The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   6 on the floor..... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10247-6-floor.html)

Larks Tue Sep 30, 2003 09:01am

Ok..so you let 6 get on the floor and dont catch it....BAD OFFICIATING, we all know this....but it happens...

So...here is the question of the day....

NF Please....

Team A huddles for a time out. Coach tells A5 he's down but A5 doesnt hear him. A6 checks in But A5 stays in also and no one catches it. (we'll leave A6 and A5 labeled as A6 and A5 for this conversation) A6 is legally in the game and A5 is illegally in the game at this point but no one knows.

NF Rule Book 3 ART. 3 . . . A substitute becomes a player when he/she legally enters the court. If entry is not legal, the substitute becomes a player when the ball becomes live.

We play a while and A5 scores a basket etc. Still, we have significant officiating issues and dont notice 6 on the floor. Finally A5 decides to call you a old fat Jurrassic Bald Guy which you politely respond with a technical.

Then you notice...FINALLY that you have 6 on the floor.

Rule Book 10.1.6 A team shall not have more than five team members participating simultaneously.

PENALTY: (All articles) Two free throws plus ball for division-line throw-in. (Art. 6) Penalized if discovered while being violated.

Whaddya Got Old Guys?









BktBallRef Tue Sep 30, 2003 09:12am

I'm not an old guy, but I have 2 technical fouls.

It really doesn't matter who isn't supposed to be on the floor. This is a team tachnical. No, A5 is not ejected, if that's what you're getting at.

Jurassic Referee Tue Sep 30, 2003 09:12am

A5 gets a T charged to him for his comments. Team A gets a team T charged to them for having more than 5 participating.Shoot them in the order that they occurred. You end up with B shooting 4 FT's(any player) and getting the ball at center court for the throw in. No indirect T charged to the A coach,so he doesn't get seatbelted. Team A gets 2 fouls charged against them towards the bonus.

PS-I ain't bald. Not even slightly "follically challenged".

rainmaker Tue Sep 30, 2003 11:00am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
I'm not an old guy,..
Oh, yes you are. If you're older than me, then you're old. Sorry!

And so is Jurassic, even if he's not follicularly challenged. The word Jurassic MEANS old!


Jurassic Referee Tue Sep 30, 2003 11:43am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
I'm not an old guy,..
Oh, yes you are. If you're older than me, then you're old. Sorry!

And so is Jurassic, even if he's not follicularly challenged. The word Jurassic MEANS old!


Jurassic doesn't deny being old. Jurassic <b>adamantly</b> denies being bald. Don't need Viagara either! So there!

PS- ain't Tony younger than you,Missy?

Dan_ref Tue Sep 30, 2003 11:51am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
I'm not an old guy,..
Oh, yes you are. If you're older than me, then you're old. Sorry!

And so is Jurassic, even if he's not follicularly challenged. The word Jurassic MEANS old!


Aint nothing wrong with being old.

I mean, getting old is kinda the point, aint it?

tomegun Tue Sep 30, 2003 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
A5 gets a T charged to him for his comments. Team A gets a team T charged to them for having more than 5 participating.Shoot them in the order that they occurred. You end up with B shooting 4 FT's(any player) and getting the ball at center court for the throw in. No indirect T charged to the A coach,so he doesn't get seatbelted. Team A gets 2 fouls charged against them towards the bonus.

PS-I ain't bald. Not even slightly "follically challenged".

Can you explain shooting them in the order they occured in this instance?

Dan_ref Tue Sep 30, 2003 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tomegun
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
A5 gets a T charged to him for his comments. Team A gets a team T charged to them for having more than 5 participating.Shoot them in the order that they occurred. You end up with B shooting 4 FT's(any player) and getting the ball at center court for the throw in. No indirect T charged to the A coach,so he doesn't get seatbelted. Team A gets 2 fouls charged against them towards the bonus.

PS-I ain't bald. Not even slightly "follically challenged".

Can you explain shooting them in the order they occured in this instance?

Geeze I wish I thought to ask that...

