The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Big Ten tournament plays (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102377-big-ten-tournament-plays.html)

Nevadaref Fri Mar 10, 2017 04:03pm

Big Ten tournament plays
 
I'll start a thread for this because I don't see one for this conference already.
Michigan State v Minnesota on ESPN.
A.
16:17 left in the 2nd half. Foul called after blocked shot. Good play for discussion of what is incidental contact following a cleanly blocked ball and what isn't.
B.
The steal and "360" dunk by Michigan State around 18:00 left in the 2nd half & replay of this from above just before the U16 media timeout.
Questions: by rule did he travel? would you call it?

crosscountry55 Fri Mar 10, 2017 09:47pm

Play #2
 
3/10/17 - Northwestern vs. Maryland. B1G Network. 5:50, 1st Half.

B/C play called block by lead. I thought it was a great call, announcers (and of course the defender's bench) disagreed.

One of those cases where the defender had a LGP but didn't maintain it because the defender's vertical plane was still moving into the ball handler at the point of contact. Very subtle, but picked up very well by the lead. Figured it was worth a discussion here.

bucky Sat Mar 11, 2017 02:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1002054)
I'll start a thread for this because I don't see one for this conference already.
Michigan State v Minnesota on ESPN.
A.
16:17 left in the 2nd half. Foul called after blocked shot. Good play for discussion of what is incidental contact following a cleanly blocked ball and what isn't.
B.
The steal and "360" dunk by Michigan State around 18:00 left in the 2nd half & replay of this from above just before the U16 media timeout.
Questions: by rule did he travel? would you call it?

After only watching highlight, it did appear to be a technical travel. Would have to watch in slo-mo to be sure. Pretty quick move. I would not have called travel on that play.

JRutledge Sat Mar 11, 2017 02:20pm

I have the play and will be posted it later.

Only talking about the first play from Nevada. I do not have the second situation right now. Working on it.

Peace

JRutledge Mon Mar 13, 2017 02:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1002054)
Michigan State v Minnesota on ESPN.
A.
16:17 left in the 2nd half. Foul called after blocked shot. Good play for discussion of what is incidental contact following a cleanly blocked ball and what isn't.

Play #1:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/vPVGLqNfewA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1002054)
B.
The steal and "360" dunk by Michigan State around 18:00 left in the 2nd half & replay of this from above just before the U16 media timeout.
Questions: by rule did he travel? would you call it?

Play #2:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/L4lXlLkqNWk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Mon Mar 13, 2017 02:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 1002071)
3/10/17 - Northwestern vs. Maryland. B1G Network. 5:50, 1st Half.

B/C play called block by lead. I thought it was a great call, announcers (and of course the defender's bench) disagreed.

One of those cases where the defender had a LGP but didn't maintain it because the defender's vertical plane was still moving into the ball handler at the point of contact. Very subtle, but picked up very well by the lead. Figured it was worth a discussion here.

If this game is online somewhere I can get this play. Unfortunately I missed this game on the DVR.

Peace

Camron Rust Mon Mar 13, 2017 03:10am

Play #1. In addition to the discussion of how much contact to allow after a block, this could even be considered one of the rare cases where a double foul might be the right call. Both clubbed each other in the face. Even if you don't want call both, the offensive player was clearing out and hit the defender's face first and hit him pretty good. That should have been called and that would make the ball dead. The subsequent foul would have technically happened after the ball was dead but would have been close enough to consider it approximately the same time.

Play #2. Yes, it is definitely a travel. But I'll admit that I have not called that on more than one occasion even when I've seen it.

JRutledge Mon Mar 13, 2017 03:46am

Play #3:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/65jhNS_VBHI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

nolanjj68 Mon Mar 13, 2017 05:12am

Play #3- boy from the play in real time I thought for sure it was a foul. Then the other angles it looks like he didn't touch him. The last slo mo looks to me like he displaced him however. I go with foul.

FYI- I was at the Big 10 Tournament this weekend and that official was one of the best IMO. He officiated the final yesterday.

nolanjj68 Mon Mar 13, 2017 05:17am

Play #1- incidental contact by the offensive player. Foul by the defensive player.

diehardmason Mon Mar 13, 2017 06:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by nolanjj68 (Post 1002216)
Play #1- incidental contact by the offensive player. Foul by the defensive player.

I agree. I think that was a continuous motion from the shot.

Raymond Mon Mar 13, 2017 08:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1002212)
Play #1. In addition to the discussion of how much contact to allow after a block, this could even be considered one of the rare cases where a double foul might be the right call. Both clubbed each other in the face. Even if you don't want call both, the offensive player was clearing out and hit the defender's face first and hit him pretty good. That should have been called and that would make the ball dead. The subsequent foul would have technically happened after the ball was dead but would have been close enough to consider it approximately the same time.

...

I was just about to post the same thing that this could be a double foul. The contact by the offensive player is most definitely not just incidental. It is just as significant as the contact he received from the defensive player.

JRutledge Mon Mar 13, 2017 03:49pm

Play #4:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/uzeBQIzsi7Q" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Nevadaref Mon Mar 13, 2017 03:57pm

Play #4 = correct call, but boy did the new Lead get caught WAY behind this play. He is merely one step ahead of the C and hasn't yet reached the 28-foot mark when the ball comes loose. Tough position for that play.

JRutledge Wed Mar 15, 2017 07:30pm

Plays I did not have time to post earlier. Let me know what you think.

Play #5:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/tqAovazgN34" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #6:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/9uYLLiTcix8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #7:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/OEOwusakGr4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

crosscountry55 Wed Mar 15, 2017 09:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1002550)
Plays I did not have time to post earlier. Let me know what you think.



Play #5:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/tqAovazgN34" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>



Play #6:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/9uYLLiTcix8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>



Play #7:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/OEOwusakGr4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>



Peace



5: Had to watch it 10 times, but CC I think. First aspect is "where did the dribble end?" Some could argue that he was fumbling the gather so long that both feet were airborne when he finally secured control. I would disagree, though, as I feel the dribble ended while his right foot was still touching (pivot established). Then the next aspect is did that right foot (left foot came back down first but that's irrelevant) come back down before the pass. Ever so close, but I think it did. Travel. A no call here would not have been the worst ever.

6: No brainer.

7: Flopping 301.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JRutledge Wed Mar 15, 2017 09:24pm

Play #8:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/YcXglakFxyc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Camron Rust Wed Mar 15, 2017 10:34pm

Play 5: CC.....not only did he land, but one foot was flat on the floor and the 2nd foot was at the point of touching before he released the ball.


Play 6: CC...the extra footwork allowed the shooter create the space he needed to get the open shot.

Play 7. CNC...not even close. I had essentially the same thing in a playoff game last year with seconds to go. The only difference is that the player in my game got in my face screaming about not calling the foul....so I called a foul, just not the one he wanted.

Play 8. If I'm not calling a foul on the W12 for hooking his off arm around B5, I'm sure not calling B5 for pushing W12.

bucky Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:14pm

5) Travel
6) Travel
7) Oh Miles, what are you doing?
8) Play on


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1