The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NIT: Illinois at UCF video request (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102455-nit-illinois-ucf-video-request.html)

Nevadaref Wed Mar 22, 2017 06:46pm

NIT: Illinois at UCF video request
 
Charging foul called with 1 second remaining in the first half.
The officials did not count the basket.
Was that the correct decision?

JRutledge Wed Mar 22, 2017 07:12pm

Without seeing the video, you cannot count a basket on a charge. The rule is the same as the NF rule now.

Peace

Nevadaref Wed Mar 22, 2017 07:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003169)
Without seeing the video, you cannot count a basket on a charge. The rule is the same as the NF rule now.

Ok, must have been one of the changes prior to last season.

BillyMac Wed Mar 22, 2017 08:22pm

Gender Equity ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003169)
The rule is the same as the NF rule now.

Both NCAA men and women? No more count the basket and let's go shoot one and one down the other end?

JRutledge Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:18pm

Here is the play.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/bWJGLZ6PPIc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

bucky Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:37pm

Like the defender, I am leaning towards a block. But, that was not the topic of the OP. Indeed, PC foul negates basket.

JRutledge Thu Mar 23, 2017 12:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1003177)
Like the defender, I am leaning towards a block. But, that was not the topic of the OP. Indeed, PC foul negates basket.

It is not like this would be the first time we talked about something else on one of these videos. That being said, since we cleared up the rule change, if you want to talk about that part, then talk about it.

Peace

bucky Thu Mar 23, 2017 12:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003178)
It is not like this would be the first time we talked about something else on one of these videos. That being said, since we cleared up the rule change, if you want to talk about that part, then talk about it.

Peace

I paused the vid at 20, when I feel the shooter began the gather/shot. Defender moves both feet and then we have a collision. Tough call in my opinion and can't argue either way. Again, I'm thinking block. Now, what really bugs me is the L rotating when he did. If the L stays, I think the L has a much better view than the calling official.

AremRed Thu Mar 23, 2017 01:06am

Wth is Lead doing??

Camron Rust Thu Mar 23, 2017 02:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1003180)
I paused the vid at 20, when I feel the shooter began the gather/shot. Defender moves both feet and then we have a collision. Tough call in my opinion and can't argue either way. Again, I'm thinking block. Now, what really bugs me is the L rotating when he did. If the L stays, I think the L has a much better view than the calling official.

How does the shooter beginning the gather/shot matter? The defender is only required to have LGP before the shooter leaves the floor which is well after the gather and start of the shooting motion.

Also, why does a defender moving his feet matter? The defender isn't required to be stationary but is simply required to be in the path. Subsequent foot movement that doesn't move the defender into the path and doesn't move the defender towards the opponent is not illegal. The defender could do the jitterbug as long as he meets the other criteria.

I do have this as a block because I do believe the defender not only moved his feet but in doing so moved INTO the path of the shooter after the shooter was airborne. That is what makes it a block.

BionicBanana Thu Mar 23, 2017 05:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1003181)
Wth is Lead doing??

Curious to what happened prior to start of video? The "true" C is at half court and T is at free throw line extended, right or wrong I think this is why L felt need to rotate completely away from play that came right at him. Just curious

Pantherdreams Thu Mar 23, 2017 07:20am

I like the charge call here.

The player does move once the player is airborne but its a side step to ensure that his chest is what takes the players body not his shoulder or head (also to ensure that the contact is not glancing if the offensive player contorts). He can move to protect himself. He does not establish a new spot or move into a new path once the player is airborne, just repositions himself within the spot he's already claimed. ie. he got narrower

jpgc99 Thu Mar 23, 2017 07:56am

Block. Defender moves forward and into the shooter after the offensive player is airborne.

JRutledge Thu Mar 23, 2017 11:49am

Here is the very next play (Video)
 
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/zd6zdDv0AgM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

jpgc99 Thu Mar 23, 2017 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1003215)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/zd6zdDv0AgM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

No foul. No travel. Correct no call.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1