Howzabout it ya hairy old pervert? What's the order they "occured" in?

dblref Tue Sep 30, 2003 12:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
I'm not an old guy,..
Oh, yes you are. If you're older than me, then you're old. Sorry!

And so is Jurassic, even if he's not follicularly challenged. The word Jurassic MEANS old!


Aint nothing wrong with being old.

I mean, getting old is kinda the point, aint it?

Those of us that are "older" don't see anything wrong with it.

mick Tue Sep 30, 2003 12:41pm

I disagree.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by dblref
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
I'm not an old guy,..
Oh, yes you are. If you're older than me, then you're old. Sorry!

And so is Jurassic, even if he's not follicularly challenged. The word Jurassic MEANS old!


Aint nothing wrong with being old.

I mean, getting old is kinda the point, aint it?

Those of us that are "older" don't see anything wrong with it.

The option is often preferable.

Dan_ref Tue Sep 30, 2003 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by dblref
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
I'm not an old guy,..
Oh, yes you are. If you're older than me, then you're old. Sorry!

And so is Jurassic, even if he's not follicularly challenged. The word Jurassic MEANS old!


Aint nothing wrong with being old.

I mean, getting old is kinda the point, aint it?

Those of us that are "older" don't see anything wrong with it.

...and those of us that are older probably remember when singing "hope I die before I get old" was not a sign of being depressed.

Barry C. Morris Tue Sep 30, 2003 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tomegun
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
A5 gets a T charged to him for his comments. Team A gets a team T charged to them for having more than 5 participating.Shoot them in the order that they occurred. You end up with B shooting 4 FT's(any player) and getting the ball at center court for the throw in. No indirect T charged to the A coach,so he doesn't get seatbelted. Team A gets 2 fouls charged against them towards the bonus.

PS-I ain't bald. Not even slightly "follically challenged".

Can you explain shooting them in the order they occured in this instance?

I think the point is moot in this instance since they are both technicals and anybody can shoot them.Technically, I think you would shoot the two for the player's comments first, since it was recognized before the officials learned to use the other hand and count to six.

rainmaker Tue Sep 30, 2003 01:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Barry C. Morris
Build a man a fire and you warm him for a night;
Set a man on fire and you warm him for the rest of his life.

ROFLMAO!!!

Barry C. Morris Tue Sep 30, 2003 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Barry C. Morris
Build a man a fire and you warm him for a night;
Set a man on fire and you warm him for the rest of his life.

ROFLMAO!!!

Rain,
I knew you would comment on this. I'm glad you see the humor. I was afraid someone would send the nice men in the white coats after me...again.

rainmaker Tue Sep 30, 2003 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Jurassic doesn't deny being old. Jurassic <b>adamantly</b> denies being bald. Don't need Viagara either! So there!

PS- ain't Tony younger than you,Missy?

Jurassic/Viagra -- TMI!!

And, in fact, I don't think Tony IS younger than me. The ones on this board that I know, I have in this order: ace, Dexter, Jeff, Chuck, Camron, Rocky, Dan, me, Tony, mick, Padgett, Jurassic. This is years, not maturity. I wouldn't dream of committing myself on the subject of mine, or anyone else's maturity.

Dan_ref Tue Sep 30, 2003 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Jurassic doesn't deny being old. Jurassic <b>adamantly</b> denies being bald. Don't need Viagara either! So there!

PS- ain't Tony younger than you,Missy?

Jurassic/Viagra -- TMI!!

And, in fact, I don't think Tony IS younger than me. The ones on this board that I know, I have in this order: ace, Dexter, Jeff, Chuck, Camron, Rocky, Dan, me, Tony, mick, Padgett, Jurassic. This is years, not maturity. I wouldn't dream of committing myself on the subject of mine, or anyone else's maturity.

Hmmmm, got me thinking....my list based on level of maturity:




Did I leave anyone out?

