![]() |
The last three paragraphs seem to have been added with the date stamp of June 7 to what was released to us last week.
Not intending at all to be critical of this or overly-analytical...just reporting what the news is. |
Quote:
Peace |
Forgive me if this has been posted already . . .
An NFHS PowerPoint on the two rule changes relevant to the Fashion Police changes came out on their Arbiter Central Hub on June 4. I just know there are lots of you interested in this. Not that I am...just reporting the news. https://nfhs-basketball.arbitersport...rm-Information |
Quote:
|
Quote:
> If one, two or three free throws are to be attempted, indicate the number of free throws by using one hand. These three bullet points seem to have been added to the list: > If the team is in the bonus for the seventh, eight of ninth foul, indicate the bonus situation raising both hands and display a raised index finger on each hand. > If the foul is a team control foul, after the official signals the specific type of foul, the official will turn and signal such with an extended arm, closed fist parallel to the table and side line, indicating no free throws will be attempted. > After reporting and if no free throws are to be attempted, the official will turn from the table and indicate the throw-in spot to resume play. |
Doesn't sound like much of a change, but a clarification with things we did already. Again, this is all much to do about nothing. Still trying to see the big draw to this mechanic.
Peace |
Quote:
|
When do the NFHS and NCAA '17-'18 rulebooks come out?
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
Quote:
Peace |
Two Hands
I've been trying to use the two-hand reporting system during summer ball. Retraining myself and undoing ingrained habits is neither simple nor easy for this old dog.
|
Old Dog, New Tricks ???
Quote:
https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.d...=0&w=300&h=300 |
Quote:
|
1987. Can't remember ever doing it.
|
Anybody notice that in the points of emphasis it states
it is contact that: • • Contact on an opponent who is clearly not in the play I thought i worked for the Department of redundancy Department... or no wonder we're confused on rules when they cant get a simple statement correct |
Unlisted change to NFHS R9-S1-A3c.
For those have been wondering why I have been mostly quiet for almost a year, there have been some changes in my life that have just made me take a more of the attitude of a quiet bystander.
None-the-less, while reading the NFHS and NCAA Men's and Women's Rules Books last night I came across a change in NFHS R9-S1-A3c which was not made in NCAA Men's and Women's R9-S1-A1f. Last year: NFHS R9-S1-A3c: "After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free thrower no opponent shall disconcert the free thrower." NCAA Men's R9-S1-A1f: "After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free-thrower, it is a violation when an opponent disconcerts (e.g. taunt, bait, gesture or delay) the free-thrower." NCAA Women's R9-S1-A1f: "After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free-thrower, it is a violation when an opponent disconcerts (e.g. taunts, baits, gestures or delays) the free-thrower." This year: NFHS R9-S1-A3c: "After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free thrower no opponent shall distract the free thrower." NCAA Men's R9-S1-A1f: "After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free-thrower, it is a violation when an opponent disconcerts (e.g. taunt, bait, gesture or delay) the free-thrower." NCAA Women's R9-S1-A1f: "After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free-thrower, it is a violation when an opponent disconcerts (e.g. taunts, baits, gestures or delays) the free-thrower." Can anyone spot the change? Let the fun begin! MTD, Sr. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23am. |