The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Sunday March 19 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102432-ncaa-tournament-video-requests-sunday-march-19-a.html)

ODog Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1002894)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/S5d470zFEC4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

In HS, this is not basket interference. This is a technical foul. Is the rule different in NCAAM?

Nevadaref Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1002914)
Second half

1:56 block called

1:40-something foul called by C opposite side of court

1:01 designated spot violation and official gives travel mechanic

1. If this is the block in the middle of the FT lane against SC, then it was a wonderful call. The defender moved in late after the offensive player had become airborne.
Edit: Nope, just saw the video. That is the one on the endline. PC was the proper call imo. The play in thinking of occurred about a minute prior and was on a drive down the middle of the lane.

2. Tough to come that far in front of a partner for something that is debatable.

3. Surprisingly, Mike Reed is an extreme rules guy.

Johnny Ringo Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 1002922)
In HS, this is not basket interference. This is a technical foul. Is the rule different in NCAAM?

If you notice the C official he is making a signal for a technical foul.

JRutledge Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 1002896)
UNC Arkansas. 48 seconds left in 2nd. No call on block/charge

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1002899)
TNT
North Carolina v Arkansas
About 45 seconds left
Block/charge/travel. #2v#2

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/qNKtP024_wc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1002899)
25.2 remaining
Foul or vertical defenders

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/b1hpobjjHzI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 1002897)
Arkansas/NC 2:15 of the second half. Is this not a travel you would call in a jr. high game? I thought I was seeing it called tighter this year, but......

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/FSkQb6Z6aiA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

MechanicGuy Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 1002921)
Did he? I was watching and thought I just saw him correctly whistle the violation and point to the end line. I know the announcers talked about "a travel" being called, but I guess I missed the travel signal being used.

He did it real briefly, and honestly looked like he didn't want to :o

JRutledge Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1002914)
Second half

1:56 block called

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Zva9hIefMxw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1002914)
1:40-something foul called by C opposite side of court

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/J6s0eVDEtBU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1002914)
1:01 designated spot violation and official gives travel mechanic

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/n2Hh3mX9_TY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

AremRed Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 1002926)
If you notice the C official he is making a signal for a technical foul.

Are you sure about that?

AremRed Mon Mar 20, 2017 01:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1002923)
3. Surprisingly, Mike Reed is an extreme rules guy.

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 1002929)
He did it real briefly, and honestly looked like he didn't want to :o

Yeah I think this play probably surprised him and he gave an abnormal signal cuz he didn't know how else to communicate it.

Also, what is up with Duke and throw-in violations?? :D

JRutledge Mon Mar 20, 2017 01:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 1002906)
PC foul 1:38 left URI/Oregon

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/1ATEieoYsHE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Camron Rust Mon Mar 20, 2017 04:24am

No. The defender leaned into the shooter's path after the shooter was airborne.

ballgame99 Mon Mar 20, 2017 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1002927)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/qNKtP024_wc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>



<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/b1hpobjjHzI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>



<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/FSkQb6Z6aiA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

First one is a PC, or a travel, but definitely not nothing. Defender looks to establish LGP and is not coming forward. Then A1 travels.

Second play looks like a foul on both defenders, take your pick. Neither one maintains verticality. There's nothing wrong with a double whistle on that play in the middle of the lane, especially with two defenders converging on one shooter is there?

third play, is a travel in slow mo, but I certainly didn't raise an eyebrow to it live.

bucky Mon Mar 20, 2017 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 1003000)

Second play looks like a foul on both defenders, take your pick. Neither one maintains verticality. There's nothing wrong with a double whistle on that play in the middle of the lane, especially with two defenders converging on one shooter is there?

- Take your pick? Why not follow the rules and call a multiple foul? oh yea, see tagline.:cool:

1) I like hand check on initial dribble. OK, they don't call that so, I got a block on collision. (looks as if I am in minority on that)

2) Foul on double teaming defender. Arms are angled down creating initial contact.

3) Technical travel. L cannot see ball control(up top) and feet(below) in this case. T reffing passer/defender and screened.

Dale3 Mon Mar 20, 2017 05:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 1002922)
In HS, this is not basket interference. This is a technical foul. Is the rule different in NCAAM?

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1002894)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/S5d470zFEC4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Can someone confirm / deny that this was correctly ruled BI per NCAAM rules?

We seem to have agreement that in HS this is a Technical, not BI. And as Johnny Ringo points out, the C does appear to be signaling a T.

BillyMac Mon Mar 20, 2017 05:53pm

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dale3 (Post 1003018)
We seem to have agreement that in HS this is a Technical, not BI.

NFHS Player Technical Foul: A player shall not: Illegally contact the backboard/ring by: Placing a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage.

It's the "Ralph Sampson Rule".

https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.n...=0&w=300&h=300

Camron Rust Mon Mar 20, 2017 06:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dale3 (Post 1003018)
Can someone confirm / deny that this was correctly ruled BI per NCAAM rules?

We seem to have agreement that in HS this is a Technical, not BI. And as Johnny Ringo points out, the C does appear to be signaling a T.

Same rule in both.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1