![]() |
Air ball to held ball
A1 shoots an airball. Alternating possession arrow is with A.
1) A2 rebounds first, B2 grabs the ball for a held ball. No shot clock reset because possession didn't change. 2) B2 rebounds first, A2 grabs the ball for a held ball. Shot clock is reset because possession did change. 3) A2 and B2 rebound simultaneously and a held ball is called. Does the shot clock reset? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
TC is lost many times in shot clock games without a reset. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Since there is no mention of shot clock in NFHS rules, the answer would be strictly a local matter.
|
Quote:
2. Correct 3. Yes, for California HS basketball. The rationale is that neither team was in control when the held ball occurred, so a full reset is given for whichever team is awarded the ball via the AP arrow. |
NCAAW (and, I'm reasonably certain, NCAAM) (emphasis added):
Art. 7. Stop the timing device and continue time without a reset when play begins under the following circumstances: i. After a simultaneous held ball as described in Rule 6-4.2 occurs during a throw-in or after an unsuccessful try that does not contact the ring or flange and the alternating-possession arrow favors the team whose try was unsuccessful; |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
"Shot blocked by B1, simultaneously recovered by B2 and A2 for a held ball = alternating- possession arrow, new shot clock." If you can find a more updated document I'd be grateful. Thanks for your help. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50pm. |