The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2017, 03:36pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
It's a travel. Actually, it's two travels in one.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2017, 03:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Indiana
Posts: 163
I was reading some comments about it and most felt it wasn't a travel. Admittedly, As I watched in real time, it was difficult for me to catch the left foot becoming the pivot foot. As a slowed it down and replayed it, I thought that was the case and then he took RF, LF steps.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2017, 04:52pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
I got him traveling once clearly in live time. I do not know about the second time, but I stopped trying to pay attention after the first move.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2017, 04:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 536
Left foot pivot foot, travel. Count how many steps he takes before actually releasing the dribble and you have another reason to call a violation. Good call.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2017, 05:01pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by UNIgiantslayers View Post
Left foot pivot foot, travel. Count how many steps he takes before actually releasing the dribble and you have another reason to call a violation. Good call.
Good officials don't count steps.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2017, 05:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
Good officials don't count steps.
Rich types faster than me, and makes his points more succinctly.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2017, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
Good officials don't count steps.
Correct. Which is why I used the terminology in the rule book at the beginning of my post. The steps comment is for the fellas on here that like to come in and complain about officials, dont know the rulebook, and scream 3 seconds during every rebounding action.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2017, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by UNIgiantslayers View Post
Left foot pivot foot, travel. Count how many steps he takes before actually releasing the dribble and you have another reason to call a violation. Good call.
Correct, if not for the wrong reason. Step-counters generally make more mistakes on travel calls. It's not about steps. It's about establishing a pivot foot (or disallowing yourself one, like after a jump stop) and what they can or cannot do once that happens.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2017, 05:08pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
Well if it is not big enough, there is a "full screen" button in the corner

Here is the video slowed down.



Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2017, 10:59am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I got him traveling once clearly in live time. I do not know about the second time, but I stopped trying to pay attention after the first move.

Peace
I have one travel, when he replants his left foot after the jump stop.

But that travel is clear enough for a whistle.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2017, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
He has ball and jumps off left leg and either doesn't land simultaneously or both feet do touch at same time but left leg slides back right away when he has no pivot foot. Travel either way.

Since he had the ball and jump stopped off one leg, he's not got a pivot. he has to release ball on dribble before picking either leg up.

If you forget the jump stop and first travel, say he's just a player with the ball on the wing with a pivot foot….his takeoff would be ok i think. (already forgot the video..)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2017, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
It's a correct call.

Only possible complaint I could see here is if the officials had been passing on this call all game but decided to call in at a critical point in the game. Or if only one of the officials was identifying these plays as travels and the others were not.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2017, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 241
Established left foot as pivot, then picked up pivot and put it back down before shooting. Easy travel call..that created a space advantage...that we need to get at any point in the game.
__________________
Da Official
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2017, 06:27pm
Official Fiveum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eurasia - no, Myasia
Posts: 302
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by RefsNCoaches View Post
I was reading some comments about it and most felt it wasn't a travel.
Most what felt it wasn't a travel - coaches?
__________________
I don't know what "signature" means.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2017, 07:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NB/PEI, Canada
Posts: 788
I am ok with a travel call here as most have said there are multiple opportunities to make the call on this one play. As someone who calls more travels than most of my peers I appreciate this get.

Now the only mitigating factors are the manner in which the game was officiated all along. I know a lot of high school officials who aren't calling those catches or take offs consistently or at all. If you've gotten it all game, go ahead and get it again. If you only got it because its late in the game that is a problem. If the standard for footwork is not set early and consistently getting this in this situation could be problematic.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game!

Me: Thanks, but why the big rush.

Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video: Not a travel in NBA, but would you call this a travel in HS or NCAA jump stop Basketball 52 Sun Apr 08, 2012 12:19pm
Call on the court = Held ball. Thoughts? JetMetFan Basketball 15 Tue Apr 03, 2012 12:18am
Sky vs. Mystics - Last Second Call Thoughts NCHSAA Basketball 26 Thu Aug 25, 2011 04:54am
No call/Travel/PC hbioteach Basketball 3 Wed Feb 04, 2009 09:20am
Thoughts on a loose ball/3 seconds call? referee99 Basketball 25 Fri Jul 18, 2008 11:06am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1