![]() |
End of game timing Q
NFHS. Eight point game, team behind intentionally fouling at end. Whistle blows. No horn. Officials ended the game.
Is my memory right that, technically the game was not over, and the FTs should have been taken? In the real world, would y'all do what these refs did given that there was no chance anything could happen to change the result of the game? |
Depends upon the gym in which the game is being played. If it had LED lights on the backboard, those have priority in signaling the end of the quarter. Otherwise, the sounding of the horn indicates that time has expired, not zeros on the clock.
|
End of game timing Q
Quote:
I'd curse (under my breath, of course) that the timer didn't have enough sense to let the clock expire if it was that close. Then I'd shoot the free throws. |
Quote:
|
Rule reference on shooting the fts vs not? They don't affect the outcome of the game
Happy New Year |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Thank you sir |
We have this discussion a couple of times every year. I agree with Rich....(darn it, Timer!), i.e. like it or not, you have to shoot the FTs because there is likely some amount of time less then 0:01/0.1 on the clock. The timer's console may help to confirm this if it displays tenths/hundredths of seconds, respectively, but absent this confirmation you have to assume there is still some fraction of a second left before the horn sounds.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
Ok, not being a jerk here: in the OP, the rule says since horn didn't blow, game isn't over. So, shoot the fts. As there is no time on the clock, I assume with lanes cleared..... so what would make the game over, aside from instructing the timer to blow the horn?
|
You wouldn't clear the lanes. The clock can read 0 without having expired. The horn ends the period, not the clock reading 0.
|
Quote:
Okay, so lanes occupied. Regardless of how fts play out (make one, both, miss both) if timer didn't allow horn to blow to begin with, how the heck is game to end? Are you going to instruct him to sound it or ?? I assume this would really only happen when there are tenths left but they aren't displayed? And again, genuinely trying to figure it out given oddities, not being a jerk |
Quote:
I'm getting scared by this thread, but I'll humor it. The timer would (hopefully) start the clock upon the next legal touch inbounds (rebound or throw-in) and the horn would theoretically arrive less than a second later, ending the game. In the OP, the timer didn't intentionally withhold the horn. He just happened to stop the clock fractions of a second before the horn was to sound. The fact the clock reads 0 at that moment is irrelevant. There's still time left, as has already been said by several posters above. |
Odog answered right. I would add that you should have a count when the ball becomes live. Once you get to 1, if there's no horn, blow the whistle and end the game.
|
I once had a game where the a foul or violation was called (OOB?) just as tie was expiring for the quarter. It was so close to the horn that the horn had just started sounding but the stopping of the clock was so quickly after that you barely heard a blip from the horn. I was puzzled for a moment before realizing what happened. I don't remember the exact play, but time had expired and if we were not listening carefully or it had been noisy, we would have never heard the horn.
|
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55am. |