![]() |
|
|
|||
It's not a double dribble until the second dribble attempt hits the floor and returns to the dribbler's hands.
If the second "dribble" attempt hit the defenders foot, then double dribble rules are off as they could have picked it right back up and started dribbling again because that could be treated the same as interrupted dribble. I know that's right in my head, but sure I didn't use correct wording/terms/verbage. So.....Waiting for someone to tell me where/why I'm wrong. ha. |
|
|||
Thanks for the reply but can you point out where it states this in the rule book? As far as I read, a dribble begins when the ball is intentionally pushed or batted "to" the floor. I guess that we can assume that "to" implies that the ball actually reached the floor.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
While we may wait to see where it goes, the dribble does begin when it leaves the hand being pushed the floor.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Incorrect. There is an NFHS Case Play which states that the player does not have to touch the ball again.
|
|
|||
Bounce Pass ...
Quote:
Quote:
9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Dec 21, 2016 at 11:49pm. |
|
|||
4.15.4 Situation A
When A1 palmed/carried the ball, the dribble ended, and when he/she pushed the ball to the floor a violation occurred.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Palming/Carrying ...
Quote:
4.15.4 SITUATION A: As dribbler A1 attempts to change directions to avoid guard B1, he/she allows the ball to come to rest in one hand in bringing the ball from the right to the left side of the body. A1 pushes the ball to the floor in an attempt to continue the dribble. RULING: When A1 palmed/carried the ball, the dribble ended and when he/she pushed the ball to the floor a violation occurred. (9-5)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Dec 22, 2016 at 07:22am. |
|
|||
Quote:
In the palm/carry play it's double when player pushes it to the floor. I reconcile these by saying if what the player does after ending his first dribble...looks like a dribble....then it is a dribble. Violation without touching again. If what he does after he ends the dribble looks like something else then i will wait to see what happens. If he's first to touch, violation. I will want to be sure that what the player is doing is dribbling again but if he pushes ball straight down or close to him with no one else around i will call that a dribble without him actually touching it again. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Tags |
double dribble |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
dribble out of bounds or not? | johnyd | Basketball | 4 | Tue Feb 05, 2013 08:15am |
Double dribble | tref | Basketball | 13 | Fri Feb 18, 2011 01:05pm |
Interrupted Dribble - Out of Bounds | CallMeMrRef | Basketball | 9 | Sat Mar 07, 2009 02:44pm |
Is it Double Dribble? | remargo | Basketball | 18 | Sun Feb 10, 2008 01:29pm |
double dribble? | theshortbaldref | Basketball | 4 | Thu Feb 20, 2003 04:38am |