![]() |
Dribble question
A1 and B1 are both chasing down a long rebound. A1 slaps the ball to the floor once and then gathers it with both hands and stops. He then dribbles.
Legal or double dribble? |
4.15 COMMENT:
It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble. A player is not dribbling while slapping the ball during a jump, when a pass rebounds from his/her hand, when he/she fumbles, or when he/she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control under these conditions. It is a dribble when a player stands still and bounces the ball. It is not a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches it to the floor once or more than once. |
I'd suggest you loot at it this way: was the slap to the floor a controlled dribble? If so, you would have a double dribble. If not, the the player only dribbled once, and there is no violation. I would think the latter is the more common occurrence (as suggested by neevadaref's post).
|
Quote:
That is, it could be either depending on whether the official judges the "slap" to be a dribble or to be "batting the ball away from an opponent" (or whatever the specific rules wording is. |
When a player who does not have control of the ball slaps, taps, or bats a loose ball, I have always taught to error on the side of no PC of the ball.
MTD, Sr. |
What's Up Doc ???
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Complete judgment call. Sometimes players sticks their hands out and never have control of the ball and it hits the floor. I would likely not call anything unless I am sure they had the ball. Usually these situations the player never has the ball in their control. Play on.
Peace |
You could judge this to be a dribble, and the rules wouldn't really contradict you, but don't be a Lone Ranger here.
|
As described in the OP (ie two players going for a loose ball) that tap is more than likely not going to be controlled enough to call it a dribble.
|
Here's a play where it would be a double dribble on this type of thing. He tapped it away from the defender a first time, then a second time, pushed it to the floor then gathered the ball. Then dribbled. So you can say that he had control after the first tap.
Go to the 20:23 mark https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GeGuKZtAxyc |
Quote:
Though going on the topic of the discussion, first tap doesn't appear to be control, second is much closer to control than not. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46pm. |