Jurassic Referee Tue Sep 30, 2003 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by tomegun
Can you explain shooting them in the order they occured in this instance? [/B]
Howzabout it ya hairy old pervert? What's the order they "occured" in?
[/B][/QUOTE]Yup,just call me "Harry Prevert".

"Occured"? I think that Mr. Typoo(aka Chuckie) is posting under my <i>nom de spew</i> again. Bad Chuckie! Bad,bad Chuckie!

Btw,you shoot them in the order they occurr:D because you have a "false multiple foul".

Also btw,do you know what a "pervertible" is?
Answer: The top stays up and the driver goes down!

BBCoach Tue Sep 30, 2003 02:35pm

Back to the original question.

Can you still call the T for six players after calling the T on A5 for the old fart comment?

I thought the six players would have to be dicovered will the ball was live. Would not the unsporting T would make the discovery too late?

Dan_ref Tue Sep 30, 2003 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BBCoach
Back to the original question.

Can you still call the T for six players after calling the T on A5 for the old fart comment?

I thought the six players would have to be dicovered will the ball was live. Would not the unsporting T would make the discovery too late?

Nope. The T does not mean A6 is no longer a player. Of course if he would have run back to the bench and sat down we have a different story...

"Wha? Wha 6th player??? I only see 5 out here now."

Jurassic Referee Tue Sep 30, 2003 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BBCoach
Back to the original question.

Can you still call the T for six players after calling the T on A5 for the old fart comment?

I thought the six players would have to be dicovered will the ball was live. Would not the unsporting T would make the discovery too late?

The rule says that the T is for more than 5 players <b>participating</b>.As long as one of the officials had knowledge of that fact,you can still call the T when the ball becomes dead. A good example is casebook play 10.1.6a.

mick Tue Sep 30, 2003 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Jurassic doesn't deny being old. Jurassic <b>adamantly</b> denies being bald. Don't need Viagara either! So there!

PS- ain't Tony younger than you,Missy?

Jurassic/Viagra -- TMI!!

And, in fact, I don't think Tony IS younger than me. The ones on this board that I know, I have in this order: ace, Dexter, Jeff, Chuck, Camron, Rocky, Dan, me, Tony, mick, Padgett, Jurassic. This is years, not maturity. I wouldn't dream of committing myself on the subject of mine, or anyone else's maturity.

...Padgett, mick....

RefJeff Tue Sep 30, 2003 11:59pm

I'm not old - Just experienced.

rainmaker Wed Oct 01, 2003 01:18am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
And, in fact, I don't think Tony IS younger than me. The ones on this board that I know, I have in this order: ace, Dexter, Jeff, Chuck, Camron, Rocky, Dan, me, Tony, mick, Padgett, Jurassic. This is years, not maturity. I wouldn't dream of committing myself on the subject of mine, or anyone else's maturity.
...Padgett, mick....

I'd be surprised...

Nevadaref Wed Oct 01, 2003 04:39am

ace, Dexter, Nevadaref,...

theboys Wed Oct 01, 2003 06:57am

What if A5's foul was a personal foul? What would be the order of the free throws then?

bob jenkins Wed Oct 01, 2003 07:22am

Quote:

Originally posted by theboys
What if A5's foul was a personal foul? What would be the order of the free throws then?
In FED, the throws are still shot in the order the fouls occurred.


Mark Dexter Wed Oct 01, 2003 07:54am

Call me crazy (because I am crazy), but why wouldn't we have an indirect technical charged to the coach?

3-3-3: A player (A5) becomes bench personnel after his/her substitute (A6) becomes a player (i.e., when the ball next becomes live). A6 was a player when the ball was next inbounded and A5 was bench personnel - he gets T'd, I'm giving the coach an indirect.

mick Wed Oct 01, 2003 08:11am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Call me crazy (because I am crazy), but why wouldn't we have an indirect technical charged to the coach?

3-3-3: A player (A5) becomes bench personnel after his/her substitute (A6) becomes a player (i.e., when the ball next becomes live). A6 was a player when the ball was next inbounded and A5 was bench personnel - he gets T'd, I'm giving the coach an indirect.

