The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Tourn Friday March 24 video requests (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102468-ncaa-tourn-friday-march-24-video-requests.html)

Nevadaref Fri Mar 24, 2017 06:41pm

NCAA Tourn Friday March 24 video requests
 
UNC/Butler
6:49 of the first half
C calls a travel from behind the Butler player. Looks as if the ball was knocked loose by a bump from a defender.

Nevadaref Fri Mar 24, 2017 07:08pm

Baylor/S. Carolina on TBS
6:49 left in the first half (lol same time as the other game)
Is the contact from behind during the S. Carolina transition worthy of a foul? If so, which official should be responsible?

AremRed Fri Mar 24, 2017 07:12pm

Don't need video of these plays, just commenting.

South Carolina/Baylor

6:09 first half -- John Gaffney signals two shots on a 1 and 1, stands on the court next to defender. Realizes it is supposed to be 1 and 1, backs out of lane. No one goes to rebound on the release but thankfully the shot is made.

I saw another play Mike Roberts had earlier where it looked like he was about to call an illegal screen on South Carolina but then pointed at the Baylor player.

Not the smoothest first half for this crew.

SC Official Fri Mar 24, 2017 07:18pm

2:50 first half Baylor/SC. Transition block call.

What did the defender do wrong?

JRutledge Fri Mar 24, 2017 07:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1003350)
UNC/Butler
6:49 of the first half
C calls a travel from behind the Butler player. Looks as if the ball was knocked loose by a bump from a defender.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1003351)
Baylor/S. Carolina on TBS
6:49 left in the first half (lol same time as the other game)
Is the contact from behind during the S. Carolina transition worthy of a foul? If so, which official should be responsible?

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1003353)
2:50 first half Baylor/SC. Transition block call.

What did the defender do wrong?

I got all of these, I will post later in the night.

Peace

SC Official Fri Mar 24, 2017 08:06pm

10:41 second half. Another block call where it didn't look like the defender did much wrong.

OKREF Fri Mar 24, 2017 08:07pm

Baylor/SC 10:41 2nd half. Block/Charge. Looks like a PC.

Nevadaref Fri Mar 24, 2017 08:12pm

1:26 left in 2nd half of Bulter/UNC
Butler player drives from the wing and scores.
Did he dribble after going airborne or keep a foot down?

AremRed Fri Mar 24, 2017 09:19pm

UCLA/Kentucky
8:46 first half
Alley-oop attempt by UCLA, undercut by UK player. First they line the players up for 2 shots, then go OOB throw-in.

Should this be shooting or not?

ODog Fri Mar 24, 2017 09:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1003362)
UCLA/Kentucky
8:46 first half
Alley-oop attempt by UCLA, undercut by UK player. First they line the players up for 2 shots, then go OOB throw-in.

Should this be shooting or not?

Player who was fouled never had the ball. Officials correctly came to their senses. You can't assume an alley-oop.

ODog Fri Mar 24, 2017 09:26pm

UCLA/UK, first half, 8:33. UCLA player commits a blatant travel en route to a monster dunk.

My question isn't whether it's a travel, since we would all agree it is. My question is: Would this be considered a "gotcha" travel at this level? I was kind of surprised at the no-call, since this was not a quick one either. More of a slow-developing, easy-to-identify travel.

Just trying to calibrate my own meter ;)

AremRed Fri Mar 24, 2017 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 1003364)
My question is: Would this be considered a "gotcha" travel at this level?)

Yup.

AremRed Fri Mar 24, 2017 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 1003363)
Player who was fouled never had the ball. Officials correctly came to their senses. You can't assume an alley-oop.

He didn't possess the ball but he did get his fingertips to it. Could we say he is trying to tap the ball?

JRutledge Fri Mar 24, 2017 09:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 1003363)
Player who was fouled never had the ball. Officials correctly came to their senses. You can't assume an alley-oop.

No, I think it was a travel and should be called. But it might be hard to see as you are looking at the contact. Seen too many videos that travels should be called.

Peace

ODog Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:08pm

UCLA/UK, 17:50 left. Block/charge no-call.

Badgerfan2 Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:23pm

Nigel Hayes called for charge, about 4 minutes left in first half, looked like a botched call.

