching Box and Substitute “X” must be marked. If home coach, and/or home management, refuse to designate a coaching box with tape, the home team will not use a coaching box for that game. However, the visiting team will be allowed a coaching box. Notify Board Secretary, or Commissioner.

Captains-Head Coaches-Officials pre-game meeting should occur prior to start of game. If the head coach refuses to attend the meeting, notify Board Secretary, or Commissioner.


I believe that the "team congregate school logo introductions" is an actual NFHS "rule", but I believe it's embedded in a Point of Emphasis from several years ago, and never made it's way into the actual rulebook. The CIAC (Connecticut interscholastic sports governing body) wants this strictly enforced. Too many players spitting on the home team logo.

bob jenkins Mon May 29, 2017 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1006248)

2) Cheerleaders attempt to come onto the playing court during a thirty second time out. The official informs the cheerleaders that they must remain outside of the playing area during a thirty second or less timeout during the game. Is the official correct? Yes (Rule 1-20)

What's that?

BillyMac Mon May 29, 2017 04:09pm

Or Less ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1006257)
What's that?

I was using NFHS language. Maybe it refers to thirty second timeouts where both teams are ready to go after only a few seconds, occasionally seen late in lopsided games where coaches are trying to get players from the far end of the bench into the game. Maybe it refers to the fifteen second time interval, not really a timeout, to replace a disqualified or injured player, or for a player directed to leave the game.

NFHS 1-20: Non-playing personnel, e.g., spirit participants, media, shall remain outside of the playing area during a 30-second or less time-out during the game.

LRZ Tue May 30, 2017 08:14am

Does #10 contain an ambiguity? Next season, a coach two feet from the end line will be out of the coaching box, whether it is 14' or 28'.

Camron Rust Tue May 30, 2017 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LRZ (Post 1006277)
Does #10 contain an ambiguity? Next season, a coach two feet from the end line will be out of the coaching box, whether it is 14' or 28'.

Why would the coach be out of the box if the box is 28'? Doesn't the coaching box start at the 28' mark...meaning the other end would be all the way too the endline? If the coach is on the sideline, 2 feet from the endline, they'd be in the new box, wouldn't they?

BigCat Tue May 30, 2017 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1006248)
I have been asked to submit ten questions to IAABO to be used on the 2017-18 Applicant Exam, and/or the 2017-18 Refresher Exam. The questions are to be based on 2016-17, and 2017-18 NFHS rule changes, and Points of Emphasis. Here's what I came up with. Corrections, and/or comments would be appreciated. Especially corrections. I would hate to get my own test questions wrong. That would be very embarrassing.

1) Cheerleaders are located along the endline. The official informs the cheerleaders that they may not stand in the restricted area along the endline between the free throw lane lines extended. Is the official correct? Yes (Rule 1-20)

2) Cheerleaders attempt to come onto the playing court during a thirty second time out. The official informs the cheerleaders that they must remain outside of the playing area during a thirty second or less timeout during the game. Is the official correct? Yes (Rule 1-20)

3) The timekeeper sounds a warning signal to end the twenty seconds permitted for replacing a disqualified or injured player, or for a player directed to leave the game. The official believes this to be the correct procedure. Is the official correct? No (Rule 2-12-5)

4) Players on Team A are wearing white jerseys and red shorts. Several players on Team A are wearing white wrist bands, headbands, leg sleeves, and arm sleeves. Player A1 is wearing red compression shorts that extend below the uniform shorts. The official allows this because A1’s compression shorts are the same color as the uniform shorts. Is the official correct? No (Rule 3-5-3)

5) Players on Team A are wearing blue jerseys and blue shorts. Several players on Team A are wearing white wrist bands, headbands, leg sleeves, and arm sleeves. Player A2 is wearing a white undershirt under his uniform jersey. The official allows this because A2’s undershirt is the same color as the equipment worn by the other Team A players. Is the official correct? No (Rule 3-5-6)

6) Player A1 releases a free throw attempt. B1, occupying a marked free throw lane line space, crosses the free throw line after the release and enters the free throw semicircle before the ball touches the ring, the backboard, or until the free throw ends. B1 does not contact A1. A1’s free throw attempt bounces off the ring and is unsuccessful. After signaling a delayed free throw violation with an extended fist, the official calls a free throw violation on B1 and allows A1 a substitute free throw attempt. Is the official correct? Yes (Rule 9-1-3h)

7) Team A has possession of the ball in their frontcourt. The head coach of Team A requests a sixty second timeout while the ball is in the air as A1 is passing the ball to A2. The official grants the timeout request while the ball is in the air because the ball is in team control of Team A. Is the official correct? No (2016-17 NFHS Basketball Points of Emphasis, Rule 5-8-3a)

8) Team A has possession of the ball in their frontcourt. Defensive post player B1 is using a stationary arm bar to hold his position as offensive post player A1 positions himself on the free throw lane line block. As guard A2 attempts to pass the ball to post player A1, B1 extends his arm bar and displaces A1 from his position on the block. The official charges B1 with a pushing foul. Is the official correct? Yes (2016-17 NFHS Basketball Points of Emphasis, Rule 10-7-1)

