The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable Error or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102178-correctable-error-not.html)

Ref24 Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:15pm

Correctable Error or not?
 
Here is the situation I was asked about. A1 picks up foul #5 and is waiting on a sub to come into the game. The officials get in a hurry and shoot the 1st free throw before the sub properly enters the game. Is this a correctable error or not? Do you take that made free throw off the scoreboard since the substitute has not properly entered the game.

SC Official Fri Jan 27, 2017 11:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref24 (Post 998801)
Here is the situation I was asked about. A1 picks up foul #5 and is waiting on a sub to come into the game. The officials get in a hurry and shoot the 1st free throw before the sub properly enters the game. Is this a correctable error or not? Do you take that made free throw off the scoreboard since the substitute has not properly entered the game.

Awarding an unmerited free throw is a CE. This free throw was not unmerited, so it's not a CE.

A player is not disqualified until the coach is informed of the disqualification.

BigCat Sat Jan 28, 2017 12:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref24 (Post 998801)
Here is the situation I was asked about. A1 picks up foul #5 and is waiting on a sub to come into the game. The officials get in a hurry and shoot the 1st free throw before the sub properly enters the game. Is this a correctable error or not? Do you take that made free throw off the scoreboard since the substitute has not properly entered the game.

Correctable errors,
Failure award merited FT.
Awarding unmerited FT
FT by wrong player or
At wrong basket.
Erroneously Counting or cancelling a score.

This isn't correctable error. It's an official's error. Play in casebook.

BillyMac Sat Jan 28, 2017 12:27pm

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
4.14.1 SITUATION C: A1 is fouled by B2 and is awarded two free throws. The
foul is B2's fifth foul. The new trail official reports the fifth foul to Team B's coach.
Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits A1 to attempt the
first free throw. The officials realize the error and huddle to discuss the situation.
RULING: The result of the first attempt shall stand. Team B's head coach shall be
notified of B2's disqualification. Once B2 has been replaced, A1 shall attempt the
second free throw. COMMENT: This is an official's error and not a correctable
error situation according to Rule 2-10. (6-1-2c; 10-5-2; 2-8-3)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1