Badgerfan2 Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:35pm

16 minutes left, second half WI vs Florida, block/charge

Badgerfan2 Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:39pm

15 min left 2nd half phantom foul on happ

JRutledge Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:46pm

Need more specifics.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Badgerfan2 (Post 1003369)
Nigel Hayes called for charge, about 4 minutes left in first half, looked like a botched call.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Badgerfan2 (Post 1003370)
16 minutes left, second half WI vs Florida, block/charge

Quote:

Originally Posted by Badgerfan2 (Post 1003371)
15 min left 2nd half phantom foul on happ

Specific time please. That these are too general.

Peace

crosscountry55 Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:56pm

This is a good one. Wisconsin/Florida. Just before 15:06 2nd Half.

FL try in flight. W22 commits pushing foul during rebounding action under the basket, so ball remains live. Then F12 appears to commit offensive BI by getting his hand entangled in the net while the ball was on/within the basket. The try ends up being successful.

Crew gets together to discuss. It could very well be that they just weren't sure who's hand ended up in the net because W22's was in the neighborhood as well. But replay clearly showed that it was F12's hand. In any case, they counted the basket, which I believe was incorrect.

Should have been wipe the basket, but then give the ball to FL for a throw-in as a result of the common foul.

After the lengthy discussion, the crew forgot who the initial foul was on, so they went to the monitor to confirm W22. In the subsequent explanation to the TV crew (which I like that they do, by the way), it was even asked about the pulling on the net, and the official correctly stated, "no, that part of the call is not reviewable."

So this time Rule 11 was applied correctly, but the inability to apply common sense with replay review here gave FL two free points.

Yeah, I definitely think some major tweaking to Rule 11 is in order after this year.

AremRed Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:56pm

In b4 Badgerfan2 comments about the PC called on Happ at 9:05 2nd half.

No, the RA does not matter on this play as Greg Gard was arguing. It was a primary defender who established position outside the arc and moved backwards to maintain his legal position.

JRutledge Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1003350)
UNC/Butler
6:49 of the first half
C calls a travel from behind the Butler player. Looks as if the ball was knocked loose by a bump from a defender.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/cxuGTs55pvk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1003351)
Baylor/S. Carolina on TBS
6:49 left in the first half (lol same time as the other game)
Is the contact from behind during the S. Carolina transition worthy of a foul? If so, which official should be responsible?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/RjQ5_YGVKpg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

crosscountry55 Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:39pm

This is cool. WI/FL going deep into the rule and case books tonight!

Jump ball to start overtime, common foul on WI before the AP arrow is established, bonus rule in effect. Set the arrow to WI when the ball is at the disposal of the FL free thrower. Officials spend way too much time explaining things to the coaches and table. Eventually the PA announcer explains the rule in crystal clear language, and still the announcers are confused.

No, JRut doesn't need to clip this. I just mention it because it's cool how sometimes stuff you read about but think will never happen in your game....happens.

Don't be that official that likes to boast at camps, "I'm not a rules guy, but...." Those guys aren't advancing in the tournament this year.*

*Edit: That's a general statement not aimed at the crew in this game, who actually I think have done an awesome job tonight (though I wish as a WI fan they hadn't missed that FL BI earlier because I'd be in bed already).

JRutledge Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1003352)
Don't need video of these plays, just commenting.

South Carolina/Baylor

6:09 first half -- John Gaffney signals two shots on a 1 and 1, stands on the court next to defender. Realizes it is supposed to be 1 and 1, backs out of lane. No one goes to rebound on the release but thankfully the shot is made.

I saw another play Mike Roberts had earlier where it looked like he was about to call an illegal screen on South Carolina but then pointed at the Baylor player.

Not the smoothest first half for this crew.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/hWeoAqwrtmE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Fuelrider Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:41pm

Florida-Wisconsin
 
Beginning of OT off the tip, Foul called no team or player control Florida goes to free throw line arrow is switched? What just happened?

JRutledge Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1003353)
2:50 first half Baylor/SC. Transition block call.

What did the defender do wrong?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/DdzRnKDmMZk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Nevadaref Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:54pm

FL/Wisconsin
4.0 seconds left in OT
Leon of FL called for a foul on drive by Hayes of WI.
What did the defender do wrong?

