The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   New Nfhs Free Throw Provisions (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101954-new-nfhs-free-throw-provisions.html)

nmanzie01 Tue Dec 13, 2016 04:55pm

New Nfhs Free Throw Provisions
 
So, we are about to take the first shot of a 1&1. This is only the 7th team foul. While the ball is in the air, the defender responsible for the shooter, crosses the free throw line and knocks the shooter off her axis. The ball did not go in.

What do you have and how do you enforce.

packersowner Tue Dec 13, 2016 05:12pm

Let me see if I can get this right...foul. Line up and shoot another 1 on 1. Team Fouls = 8

JRutledge Tue Dec 13, 2016 05:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by packersowner (Post 994784)
Let me see if I can get this right...foul. Line up and shoot another 1 on 1. Team Fouls = 8

You have a violation for crossing the FT line or getting into the semicircle and you would have to re-shoot the FT for the violation. Everyone would be off the line for the first 1 and 1 and then bring everyone on the line for the second 1 and 1 because that is when the ball will be put back in play.

Peace

Nevadaref Tue Dec 13, 2016 05:20pm

Depends upon when the FT line was crossed. If before the ball struck the ring/FT ended, then this is a violation and a substitute FT is awarded.

If the contact was sufficient for a foul, then following the substitute FT another 1&1 would be awarded.

Note that the substitute 1&1 would be awarded without players along the lane if a foul is called and another 1&1 is to follow.

bucky Wed Dec 14, 2016 01:17pm

This case was in the nfhs rules interpretations for 2016-217. Keep in mind that there was a typo error. References to B4 should be B2.

SITUATION 2: B2 is in a marked lane space after free thrower A1 releases a final free-throw attempt. B2 enters the free-throw semicircle before the ball strikes the ring, contacting A1, whose free-throw attempt is unsuccessful. The official rules a foul on B4 and awards A1 bonus free throws as B4’s foul is the eighth team foul. RULING: The official was correct to rule a foul on B4 — illegal contact occurred. However, the official was incorrect to only award bonus free throws. B4 committed a delayed free-throw violation and A1 should have been given a substitute free throw with the lane cleared prior to the administration of
the bonus free throws. Play resumes with the result of A1’s bonus free throws. NFHS/Referee Basketball Preseason Guide 2016. (9-1 PENALTIES 2b)

ballgame99 Wed Dec 14, 2016 01:44pm

So the answer to the question is it depends. It depends on if the contact was significant enough to be called a foul. If you deem that it was, you shoot an empty lane free throw. If she missed the first one where the violation happens she gets to reshoot it with an empty lane, and then would get to shoot a second one with an empty lane. Then administer another 1and1 with a full lane for the rebound foul. If you deem it wasn't a foul, just a violation, you reshoot if it was missed, or ignore if it was made.

You can sometimes avoid all of this mess with some preventative officiating if you see a team getting a little overzealous on blocking out the shooter.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1