The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102123-backcourt-violation.html)

dbogcpa Wed Jan 18, 2017 08:40am

Backcourt violation?
 
A1 is shooting second free throw of a 1 and 1. Shot is missed and rebound tips off A2's hand (no possession/control) and heads toward out of bounds line. A3 leaps from inbounds and smacks the ball in the toward midcourt while he is in the air heading out of bounds. Ball goes into backcourt and A4 retrieves it. Backcourt violation?

AremRed Wed Jan 18, 2017 08:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dbogcpa (Post 997673)
A1 is shooting second free throw of a 1 and 1. Shot is missed and rebound tips off A2's hand (no possession/control) and heads toward out of bounds line. A3 leaps from inbounds and smacks the ball in the toward midcourt while he is in the air heading out of bounds. Ball goes into backcourt and A4 retrieves it. Backcourt violation?

No.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 18, 2017 08:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dbogcpa (Post 997673)
A1 is shooting second free throw of a 1 and 1. Shot is missed and rebound tips off A2's hand (no possession/control) and heads toward out of bounds line. A3 leaps from inbounds and smacks the ball in the toward midcourt while he is in the air heading out of bounds. Ball goes into backcourt and A4 retrieves it. Backcourt violation?

The key is whether you judge A3's action to be a :smack" (as described; no player control) or a "throw" (player control).

the first is not a violation; the second is.

In this play, I'm defaulting to no control unless it's clear that A3 held the ball.

dbogcpa Wed Jan 18, 2017 08:54am

It was not a "smack", the player leaped, secured ball with one hand and threw it back toward midcourt. I guess the question is, can a player gain control of the ball while not touching the court?

BEAREF Wed Jan 18, 2017 08:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 997676)
The key is whether you judge A3's action to be a :smack" (as described; no player control) or a "throw" (player control).

the first is not a violation; the second is.

In this play, I'm defaulting to no control unless it's clear that A3 held the ball.

And if the "smack" is with a closed fist it would be a violation.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 18, 2017 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dbogcpa (Post 997680)
It was not a "smack", the player leaped, secured ball with one hand and threw it back toward midcourt. I guess the question is, can a player gain control of the ball while not touching the court?


Yes.

You just changed the play -- that changes the result.

Adam Wed Jan 18, 2017 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dbogcpa (Post 997680)
It was not a "smack", the player leaped, secured ball with one hand and threw it back toward midcourt. I guess the question is, can a player gain control of the ball while not touching the court?

It happens all the time, that's why there's an exception built into the backcourt rules for throw ins.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1