The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Resumption of play question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102186-resumption-play-question.html)

rockchalk jhawk Mon Jan 30, 2017 11:16am

Resumption of play question
 
NCAAM

A1 goes up for a dunk, and misses. The ball comes off of the rim. A1, while still grasping the rim with his left hand reaches out with his right where he grabs the ball and it lands in his palm. He's clearly in control of the ball.

So we've got a class B on A1 for using the rim to gain an advantage. How do we resume play. I know that resumption of play on a class B is POI, but the POI here occurred with A1 in possession of the ball. We can't just shoot one FT and then give the ball back to A for a baseline throw in under their basket, can we? But I don't see in the rules book a justification for anything else. I've stumped a number of guys with this. Thoughts?

deecee Mon Jan 30, 2017 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockchalk jhawk (Post 998876)
NCAAM

A1 goes up for a dunk, and misses. The ball comes off of the rim. A1, while still grasping the rim with his left hand reaches out with his right where he grabs the ball and it lands in his palm. He's clearly in control of the ball.

So we've got a class B on A1 for using the rim to gain an advantage. How do we resume play. I know that resumption of play on a class B is POI, but the POI here occurred with A1 in possession of the ball. We can't just shoot one FT and then give the ball back to A for a baseline throw in under their basket, can we? But I don't see in the rules book a justification for anything else. I've stumped a number of guys with this. Thoughts?

It's POI. What you think is fair is irrelevant.

BigCat Mon Jan 30, 2017 01:44pm

[QUOTE=rockchalk jhawk;998876]NCAAM

A1 goes up for a dunk, and misses. The ball comes off of the rim. A1, while still grasping the rim with his left hand reaches out with his right where he grabs the ball and it lands in his palm. He's clearly in control of the ball.

So we've got a class B on A1 for using the rim to gain an advantage. How do we resume play. I know that resumption of play on a class B is POI, but the POI here occurred with A1 in possession of the ball. We can't just shoot one FT and then give the ball back to A for a baseline throw in under their basket, can we? But I don't see in the rules book a justification for anything else. I've stumped a number of guys with this. Thoughts?[/QUOT

I think when he starts reaching for the ball while still hanging on rim is when you can say it's excessive. There's no control at that time so have to go to arrow.

bucky Mon Jan 30, 2017 02:24pm

The infraction is grasping the rim, which sounds to me, occurred before possession of the ball. No team control during infraction so go to A/P.

My cent.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1