![]() |
First time I've seen this.........and commentary
GV game tonight: Girl is fouled as the buzzer sounds to end the 3rd. She goes to the line to shoot 2 with the lane cleared. She misses the first, and as she catches the ball to attempt the second she steps on the line. I whistled the violation. She looked incredulously at her own foot, then at me and gave that bewildered "Who, me?" look that fits every situation. The crowd was not happy, but not in agreement. First a lady: "What?? NOOO!!! She wasn't even on the line! NO WAY WAS SHE ON THE LINE!!" Then a man: "That ain't right! She can stand on the line as much as she wants to as long as she moves before she shoots!" I couldn't help it. I glanced up to see the source of the second comments. He explained his credentials: "I've called games!"
|
Quote:
As she catches it? Really? I'd probably boo, too. |
violation.
|
I'm not even looking yet.
|
I get the "dont be that guy" but at what point would you call it. What if she stood there longer? What if she took a few more steps towards the endline?
|
How is she violating the spirit of tbe free throw?
When she starts her throwing motion, then I'll care. |
Did she step on the line while receiving the ball because of a bad pass from the L? I'd find it VERY hard to fault the thrower for that.
Spirit of the rule is that a violation occurs because the player is standing on the line to gain an advantage (specifically, being slightly closer to the goal on the shot attempt). In this case, I don't see the advantage being gained. If she delays for a few seconds after receiving the ball or is on the line when she starts her shot attempt, by all means, call the violation. |
I always check to see if players are legally in their spots before administering the free throw. Sometimes players are going over what to do after the free throw, getting instructions from coaches, etc. So they aren't thinking about being lined up 100% legally yet.
Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk |
Quote:
|
Put me in the camp that's booing this call from the sideline as well. Especially nowadays where we don't hand them the ball. If my throw is short or low, and they step forward to catch it, it's not really on them is it? This is grabbing the excrement-covered end of the stick.
|
I would have a hard time calling this on the catch for two reasons:
1)Assuming you called this as the C (or T in 2-man)-- it could have been a bad pass from your partner that caused her to step forward to catch it. That's not unlike the player fumbling the pass -- you just re-administer the throw. or 2) she had her foot outside the free-throw semicircle before the pass was made. If that was the case, some preventative officiating could have avoided this by simply telling her to check her feet solves the issue. I do this for players in (or almost in) marked lane spaces all the time. |
I recall some areas want these calls made by the book. Mine does not.
|
Quote:
".....it is important to know the intent and purpose of a rule so that it may be INTELLIGENTLY applied in each play situation." This is not applying the rule intelligently. |
We had a quandary here a few years ago...for some reason some girls started take their to right foot, stick it 6" past the line and draw it back as they were going through their lineup ritual.
|
I guess I should have told the whole story. She stepped on the line, and stayed there. The whistle was blown as she started her throwing motion. This wasn't the point, but rather that I'd never seen a violation by the shooter on a shot with the lane cleared.
|
Quote:
I get the literal reading of the rule, but, ummm, I never notice when this is allegedly happening. Here's a similar NCAAW ruling: DATE: 11/19/2014 RULE: Rule 8 QUESTION: Is it a violation during a Free Throw when the shooter has the ball in hand, is dribbling the ball and steps on the throw line, then moves it back before she starts her try? This happened in a game and the official called a violation. We talked about this after the game. My thinking was it's not a violation until she steps on the line during her attempt at the basket. ANSWER: This is a violation. Once the free throw shooter has the ball at her disposal, she is may not leave the free throw semicircle before the try strikes the ring, flange, or backboard or until the free throw ends (Rule 8-5.1.d). The free throw line is outside the free throw semicircle. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
(I'd love to see a HS study on FT% with the lane cleared -- my perception is that its much lower, even though it is presumably the best FT shooter on the floor taking the shot (usually). Seems to me the fact it is different breaks some of the standard ritual for the shooters.) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Over 30 years ago in a boys' VAR game. V1 shooting the 2nd FT of and TF in the 4th QT steps over the FT Line on his follow through. I wiped the FT off the board. V then has to go to OT to win the game. The game was the top two teams in the league. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
Which is why he said (usually) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19am. |