Mark,
Too many players is a Team Technical.
Hold on to that indirect and save it for later.
mick

Larks Wed Oct 01, 2003 09:39am

NF Rule Book 3 ART. 3 . . . A substitute becomes a player when he/she legally enters the court. If entry is not legal, the substitute becomes a player when the ball becomes live.

By the way...the original question didnt happen...at least in any of my games....

Seems like NF 3.3 makes the extra participant a "player" rather than bench personnel until he's caught.

I'm with JR here...

4 and the ball at mid court for B. 1 Direct on the player for his mouth. 1 Team for 6 players. No Indirect. Add 2 Team Fouls for A. Anything that happened counts (fouls, points etc). And...I hope I still get games from the assignor of this particular league!

Back In The Saddle Wed Oct 01, 2003 01:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Larks
NF Rule Book 3 ART. 3 . . . A substitute becomes a player when he/she legally enters the court. If entry is not legal, the substitute becomes a player when the ball becomes live.

Seems like NF 3.3 makes the extra participant a "player" rather than bench personnel until he's caught.

...which is consistent with the nature of the violation, too many players participating.

A Pennsylvania Coach Thu Oct 02, 2003 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Call me crazy (because I am crazy), but why wouldn't we have an indirect technical charged to the coach?

3-3-3: A player (A5) becomes bench personnel after his/her substitute (A6) becomes a player (i.e., when the ball next becomes live). A6 was a player when the ball was next inbounded and A5 was bench personnel - he gets T'd, I'm giving the coach an indirect.

But how does anyone besides the coach know that A6 was put into the game for A5, as opposed to A1, A2, A3, or A4? Substitutes aren't required to report who they are subbing for.

bob jenkins Thu Oct 02, 2003 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Call me crazy (because I am crazy), but why wouldn't we have an indirect technical charged to the coach?

3-3-3: A player (A5) becomes bench personnel after his/her substitute (A6) becomes a player (i.e., when the ball next becomes live). A6 was a player when the ball was next inbounded and A5 was bench personnel - he gets T'd, I'm giving the coach an indirect.

But how does anyone besides the coach know that A6 was put into the game for A5, as opposed to A1, A2, A3, or A4? Substitutes aren't required to report who they are subbing for.

There's a specific case in last years interp(?) regarding three players who enter (legally) and a fight breaks out before the replaced players can leave the floor.

Ruling: The officials should try to determine who was being replaced. Failing that, they should assess the maximum penalty -- those who fought were being replaced (so it's an indirect on the coach).

I'd apply the same ruling here (at least if I'm reading the play right).


Mark Dexter Thu Oct 02, 2003 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Call me crazy (because I am crazy), but why wouldn't we have an indirect technical charged to the coach?

3-3-3: A player (A5) becomes bench personnel after his/her substitute (A6) becomes a player (i.e., when the ball next becomes live). A6 was a player when the ball was next inbounded and A5 was bench personnel - he gets T'd, I'm giving the coach an indirect.

Mark,
Too many players is a Team Technical.
Hold on to that indirect and save it for later.
mick


Yes, but calling Jurrasic Ref an old lazy *U#*(&@ is a direct individual technical - that's the one that I would charge indirectly to the coach.

mick Thu Oct 02, 2003 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Call me crazy (because I am crazy), but why wouldn't we have an indirect technical charged to the coach?

3-3-3: A player (A5) becomes bench personnel after his/her substitute (A6) becomes a player (i.e., when the ball next becomes live). A6 was a player when the ball was next inbounded and A5 was bench personnel - he gets T'd, I'm giving the coach an indirect.

Mark,
Too many players is a Team Technical.
Hold on to that indirect and save it for later.
mick


Yes, but calling Jurrasic Ref an old lazy *U#*(&@ is a direct individual technical - that's the one that I would charge indirectly to the coach.

Yeah, Mark.
Without re-reading the entire thread, that makes sense to enjoin the coach in the fun. :)
mick


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1