![]() |
Should Be In The Rulebook ...
Quote:
Quote:
2012-13 POE: Contact above the shoulders. With a continued emphasis on reducing concussions and decreasing excessive contact situations the committee determined that more guidance is needed for penalizing contact above the shoulders. a. A player shall not swing his/her arm(s) or elbow(s) even without contacting an opponent. Excessive swinging of the elbows occurs when arms and elbows are swung about while using the shoulders as pivots, and the speed of the extended arms and elbows is in excess of the rest of the body as it rotates on the hips or on the pivot foot. Currently it is a violation in Rule 9 Section 13 Article. b. Examples of illegal contact above the shoulders and resulting penalties. 1. Contact with a stationary elbow may be incidental or a common foul. 2. An elbow in movement but not excessive should be an intentional foul. 3. A moving elbow that is excessive can be either an intentional foul or flagrant personal foul. The specificity of the POE doesn't' show up in the rulebook. |
Quote:
Obviously we will need to wait for official press release but my source is one who was in the room of the meeting. |
Quote:
Peace |
I'm Not Proud To Say ...
Quote:
https://tse3.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.V...=0&w=300&h=300 |
That's My Story And I'm Sticking To It ...
Quote:
Now, that didn't take too much time, did it? And if you don't like it, then tough tarts, and I'll take my basketball and go home. Then where will you all be without a basketball? Period. End of discussion. Can I make myself more clear? Questions? Forget it. I'm not taking any damn questions. Discussion? Also forget it. Discussion is not needed when I'm right and everybody that says otherwise is wrong. And remember. I'm already an Esteemed Forum Member and I just reached 15,000 posts. What's the next rank above Esteemed Forum Member? Forum King? <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/8z8SpgmF0sA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
He's A Rebel (The Crystals, 1962) …
Quote:
|
Liked It Better The Old Way ...
Quote:
4.42.5 SITUATION: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. A1’s throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2. RULING: As a result of B2’s kicking violation, Team A is awarded a new throw-in at the designated spot nearest to where the kicking violation (illegal touching) occurred. Since the alternating-possession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended and therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next alternating-possession throw-in. COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the alternating-possession throw-in and as a result, a non-alternating-possession throw-in is administered. When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking violation, the arrow shall not be changed and shall remain with Team A. |
Quote:
But I wish they'd tell us why they make the edits that they do. For instance, by adding the words "or backboard" in 9-1-3a in the 15/16 rule, they made an obvious error. Had they been required to explain to us the reason for adding those words, they surely would have seen the error of the revision and it never would have been published. Ah heck, I guess we take things much to seriously when we expect revisions to the books to be well thought out. Sadly. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
That said, I still see a few that go too far the other way and get in front of the scorer's table. I've even had a scorer mention to me that they couldn't clearly see the game because the coach was blocking her view when we were at the far end of the court. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40pm. |