Edit: Justice as FL wins on a buzzer-beater 3pt shot.

Fuelrider Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:55pm

When I re watched he tried to get back in position after being beat and tripped the offensive player on the shot. Just what I saw.

blindzebra Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1003383)
FL/Wisconsin
4.0 seconds left in OT
Leon of FL called for a foul on drive by Hayes of WI.
What did the defender do wrong?

Edit: Justice as FL wins on a buzzer-beater 3pt shot.


Verne reffed OT like he didn't want a double OT. There were several iffy calls going Wisconsin's way the last 2 minutes, but fate stepped in and the correct team won.

ODog Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1003383)
FL/Wisconsin
4.0 seconds left in OT
Leon of FL called for a foul on drive by Hayes of WI.
What did the defender do wrong?

Edit: Justice as FL wins on a buzzer-beater 3pt shot.

Yes, thank god the game wasn't decided by that final Wisconsin possession.

As for what the Fla. defender did wrong on Hayes, I felt the same way as you ... initially. After watching it a few times, I'm guessing it was his hands all over Hayes' back throughout his ridiculous spin-move travel.

My main concern on the play was the travel. I understand 99/100 spin moves these days are travels and I also understand 89/100 will not be called, but moments like this are cringeworthy when basketball society's acceptance (all of us and myself included) of these textbook-illegal moves as legal leads to (or nearly leads to) the game-winning points.

Nevadaref Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fuelrider (Post 1003380)
Beginning of OT off the tip, Foul called no team or player control Florida goes to free throw line arrow is switched? What just happened?

The arrow wasn't switched. It was initially set in favor of Wisconsin when the ball was placed at the disposal of the FL FTer. This is the start of an extra period.

ODog Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fuelrider (Post 1003380)
Beginning of OT off the tip, Foul called no team or player control Florida goes to free throw line arrow is switched? What just happened?

Already addressed earlier in thread, but in case you missed it. Fla. went to the line because of the foul. But because neither team had gained control and therefore the possession arrow had yet to be set, for purposes of setting the initial direction of the arrow for overtime, Fla. was considered to be in team control when the ball was placed at the shooter's disposal for the first free throw.

Therefore, the arrow is set in Wisconsin's direction. Standard test question, but as someone said earlier, one that rarely comes up on the court.

The arrow wasn't "switched." Remember that OT begins with a jump all and therefore there is no direction for the arrow. The delay was just in confirming they set it properly, which they eventually did.

JRutledge Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 1003356)
Baylor/SC 10:41 2nd half. Block/Charge. Looks like a PC.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/S6_7A9KavL0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1003362)
UCLA/Kentucky
8:46 first half
Alley-oop attempt by UCLA, undercut by UK player. First they line the players up for 2 shots, then go OOB throw-in.

Should this be shooting or not?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/f3bdePOSJ30" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 1003364)
UCLA/UK, first half, 8:33. UCLA player commits a blatant travel en route to a monster dunk.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/bF84rzD79eE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 1003368)
UCLA/UK, 17:50 left. Block/charge no-call.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/yEhImR7JOB4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Sat Mar 25, 2017 01:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fuelrider (Post 1003380)
Beginning of OT off the tip, Foul called no team or player control Florida goes to free throw line arrow is switched? What just happened?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/nOU_TMqTzEs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Camron Rust Sat Mar 25, 2017 01:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 1003373)
This is a good one. Wisconsin/Florida. Just before 15:06 2nd Half.

FL try in flight. W22 commits pushing foul during rebounding action under the basket, so ball remains live. Then F12 appears to commit offensive BI by getting his hand entangled in the net while the ball was on/within the basket. The try ends up being successful.

Crew gets together to discuss. It could very well be that they just weren't sure who's hand ended up in the net because W22's was in the neighborhood as well. But replay clearly showed that it was F12's hand. In any case, they counted the basket, which I believe was incorrect.

Should have been wipe the basket, but then give the ball to FL for a throw-in as a result of the common foul.

After the lengthy discussion, the crew forgot who the initial foul was on, so they went to the monitor to confirm W22. In the subsequent explanation to the TV crew (which I like that they do, by the way), it was even asked about the pulling on the net, and the official correctly stated, "no, that part of the call is not reviewable."