9) The head coach of Team A incites undesirable crowd reactions by rising from the bench, using gestures, and disrespectfully addressing an official. The official stops play and gives the Team A head coach an official warning for misconduct, which is recorded in the scorebook. The misconduct is not judged to be major. Is the official correct? Yes (Rule 10-5, Rule 4-48)

10) The head coach of Team A is calling out plays to his team while he is standing on the sideline, two feet from the end line. The official charges Team A head coach with a technical foul for standing outside the fourteen foot designated coaching box. Is the official correct? No (Rule 10-6-1, Rule 1-13)

I might change 10 to say "The head coach of Team A is standing out of bounds in front of his bench two feet from the endline yelling instructions to his players. The official calls a technical foul for the Team A coach being "out of his box." (id leave out the word "designated" in your question). Is this correct ..."

LRZ Tue May 30, 2017 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1006287)
Why would the coach be out of the box if the box is 28'? Doesn't the coaching box start at the 28' mark...meaning the other end would be all the way too the endline? If the coach is on the sideline, 2 feet from the endline, they'd be in the new box, wouldn't they?

I guess it depends on whether the 28' box is placed in the middle of the 42' half court, as 1-13-2 states, so the coach would be out of the box by 5', or whether the additional 14 feet are added to the original dimension, making the box run all the way to the end line.

But you may be right. I have not seen the official wording, so my assumption may be wrong.

BillyMac Tue May 30, 2017 03:54pm

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by LRZ (Post 1006292)
I have not seen the official wording ...

The coaching box now shall be bounded by a line drawn 28 feet from the end line toward the division line.

BillyMac Tue May 30, 2017 03:58pm

NFHS Language ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 1006291)
... leave out the word "designated" in your question ...

10-6-1: ... the head coach may stand within the designated coaching box ...

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 1006291)
I might change 10 to say "The head coach of Team A is standing out of bounds" ...

Good point, but regarding standing on the sideline, the sideline (as a boundary) is out of bounds.

BillyMac Tue May 30, 2017 04:00pm

Equipment ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by sj (Post 1006297)
What? No headband question?

Only indirectly.

4) Players on Team A are wearing white jerseys and red shorts. Several players on Team A are wearing white wrist bands, headbands, leg sleeves, and arm sleeves. Player A1 is wearing red compression shorts that extend below the uniform shorts. The official allows this because A1’s compression shorts are the same color as the uniform shorts. Is the official correct? No (Rule 3-5-3)

5) Players on Team A are wearing blue jerseys and blue shorts. Several players on Team A are wearing white wrist bands, headbands, leg sleeves, and arm sleeves. Player A2 is wearing a white undershirt under his uniform jersey. The official allows this because A2’s undershirt is the same color as the equipment worn by the other Team A players. Is the official correct? No (Rule 3-5-6)


I was supposed to only provide questions based on 2016-17, and 2017-18 NFHS rule changes, and Points of Emphasis. The "Skylar Diggins" rule (no extensions on headbands) was introduced in 2015-16.

LRZ Tue May 30, 2017 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1006300)
The coaching box now shall be bounded by a line drawn 28 feet from the end line toward the division line.

Thank you. And Camron Rust is correct.

BigCat Tue May 30, 2017 05:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1006302)
10-6-1: ... the head coach may stand within the designated coaching box ...



Good point, but regarding standing on the sideline, the sideline (as a boundary) is out of bounds.

I understand both. I just think if your teaching the length of coaching box just ask that question.

Nevadaref Tue May 30, 2017 07:25pm

I disagree with a warning for #9. Disrespectfully addressing an official and inciting negative crowd reactions are both worthy of a technical foul under NFHS rules.

OKREF Tue May 30, 2017 08:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1006306)
I disagree with a warning for #9. Disrespectfully addressing an official and inciting negative crowd reactions are both worthy of a technical foul under NFHS rules.

I was just going to say this. No chance I'm giving a warning here. Straight to a T.

BillyMac Tue May 30, 2017 10:16pm

Technical Foul ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1006306)
Disrespectfully addressing an official and inciting negative crowd reactions are both worthy of a technical foul under NFHS rules.

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 1006308)
No chance I'm giving a warning here. Straight to a T.

Both of you are certainly entitled to your expert, experienced, opinions, and you are correct, such acts can result in an immediate technical foul.

Early in the first quarter, the head coach shows frustration with what he considers a missed travel call. He stands up, gestures with a travel signal, and tells the nearest official that he missed the call. Fans also gesture with travel signals. Previous to this, there was not a hint of misconduct by the head coach. I'm probably judging this not to be major misconduct, and may do something short of charging a direct technical foul to the head coach. In the old days, this may have resulted in some type of admonishment from me ("Calm down coach"), maybe even the threatening "Stop Sign". It appears that the new rule replaces the "Stop Sign" with a written warning.

But depending on context, and circumstance, this could lead to an immediate technical foul with no warning, under both the old rule set, and the new rule set.

BigCat Wed May 31, 2017 07:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1006309)
Both of you are certainly entitled to your expert, experienced, opinions, and you are correct, such acts can result in an immediate technical foul.

