The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Iowa-Nebraska Fantastic Game (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102057-iowa-nebraska-fantastic-game.html)

chymechowder Fri Jan 06, 2017 11:28am

Iowa-Nebraska Fantastic Game. (VIDEO)
 
Towards the end of 2OT there was an odd sequence. Iowa was called for a push while trying to score. It was tapped in just after the foul. There was a long conference, after which the officials counted the Iowa basket and sent Nebraska to the line at the other end.

Jump to 2:25 of the video for the play in question:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/g5ZZo4VM0Iw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

In NCAA-M rules, could the officials have gone to the monitor to determine when the foul happened in relation to the tap?

chymechowder Fri Jan 06, 2017 11:32am

also, I'm not posting this in any way to criticize the crew! It was an intense, long game and they did a great job imo.

They must've been silently saying WTF?! when nebraska missed BOTH FT's w/ 1 second left in regulation to send it to OT :)

SC Official Fri Jan 06, 2017 11:41am

Foul before the tap. Should not have counted.

bob jenkins Fri Jan 06, 2017 12:09pm

Maybe (pure speculation) no one saw the tap and assumed the original shot went in.

And, I do NOT think this is reviewable (but since I never use a monitor, my knowledge on this is suspect).

dahoopref Fri Jan 06, 2017 01:43pm

Great play for discussion. Thanks for getting this.

Quote:

Originally Posted by chymechowder (Post 996539)
In NCAA-M rules, could the officials have gone to the monitor to determine when the foul happened in relation to the tap?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 996546)
And, I do NOT think this is reviewable (but since I never use a monitor, my knowledge on this is suspect).

They way I read it, the crew was allowed to go the video replay to determine the score was erroneously counted.

From the 2016-17 NCAA Men's Rulebook:

Quote:

Rule 11, Section 2

Art 1. Officials may use such available equipment only in the following
situations:
b. Scoring.
3. Determine whether a score was erroneously counted or canceled as
per 2-12.1.e.

Rule 2, Section 2

Art 1. The correctable errors are as follows:
e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.
Note: In order for this to be a correctable error, the official must have erred
in counting or canceling a successful try for goal according to a rule (i.e.,
after basket interference or goaltending, incorrectly counting or failing to
cancel a score or counting a three-point goal instead of a two-point goal). A
correctable error does not involve an error in judgment.

bucky Sat Jan 07, 2017 03:54pm

I can't understand why NO ONE is mentioning the possible basket interference by Neb. From what saw, the foul was called while the shot was near the rim and the Neb player's BI resulted in the basket being scored.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1