So this time Rule 11 was applied correctly, but the inability to apply common sense with replay review here gave FL two free points.

Yeah, I definitely think some major tweaking to Rule 11 is in order after this year.

I think your assumption about what they were talking about was incorrect. I do not think the were talking about the net at all. I think they were talking about how to administer the foul or if there was a reason (rules wise) to negate the foul. The questions I think they were considering was does the basket count? Does the foul get penalized? If so, how. I think they went to the monitor to see either who fouled or who was fouled. Ultimately, they got all of that right.

As for common sense relating to the BI, I see hands touch the net every game that go uncalled. It is just one of those things that is often passed on. You may or may not agree, but it happens too often to be just missed.

Camron Rust Sat Mar 25, 2017 01:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003377)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/RjQ5_YGVKpg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Yes, that should be a foul. Clear disruption of his movement and loss of the ball.

Camron Rust Sat Mar 25, 2017 01:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003381)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/DdzRnKDmMZk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

I agree that it was a foul, just not a blocking foul. His arms were not even close to vertical and there was plenty of contact between the arms.

Camron Rust Sat Mar 25, 2017 01:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003391)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/bF84rzD79eE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

I've seen that called about 50% of the time this year. In past years, not so much. They're calling it a bit tighter now but don't always catch it.

Camron Rust Sat Mar 25, 2017 01:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003392)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/yEhImR7JOB4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

I've seen that called a charge 90% or more of the time this year. Can't say what it wasn't called here. Perhaps they didn't have a good look.

JRutledge Sat Mar 25, 2017 01:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1003383)
FL/Wisconsin
4.0 seconds left in OT
Leon of FL called for a foul on drive by Hayes of WI.
What did the defender do wrong?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/sAPxrFZDaEg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Sat Mar 25, 2017 02:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 1003373)
This is a good one. Wisconsin/Florida. Just before 15:06 2nd Half.

FL try in flight. W22 commits pushing foul during rebounding action under the basket, so ball remains live. Then F12 appears to commit offensive BI by getting his hand entangled in the net while the ball was on/within the basket. The try ends up being successful.

Crew gets together to discuss. It could very well be that they just weren't sure who's hand ended up in the net because W22's was in the neighborhood as well. But replay clearly showed that it was F12's hand. In any case, they counted the basket, which I believe was incorrect.

Should have been wipe the basket, but then give the ball to FL for a throw-in as a result of the common foul.

After the lengthy discussion, the crew forgot who the initial foul was on, so they went to the monitor to confirm W22. In the subsequent explanation to the TV crew (which I like that they do, by the way), it was even asked about the pulling on the net, and the official correctly stated, "no, that part of the call is not reviewable."

So this time Rule 11 was applied correctly, but the inability to apply common sense with replay review here gave FL two free points.

Yeah, I definitely think some major tweaking to Rule 11 is in order after this year.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/_sTottt6Jxo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Raymond Sat Mar 25, 2017 08:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Badgerfan2 (Post 1003371)
15 min left 2nd half phantom foul on happ

Wow, what a great description of the play.

And is there going to be a video request for every block/charge call in the tournament?

Raymond Sat Mar 25, 2017 08:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003381)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/DdzRnKDmMZk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

I don't call travels when I can't see the ball.

Raymond Sat Mar 25, 2017 08:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003377)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/RjQ5_YGVKpg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Contact from behind on a ball-handler that causes him to go to the floor used to be one of John Adams' absolutes. The Center should be primary on this, but the Trail can get this also.

Raymond Sat Mar 25, 2017 08:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fuelrider (Post 1003380)
Beginning of OT off the tip, Foul called no team or player control Florida goes to free throw line arrow is switched? What just happened?

The arrow was not pointed in anybody's Direction when overtime started so it could not have been switched. As already explained it was set at the proper time.

Raymond Sat Mar 25, 2017 08:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003381)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/DdzRnKDmMZk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

I can see giving the defender the foul based on a lack of verticality.

Raymond Sat Mar 25, 2017 08:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003399)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/sAPxrFZDaEg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Foul occurs before Hayes completes his spin move, so I don't know how anybody could say this is a travel.

