The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Putting Ball In Play-After Made Basket (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102302-putting-ball-play-after-made-basket.html)

The_Rookie Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:49am

Putting Ball In Play-After Made Basket
 
State Playoff Game...with 1.5 seconds left B1 drains a 3 to tie the game. After made basket, A1 grabs the ball but does not step out of bounds to put the ball in play but simply starts dribbling up the court.

In a 9 yr old Rec league I would stop play and tell the little guy to put the ball in play properly.

In a state playoff game how would you handle?

Do we have a throw in violation?

Thanks!

bob jenkins Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 1000941)
State Playoff Game...with 1.5 seconds left B1 drains a 3 to tie the game. After made basket, A1 grabs the ball but does not step out of bounds to put the ball in play but simply starts dribbling up the court.

In a 9 yr old Rec league I would stop play and tell the little guy to put the ball in play properly.

In a state playoff game how would you handle?

Do we have a throw in violation?

Thanks!

Yes, it's a violation. Immediately.

It's been discussed here before

Adam Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:57am

Immediate violation (there's a case play or interpretation) as soon as you recognize what is happening. B ball.

The_Rookie Thu Feb 23, 2017 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 1000943)
Immediate violation (there's a case play or interpretation) as soon as you recognize what is happening. B ball.

Some of my fellow refs are doubters...Could you direct me to the caseplay or prior posting on this topic...Thanks

ballgame99 Thu Feb 23, 2017 04:40pm

Surely the clock ran out before the ball hit A1's hands?!

Adam Thu Feb 23, 2017 05:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 1000991)
Surely the clock ran out before the ball hit A1's hands?!

Depends on how the OP intended it all. Sometimes, they mean there were 1.5 seconds left when A1 got the ball in his hands, others they refer to the time when the ball went through the basket. I assumed there was time left when A1 got the ball, even if it wasn't a full 1.5.

BillyMac Thu Feb 23, 2017 05:23pm

Doubting Thomas ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 1000989)
Some of my fellow refs are doubters...Could you direct me to the caseplay or prior posting on this topic..

9.2.2 SITUATION C: A1 scores a basket. After the ball goes through the net, B1
grabs it and makes a move toward the end line as though preparing to make a
throw-in. However, B1 never legally steps out of bounds, both feet remain
inbounds. B1 immediately passes the ball up the court to a fast-breaking teammate,
who scores a basket. RULING: Cancel Team B's goal, throw-in violation on
B1. The ball was at B1's disposal after the made basket to make a throw-in. B1
must be out of bounds to make a legal throw-in. (7-4-3; 7-5-7)

Adam Thu Feb 23, 2017 05:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 1000989)
Some of my fellow refs are doubters...Could you direct me to the caseplay or prior posting on this topic...Thanks

See Billy's post.

They really should get into the case book before spouting off. :)

The_Rookie Thu Feb 23, 2017 09:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1000998)
9.2.2 SITUATION C: A1 scores a basket. After the ball goes through the net, B1
grabs it and makes a move toward the end line as though preparing to make a
throw-in. However, B1 never legally steps out of bounds, both feet remain
inbounds. B1 immediately passes the ball up the court to a fast-breaking teammate,
who scores a basket. RULING: Cancel Team B's goal, throw-in violation on
B1. The ball was at B1's disposal after the made basket to make a throw-in. B1
must be out of bounds to make a legal throw-in. (7-4-3; 7-5-7)

Thanks B Mac...That should quiet down the doubters:)

MelbRef Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:08pm

The case play has the player passing to a teammate.
We've all seen momentary confusion after a made basket.

I wonder how we would rule if the player got the ball at 1.5 sec and...

1) just stood there inbounds, holding the ball, as the clock ran out.

2) ...or stood there inbounds dribbling in place, as the clock ran out.

3) ...or stood inbounds and slowly dribbled toward his bench as the clock ran out.

Different shades of grey?

bob jenkins Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MelbRef (Post 1001268)
The case play has the player passing to a teammate.
We've all seen momentary confusion after a made basket.

I wonder how we would rule if the player got the ball at 1.5 sec and...

1) just stood there inbounds, holding the ball, as the clock ran out.

2) ...or stood there inbounds dribbling in place, as the clock ran out.

3) ...or stood inbounds and slowly dribbled toward his bench as the clock ran out.

Different shades of grey?

Sometimes you need to officiate.

And, in the plays above, it might depend on the score. In the OP, the score was tied and the team was trying to advance the ball quickly to get off a shot. Don't let them have that advantage. If both teams are happy going to OT, or if A is up and B is out of TOs, then with 1.5, you can probably let time expire.

Raymond Mon Feb 27, 2017 03:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 1000943)
Immediate violation (there's a case play or interpretation) as soon as you recognize what is happening. B ball.

My recognition will take at least 1.5 seconds on this play.

bucky Mon Feb 27, 2017 10:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1001270)
Sometimes you need to officiate.

And, in the plays above, it might depend on the score. In the OP, the score was tied and the team was trying to advance the ball quickly to get off a shot. Don't let them have that advantage. If both teams are happy going to OT, or if A is up and B is out of TOs, then with 1.5, you can probably let time expire.

I read nothing of the team trying to "advance the ball quickly to get off a shot" in the OP. Also, I do not feel that this is a violation "immediately". There are too many things we do not know about the scenario in the OP. The cited case play is pretty obvious as to what the team is doing. They grab the ball, step towards the endline, and start quickly advancing the ball while not going fully out of bounds for the throw-in. Clearly the team attempted to take it out of bounds but did not fully do so. I think we have all had that play at one point, at least if you have a few years of officiating experience. That case is not the OP. Now, regarding the OP and the other listed plays, there are many reasons why the players would take a dribble up court. Maybe he was just about to give the ball to a teammate to inbound. Maybe he thought the time expired. Who knows? Anyway, once he has it, start a count. By the time you get to a second arm swing, time expires anyway. So what is the big deal with that? What else are you going to do, whistle a violation before the 1.5 seconds expires, put time on the clock after a conference with your partners(or go to monitor for some states), explain the call to the coaches, and give the ball to the other team with a chance to win? Seems like a silly way to handle it. Rather, be patient, let the time expire, and head to OT.

(I know, fine coming for number of words in a post):o


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1