The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Louisville @ North Carolina plays (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102300-louisville-north-carolina-plays-video.html)

JRutledge Wed Feb 22, 2017 10:38pm

Louisville @ North Carolina plays (Video)
 
Play #1:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/aGyKGvA0cz0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #2:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/tKHKQJXY7go" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Play #3:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/PlFC4psYJu4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


Peace

AremRed Wed Feb 22, 2017 10:43pm

Play 1: No travel, right foot is pivot.

Play 2: No foul, defender makes contact with the ball first and the rest of the contact is incidental.

Play 3: A player is clearly requesting timeout but the official cannot take his eyes off the play. Unfortunate, perhaps the other officials could have helped.

Rich Wed Feb 22, 2017 10:49pm

On #1, I think it's pretty clear watching the video that the left foot's the pivot and he returns it to the floor.

JRutledge Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:03pm

Play 4 & 5:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/JGxq5H3KLwc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:35pm

Play #6:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/SP1TbRnHgGw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Camron Rust Thu Feb 23, 2017 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 1000923)
On #1, I think it's pretty clear watching the video that the left foot's the pivot and he returns it to the floor.

Agree...the ball was clearly at rest in his hand when the left was the pivot.

#2, no call is OK, the ball was already bounding away and he was not going to get to it. The contact was incidental.

#3, that official had the worst case of tunnel vision. The player did everything he could to request the timeout short of smacking the official in the face. That should have been a timeout.

#4, yes, it was a travel, but very subtle. Not likely called.

#5. Defender didn't have LGP, first contact would have been a block. Then the the shooter pushed off. Hard to call the push off if not calling the block.

#6. The official was inbounds. It was close, but I think it should have been Louisville's ball since there was an inadvertent whistle before NC gained control of the ball.

Da Official Thu Feb 23, 2017 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1000958)
Agree...the ball was clearly at rest in his hand when the left was the pivot.

#2, no call is OK, the ball was already bounding away and he was not going to get to it. The contact was incidental.

#3, that official had the worst case of tunnel vision. The player did everything he could to request the timeout short of smacking the official in the face. That should have been a timeout.

#4, yes, it was a travel, but very subtle. Not likely called.

#5. Defender didn't have LGP, first contact would have been a block. Then the the shooter pushed off. Hard to call the push off if not calling the block.

#6. The official was inbounds. It was close, but I think it should have been Louisville's ball since there was an inadvertent whistle before NC gained control of the ball.

Agree with Cam on every call...:)

OKREF Thu Feb 23, 2017 02:38pm

On 6, he doesn't blow his whistle until the NC player has the ball. Isn't that why NC gets the ball, otherwise the IW would have been a loose ball and Louisville would have retained possession.

youngump Thu Feb 23, 2017 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1000958)
#6. The official was inbounds. It was close, but I think it should have been Louisville's ball since there was an inadvertent whistle before NC gained control of the ball.

Is whether the ball was out reviewable on video? It wasn't an inadvertent whistle, just a wrong one.

OKREF Thu Feb 23, 2017 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 1000982)
Is whether the ball was out reviewable on video? It wasn't an inadvertent whistle, just a wrong one.

He thought he was OOB, points NC direction, points at Louisville player and says off him. They went to video to see if he was OOB. This has to be ruled as an inadvertent whistle for NC to get the ball back.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1