ODog Sat Mar 25, 2017 10:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 1003407)
Foul occurs before Hayes completes his spin move, so I don't know how anybody could say this is a travel.

Because they absolutely would have counted the hoop had it gone in.

Camron Rust Sat Mar 25, 2017 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 1003402)
Wow, what a great description of the play.

And is there going to be a video request for every block/charge call in the tournament?

I doubt it since Wisconsin is now out. His only posts, ever, were about players where Wisconsin didn't get the call.

SAJ Sat Mar 25, 2017 01:09pm

There was a travel called in the Baylor/SC game. I don't have the specific time, but it was in the first half (probably somewhere around the 8-10 minute mark, but I could be wrong). Baylor player near the free throw line pivots a couple times then pivots towards the basket and shoots. It didn't appear that he ever moved his pivot foot other than to shoot. Both the T&C whistled with T taking the travel call. There wasn't a replay, so I didn't get second look.

JRutledge Sat Mar 25, 2017 01:29pm

Random Plays from Wisconsin vs. Florida Game

Play #1: Goaltending play

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/4PkFEGXMZUk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #2: Pass off screen

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/H1hpmrbjy0U" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #3: Pass and crash play

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/ck1CkrTM69g" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #4: Legal spin move?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/AFCHZEmUXOc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

RefRich Sat Mar 25, 2017 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003421)
Random Plays from Wisconsin vs. Florida Game

Play #1: Goaltending play

Play #2: Pass off screen

Play #3: Pass and crash play

Play #4: Legal spin move?

Peace

Play#1 - good call, on the way down
Play#2 - There was no screen, Florida play just ran into the Wisconsin player. If the player is running around a player do you call a foul on the guy holding the ball?
Play#3 - The lead wanted this to be offensive in a bad way but did a great job of holding off his call because the center was wrong.
Play#4 - Nice spin move, looked good

JRutledge Sat Mar 25, 2017 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefRich (Post 1003424)
Play#2 - There was no screen, Florida play just ran into the Wisconsin player. If the player is running around a player do you call a foul on the guy holding the ball?

It is a screen by rule and interpretation. He passes off the ball so he is subjected to some screening rules. But he does not turn into the screened player and gives enough time and distance. It is not unusual in these pass off situations to have the ball handler soon to not be ball handler to kind of cause contact with the defender coming at them. This IMO was totally legal and he was turning away from contact. If turning toward contact, then we might have had a different result.

Peace

RefRich Sat Mar 25, 2017 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003426)
It is a screen by rule and interpretation. He passes off the ball so he is subjected to some screening rules. But he does not turn into the screened player and gives enough time and distance. It is not unusual in these pass off situations to have the ball handler soon to not be ball handler to kind of cause contact with the defender coming at them. This IMO was totally legal and he was turning away from contact. If turning toward contact, then we might have had a different result.

Peace

He was going to pass off the ball but was run into by the Florida player first. Therefore there is no attempted screen. You can't penalize him because of what he was going to do but by what the defender did prior to any handoff.

I don't disagree with your interpretation of the rule.

JRutledge Sat Mar 25, 2017 02:07pm

More from Wisconsin vs. Florida

Play #5:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/NNgXHOdaR8I" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #6:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/px8z645jX6Q" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Sat Mar 25, 2017 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefRich (Post 1003427)
He was going to pass off the ball but was run into by the Florida player first. Therefore there is no attempted screen. You can't penalize him because of what he was going to do but by what the defender did prior to any handoff.

I don't disagree with your interpretation of the rule.

I did not say anything about penalizing him if he was legal as he was in this play. But handoff screens are common and usually result in nothing, this was just an example. But it is a screen a the same rules apply. If he had kept coming forward and knocked down the defender, then I would have advocated for a foul. And that is why I think they showed a replay of the situation to show that the Wisconsin player was legal.

Peace

RefRich Sat Mar 25, 2017 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003429)
I did not say anything about penalizing him if he was legal as he was in this play. But handoff screens are common and usually result in nothing, this was just an example. But it is a screen a the same rules apply. If he had kept coming forward and knocked down the defender, then I would have advocated for a foul. And that is why I think they showed a replay of the situation to show that the Wisconsin player was legal.