Early in the first quarter, the head coach shows frustration with what he considers a missed travel call. He stands up, gestures with a travel signal, and tells the nearest official that he missed the call. Fans also gesture with travel signals. Previous to this, there was not a hint of misconduct by the head coach. I'm probably judging this not to be major misconduct, and may do something short of charging a direct technical foul to the head coach. In the old days, this may have resulted in some type of admonishment from me ("Calm down coach"), maybe even the threatening "Stop Sign". It appears that the new rule replaces the "Stop Sign" with a written warning.

But depending on context, and circumstance, this could lead to an immediate technical foul with no warning, under both the old rule set, and the new rule set.

I think id stay away from your question 9. You describe conduct in the first sentence that sounds like textbook automatic T. (Mirrors rule language). Then the question declare that the official doesnt deem the conduct major....and gives written warning. Then ask was he correct? Just dont think it is good question for a yes or no answer.

The reader of the question may focus on the language of your first sentence which mirrors the rule book language. He or she may think your question is "was the official correct to call the conduct "not Major?" By the wording you used I'd say no. But I know you aren't meaning for me to answer that question. You want me to accept as true that the conduct wasn't major. Is a written warning then appropriate....etc.

OKREF Wed May 31, 2017 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1006309)
Both of you are certainly entitled to your expert, experienced, opinions, and you are correct, such acts can result in an immediate technical foul.

Early in the first quarter, the head coach shows frustration with what he considers a missed travel call. He stands up, gestures with a travel signal, and tells the nearest official that he missed the call. Fans also gesture with travel signals. Previous to this, there was not a hint of misconduct by the head coach. I'm probably judging this not to be major misconduct, and may do something short of charging a direct technical foul to the head coach. In the old days, this may have resulted in some type of admonishment from me ("Calm down coach"), maybe even the threatening "Stop Sign". It appears that the new rule replaces the "Stop Sign" with a written warning.

But depending on context, and circumstance, this could lead to an immediate technical foul with no warning, under both the old rule set, and the new rule set.

Your example and what I'm interpreting question 9 to be are two different things, and I agree for your example, I don't think I would automatically issue a T. I also agree that the new written warning is replacing the stop sign.

BillyMac Wed May 31, 2017 05:32pm

Stop! In the Name of Love (The Supremes, 1965) ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 1006322)
I also agree that the new written warning is replacing the stop sign.

What? No more stop sign. But it was one of my favorite unofficial signals. The signal really worked well when I was wearing my Fashion Police badge.

https://tse4.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.e...=0&w=300&h=300

Mregor Thu Jun 01, 2017 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1006248)
10) The head coach of Team A is calling out plays to his team while he is standing on the sideline, two feet from the end line. The official charges Team A head coach with a technical foul for standing outside the fourteen foot designated coaching box. Is the official correct? No (Rule 10-6-1, Rule 1-13)

Ambiguous. "two feet from the end line" could be in or out depending on what side the "from" is. If "from" is between EL and 28' line. he's legal. If from is past EL where he is now 30' from 28' line, he is outside.

Just pickin nits here.

Roger

BillyMac Thu Jun 01, 2017 05:11pm

Question 9 ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 1006310)
... You describe conduct in the first sentence that sounds like textbook automatic T.

Great points, by several Forum members. I changed it.

9) The Team A head coach shows frustration with what he considers a missed travel call. He gestures with a travel signal, and tells the nearest official that he missed the call. Previous to this, there was not a hint of misconduct by the Team A head coach. The official judges that this misconduct is not a major problem, but needs to be dealt with. The official stops play and gives the Team A head coach an official warning for misconduct, which is recorded in the scorebook. Is the official correct? Yes (Rule 10-5, Rule 4-48)

https://tse1.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.v...=0&w=331&h=175

BillyMac Thu Jun 01, 2017 05:13pm

Question 10 ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mregor (Post 1006345)
... "two feet from the end line" could be in or out depending on what side the "from" is.

Nit pickin, but worth nit pickin. I changed it.

10) The head coach of Team A is calling out plays to his team while he is standing on the sideline, two feet inside the end line. The official charges Team A head coach with a technical foul for standing outside the fourteen foot designated coaching box. Is the official correct? No (Rule 10-6-1, Rule 1-13)

https://tse4.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.J...=0&w=300&h=300

OKREF Thu Jun 01, 2017 09:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1006348)
Great points, by several Forum members. I changed it.

9) The Team A head coach shows frustration with what he considers a missed travel call. He gestures with a travel signal, and tells the nearest official that he missed the call. Previous to this, there was not a hint of misconduct by the Team A head coach. The official judges that this misconduct is not a major problem, but needs to be dealt with. The official stops play and gives the Team A head coach an official warning for misconduct, which is recorded in the scorebook. Is the official correct? Yes (Rule 10-5, Rule 4-48)

https://tse1.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.v...=0&w=331&h=175

Doubt I go to a written warning for this

BillyMac Fri Jun 02, 2017 05:53pm

Follow You The Rest Of Your Life ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 1006360)
Doubt I go to a written warning for this.

But it will go on his permanent record. That's a big deal. Right?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1