![]() |
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Saturday March 18
I will be gone again and will not be back until Sunday.
So let us start a thread with this play on it. I will try to get all the plays up when I get home. Peace |
Wisconsin-Villanova
15:33 second half. Block/Charge on a fast break |
CBS
Wisconsin v Villanova 2nd half 36.4 seconds left This is a team control foul!!! Hope the crew gets this right. Nope, they blew it and awarded FTs. A critical mistake. |
Quote:
|
And actually not even that hard of a determination. They huddled for a long time and got it wrong.
|
Quote:
|
I am even more surprised by this incorrect interpretation because NCAA-M emphasized team control fouls in situations exactly like this during multiple in-season training videos this season.
|
Quote:
This crew didn't have a great game overall. They got their share of calls correct, but had other strange moments. For example, there was a play in the 2nd half in which the Lead called a held ball while both the C and T were whistling a foul against Wisconsin. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I have plenty of deficiencies, but for some reason, this is one type of play I am pretty good at recognizing but I have a LOT of partners who struggle with it. A number of times I have come in as one of the non-calling officials and asked about team control (or told them if I happened to see the whole play), and they frequently seem like they hadn't even considered that we shouldn't be going to shoot free throws on the other end. |
Well, about 4:50 to go in the NW/Gonzaga game and there is a Zag player that blocks a shot by going through the hoop. Collins becomes unglued and runs on the court to receive immediate T. Officials totally missed the BI but Collins had no right to act that way, especially after his behavior earlier. Got too much of his dad in him, lol.
|
You could clip the last 10 minutes of the Gonzaga/Northwestern game. Two observations. Missed a hand through the goal for a blocked shot, and it took way to long to deal with Collins.
|
Quote:
https://twitter.com/lukewinn/status/...rc=twsrc%5Etfw |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
1. The player reached out with his arm as he ran by, not a grab from behind. 2. The other player really didn't have an obvious advantage...he was chasing a ball that was going quite likely going OOB. Of course, my point #2 is in contradiction with the fact that they deemed the Villanova player to have obtained control. And I agree this crew have a rough game. I think there were several misses. However, the biggest ones I can think of favored Villanova. So, that certainly didn't cost them the game. |
One and only one warning -- and the person receiving it knows who he is.
Next time, you can sit out the rest of the tourney again. Let it go. |
Quote:
|
JRut, didn't want to start a new thread without your blessing, so here's a video request from March 19:
Michigan-Louisville, second half, 5:30 left. Louisville player blows a dunk but remains hanging on the rim in order to help corral the rebound. Officials ruled BI, but nothing more. In HS, you could argue this was 10-4-4a (placing a hand on the ring to gain an advantage). Is the rule different in NCAAM, or were the officials likely going with the least disruptive call in a tight game? |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Then the RA rule says: Quote:
Quote:
|
Agree with Rust on the rule. Disagree about where he established LGP. I think his right foot is on the line when he established.
|
Quote:
When the ball handler crosses the 3-pt line (pause vid at :08), do you feel that the defender is in LGP? At the same time, do you feel that the defender is still a secondary defender? IMO, the defender established LGP well before the contact and at contact was considered to be a primary defender. (for outnumbering fast-breaks, defensive players are secondary defenders initially). I know why they called this a block however I feel it should have been PC. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Excellent rules point stated by Camron and backed by BNR.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
#2: I think it is a Block regardless because he slid to his left after A1 was airborne. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
In such cases, the officials probably need to ask themselves, "Did the player dribble the ball?" |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Funny I can see the video. Peace |
Use this link and forward to 8:25. You can see the play that way.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mRTHabd0Gm0 IMO - Clearly not a dribble and clearly a TC foul. Also, clearly intentional foul on reach/grab. Ergo, crew did not adjudicate play correctly...twice. (guess that is one reason why I am home at desk and not reffing the tourney;)) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If you replay a video of the game, you can see and hear Driscoll give this statement. |
Does anybody here see anything that established team control?? I don't.
They said they used reply and called it control, what am I missing? IMO, The touch is a "bat or tip" not a dribble. I can see getting confused in the heat of the moment, but with reply...... |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
LOL...see the Art Hyland play quoted above. Apparently, you're misunderstanding the rulings or the reason for the rulings. And you have it backwards....the "gotcha" is calling such a player with a block when they deserved a charge just because he ended up with a heel on the line. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
When you start working in the games I work, maybe I can worry about what you think of Art Hyland or what we were told at the pre-season meetings. Peace |
Same thing I said in the other thread.
I don't care about resumes, what either of you work, none of that crap. None of that impresses me nor should it. Be nice to each other or ignore each other or something before a moderator needs to get involved further. I'm closing this thread, too. If someone wants to post videos, open another one. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07pm. |