Peace

Got it, thanks for the explanation.

JRutledge Sat Mar 25, 2017 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefRich (Post 1003430)
Got it, thanks for the explanation.

Np.

Peace

Camron Rust Sat Mar 25, 2017 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefRich (Post 1003427)
He was going to pass off the ball but was run into by the Florida player first. Therefore there is no attempted screen. You can't penalize him because of what he was going to do but by what the defender did prior to any handoff.

I don't disagree with your interpretation of the rule.

Whether he has the ball or not, it is still a screen. That said, it was a legal screen....good no call.

thedewed Sat Mar 25, 2017 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003389)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/S6_7A9KavL0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

there are plays where b/c opportunities should be no calls, and this is one of them. if the defender is there and set in time, but the ballhandler gets his torso past, then it can be a no call. You sure shouldn't call a block, as a defender that is set in legal guarding position has no obligation to move out of the way. This particular play that is best result, next best would be charge.

BillyMac Sat Mar 25, 2017 02:53pm

Am I Right Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003432)
Np.

Young guns, like JRutledge, say "No problem". Old farts like me, say, "You're welcome". Ain't it funny how language changes right before our eyes (or our ears)?

Note: Please don't tell my Mom, or Mr. Baumgartner, my high school sophomore English teacher, that I used "ain't" in a sentence.

JRutledge Sat Mar 25, 2017 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1003438)
Young guns, like JRutledge, say "No problem". Old farts like me, say, "You're welcome". Ain't it funny how language changes right before our eyes (or our ears)?

Note: Please don't tell my Mom, or Mr. Baumgartner, my high school sophomore English teacher, that I used "ain't" in a sentence.

Nomination for the "Doing Too Much" Countdown!!!

Peace

SC Official Sat Mar 25, 2017 05:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by thedewed (Post 1003437)
there are plays where b/c opportunities should be no calls, and this is one of them. if the defender is there and set in time, but the ballhandler gets his torso past, then it can be a no call. You sure shouldn't call a block, as a defender that is set in legal guarding position has no obligation to move out of the way. This particular play that is best result, next best would be charge.

I stopped reading when I saw this word.

Badgerfan2 Sat Mar 25, 2017 06:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003372)
Specific time please. That these are too general.

Peace

Sorry about that. Looks like you've already got two of them. The first one was called an offensive foul on Nigel Hayes at 4:25 of the first half.

One other one - Khalil Iverson #21 appears to be tripped by #13 of florida, 9:34 wnd half Ball called out of bounds. If it is incidental is it not still a foul?

JRutledge Sat Mar 25, 2017 07:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Badgerfan2 (Post 1003452)
Sorry about that. Looks like you've already got two of them. The first one was called an offensive foul on Nigel Hayes at 4:25 of the first half.

I was watching the game and got this play. I will post it later.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Badgerfan2 (Post 1003452)
One other one - Khalil Iverson #21 appears to be tripped by #13 of florida, 9:34 wnd half Ball called out of bounds. If it is incidental is it not still a foul?

I did not think this was a foul. If the contact in incidental, that means it is not a foul. That is what incidental contact actually means.

Peace

JRutledge Sat Mar 25, 2017 07:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Badgerfan2 (Post 1003452)
Sorry about that. Looks like you've already got two of them. The first one was called an offensive foul on Nigel Hayes at 4:25 of the first half.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/gUA9U7lMAds" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Sat Mar 25, 2017 08:00pm

More random
 
Play #7:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/nanxmohwcdk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #8:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/bUeyWwI-YpE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #9

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/X4mfDnWAWgM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #10

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/PxaHCXHINP4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Sat Mar 25, 2017 08:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Badgerfan2 (Post 1003452)
Khalil Iverson #21 appears to be tripped by #13 of florida, 9:34 wnd half Ball called out of bounds. If it is incidental is it not still a foul?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/boMJMpNmMzM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

ODog Sat Mar 25, 2017 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Badgerfan2 (Post 1003452)
One other one - Khalil Iverson #21 appears to be tripped by #13 of florida, 9:34 wnd half Ball called out of bounds.

It's amazing how fandom can cause people to hallucinate.

He tripped ... but he wasn't tripped. Falling down is falling down.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1