The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   10.4.5 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101973-10-4-5-a.html)

roscoe Sat Dec 17, 2016 03:46pm

10.4.5
 
Official reports foul and gives directions to players along the lane. The official is ready to put ball at free thrower A1's disposal, but A1 is above the semi circle taking her time so he bounces it to her anyway and then immediately calls a lane violation on her for not being in the semi circle. If the shooter is not ready call a T, delay, what to do?

bob jenkins Sat Dec 17, 2016 03:48pm

By rule, it's a T. Do everything you can to not have this.

roscoe Sat Dec 17, 2016 03:53pm

By rule it's a T. That's basically what I wanted to know. Thanks
I concur this should not of happened.

BillyMac Sat Dec 17, 2016 03:58pm

Always Listen To bob ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by roscoe (Post 995130)
Official reports foul and gives directions to players along the lane. The official is ready to put ball at free thrower A1's disposal, but A1 is above the semi circle taking her time so he bounces it to her anyway and then immediately calls a lane violation on her for not being in the semi circle. If the shooter is not ready call a T, delay, what to do?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 995131)
By rule, it's a T. Do everything you can to not have this.

By rule, it is a technical foul, but if you are going to do it, and that's a big if, then you can skip with the "bounces it to her anyway and then immediately calls a lane violation" part of this because it's not a resumption of play procedure, since it's not after a timeout.

Even if it was a resumption of play procedure after a timeout, I don't think that I would bounce it to the player, rather I would put the ball on the floor at the free throw line.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1