![]() |
Final Four video requests
Gonzaga/SC
18:53 PC for elbow? 6:45 & replay at 6:25 GT? 5:12 blocked shot & follow through contact to face? |
2:45 quality screen
2:00 did the player step OOB on the end line before scoring? Thoughts so far: physical game, Higgins allowing more contact than in Elite 8, Anderson's fake leg movement is ridiculous, but his multiple whistles on every call is more annoying to me, nothing on Sirmons so far. |
2nd half
3:54 held ball, does it meet the rule definition? |
Gonzaga-SC
3:43 offensive foul call on Zach Collins |
Gonzaga-SC
2:09 foul on Karnowski
|
2:09 4th foul on Gonzaga big man
|
1:45 excellent help by Anderson on OOB call.
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
3.5 seconds left
Great example of a touch foul hurting the team with the ball. That level of contact wasn't a foul all game. |
Update: I will not be able to post any of the videos until Monday or Tuesday.
Again, specifics help with the time, half and the type of play. I will not be home until Monday afternoon. It will also take me some time to get the videos up as well. That is why Tuesday is not out of the question. Peace |
Quote:
Then again, this is not at all the scenario that has generated so much discussion in the Ohio thread. |
Quote:
General question: How on earth do these reviews take this long?! OOB off Gonzaga? Yup. 1:45/23 on clocks? Yup. OK, guys we're good ... 3-4 minutes later. |
Quote:
|
Ducks v Tarheels
10:06 of first half. CBS replay included. Oregon drive to the basket. Foul whistled on UNC. 1. Did he travel first? 2. Was it a clean strip by the defense? |
Ducks/Tarheels
7:34 of first half crash near the basket Questions: possession of the ball by offense? time & distance by defender? Does the RA apply to this play? |
Quote:
|
2:32 left in first half
Trail whistles a block on a fast break while lead lets the contact go as another player swats the shot away. |
2:32 to go in first half of Oregon game. Foul on Oregon play. Phantom foul and T appears to point at RA.
|
Whether it is a foul or not shouldn't be the question.
I think that it is more important to note that the primary official had this play covered and the determination should have been left up to him. The Lead had an excellent angle to see the space/contact between the players. The Trail had a closed-look. I would be ticked if a partner whistled this after I made a no-whistle decision. |
Quote:
But I thought he was pointing to indicate the defender in question, just so everyone knew the monster blocked shot wasn't the foul. And pointing adamantly, for the sake of salesmanship, for taking the thunder out of the gym. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Why does Ted Valentine not start his PTS pack when he administers a throw-in?
|
North Carolina-Oregon
2nd half 11:30 I believe. No call when Carolina offensive player threw his shoulder into the Oregon defender, then turns into jump ball.
|
North Carolina-Oregon
5:38 2nd half lead calls tripping. On Oregon defense.
|
North Carolina-Oregon
1:32 2nd half foul called on brooks looked like a jump ball.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/GPaN8BC7QXo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Peace |
On the held-ball play, I think that meets the definition and was a good call. Otherwise, it would have been a travel, but I think Anderson got it right.
On the PC play, we have a closed look on both the original view and the replay view. Anderson had the perfect view of any potential elbow that potentially displaced Thornwell. On the verticality play, I think the defender played that perfectly and I would not have had a whistle. On the team control/shot clock play, obviously TC did not change and the shot clock should not have been reset, and eventually was properly left at 23 after a hiccup reset (and another looooonnngggg review). |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Really tough call in real time, though. Given the relative motion of the two players involved, I can certainly see how it may have appeared to the L that the defender was moving forward. That happens when the offensive player has a lot of downhill momentum and the contact is significant. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Having two feet down while not in the path (where he started) is not enough to establish LGP. The defender must get two feet on the floor while facing AND in the path. While the defender wasn't moving forward, what isn't clear from the video is whether the defender got that 2nd foot down to establish LGP once he got in the path of the opponent. From the angle provided, I can't say whether he did or didn't. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15pm. |