The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   North Carolina @ Indiana (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101899-north-carolina-indiana.html)

JRutledge Wed Nov 30, 2016 11:43pm

North Carolina @ Indiana
 
Was this a foul or violation?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/log_A1OK6A0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Lane Violation

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/_lncGJGlWC0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Camron Rust Thu Dec 01, 2016 02:23am

Backcourt violation appeared to occur before contact, but hard to say from that angle.

FT violation was pretty obvious, not much to discuss there.

AremRed Thu Dec 01, 2016 03:33am

Play 1: BC violation before foul, new Lead needs to help with this

Play 2: CC delayed lane violation

ballgame99 Thu Dec 01, 2016 05:19pm

on the potential BC violation, if he is in the air when he catches the ball doesn't he get to land where he wants? Its hard to see from this angle, but let's say he leaves the floor with both feet (from the FC) and catches the ball while airborne and lands strattled on the line, isn't he considered to still be in BC status?

SNIPERBBB Thu Dec 01, 2016 05:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 993972)
on the potential BC violation, if he is in the air when he catches the ball doesn't he get to land where he wants? Its hard to see from this angle, but let's say he leaves the floor with both feet (from the FC) and catches the ball while airborne and lands strattled on the line, isn't he considered to still be in BC status?

You are where you were till you get where you're going. Player is in front court until he lands.

To be legal on that play, he would of needed to get one foot down in the BC before he caught the ball.

SC Official Thu Dec 01, 2016 05:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 993972)
on the potential BC violation, if he is in the air when he catches the ball doesn't he get to land where he wants? Its hard to see from this angle, but let's say he leaves the floor with both feet (from the FC) and catches the ball while airborne and lands strattled on the line, isn't he considered to still be in BC status?

The "exception" that allows an airborne player to catch the ball and make a normal landing (NFHS 9-9-3/NCAA 9-12-9,10) applies only during a throw-in, jump ball, or while on defense.

Remington Thu Dec 01, 2016 05:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 993977)
You are where you were till you get where you're going. Player is in front court until he lands.

To be legal on that play, he would of needed to get one foot down in the BC before he caught the ball.

And, in case some aren't sure, if you are touching the half line, you are considered to be in the backcourt.......similar to stepping on the sideline or endline to be out of bounds.

IUgrad92 Thu Dec 01, 2016 06:05pm

Why was Center official so low on back court press coverage? There were two officials officiating ball and defender (2 players). Not surprised this happened with Center's positioning on this particular play.

SNIPERBBB Thu Dec 01, 2016 06:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IUgrad92 (Post 993983)
Why was Center official so low on back court press coverage? There were two officials officiating ball and defender (2 players). Not surprised this happened with Center's positioning on this particular play.

That and he was taken out by the ball handler after making the pass.

ODog Thu Dec 01, 2016 11:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IUgrad92 (Post 993983)
Why was Center official so low on back court press coverage? There were two officials officiating ball and defender (2 players). Not surprised this happened with Center's positioning on this particular play.

Since we're talking mechanics/positioning, I'm not familiar with the nitty gritty of NCAA-M mechanics. On the second play, I didn't see anyone signal a delayed violation?

Raymond Fri Dec 02, 2016 06:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IUgrad92 (Post 993983)
Why was Center official so low on back court press coverage? There were two officials officiating ball and defender (2 players). Not surprised this happened with Center's positioning on this particular play.

I see no reason why the slot came down so far. I would only do so if there were a trap down there. The trail was in a position to see the play by himself. As slot, I would have been up with the second group of players.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

APG Fri Dec 02, 2016 08:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 994014)
I see no reason why the slot came down so far. I would only do so if there were a trap down there. The trail was in a position to see the play by himself. As slot, I would have been up with the second group of players.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

I can see why he initially dropped down...but once it's evident that the matchup will be a 1 on 1 match up...and the rest of the players are going upcourt, I would have liked for the slot to work upcourt.

Raymond Fri Dec 02, 2016 09:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 994015)
I can see why he initially dropped down...but once it's evident that the matchup will be a 1 on 1 match up...and the rest of the players are going upcourt, I would have liked for the slot to work upcourt.

I don't see why he dropped down. It was a one-on-one match up. He had a group of 4 other players in the back court who needed attention.

deecee Fri Dec 02, 2016 09:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 994005)
Since we're talking mechanics/positioning, I'm not familiar with the nitty gritty of NCAA-M mechanics. On the second play, I didn't see anyone signal a delayed violation?

Because once you make that signal you are obligate to make the call. It has it's time and place.

Raymond Fri Dec 02, 2016 10:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 994005)
Since we're talking mechanics/positioning, I'm not familiar with the nitty gritty of NCAA-M mechanics. On the second play, I didn't see anyone signal a delayed violation?

The person who should have displayed that signal did not, so another official made the call.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

jpgc99 Fri Dec 02, 2016 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 994025)
Because once you make that signal you are obligate to make the call. It has it's time and place.

What do you mean by this? Are you suggesting that you would not have called this a violation?

deecee Fri Dec 02, 2016 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpgc99 (Post 994030)
What do you mean by this? Are you suggesting that you would not have called this a violation?

This was an obvious violation. What I mean is that once you make that signal you are obligated to make the call, there may be situations where there are circumstances that you may not want to make the call (it's similar to a preliminary on a block charge from the C or T, if you don't signal you don't have a call either way). If the violation happens early enough you can make the signal. This violation happened close enough to the release where the signal wasn't necessary.

SNIPERBBB Fri Dec 02, 2016 10:52am

Technically you are not obligated if the try is successful

RefRich Fri Dec 02, 2016 11:41am

Foul, No Violation
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 993972)
on the potential BC violation, if he is in the air when he catches the ball doesn't he get to land where he wants? Its hard to see from this angle, but let's say he leaves the floor with both feet (from the FC) and catches the ball while airborne and lands strattled on the line, isn't he considered to still be in BC status?

According to Rule 9.9, there is not violation because there has been no established position in the front court. All of the discussion so far appears to be that the ball is in the front court already. The jumping from the front court to the back court is not a factor because nothing has been established yet.

"in order to have a backcourt violation, “player and team” control must first be established in the frontcourt. This means a player must have been dribbling or holding the ball entirely in the frontcourt."

Isn't this a true statement? Now if his back foot lands in the newly established front court then when his front foot lands in the now defined back court it would be a violation. But in this case it would be a foul (based on the angle that I see visable)

JRutledge Fri Dec 02, 2016 11:53am

The player's location is where he jumped from. He jumped from the FC and touched the ball in the air. Then he appears to land at least in part in the BC. That is a violation.

Peace

SC Official Fri Dec 02, 2016 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefRich (Post 994037)
According to Rule 9.9, there is not violation because there has been no established position in the front court. All of the discussion so far appears to be that the ball is in the front court already. The jumping from the front court to the back court is not a factor because nothing has been established yet.

"in order to have a backcourt violation, “player and team” control must first be established in the frontcourt. This means a player must have been dribbling or holding the ball entirely in the frontcourt."

Isn't this a true statement? Now if his back foot lands in the newly established front court then when his front foot lands in the now defined back court it would be a violation. But in this case it would be a foul (based on the angle that I see visable)

An airborne player retains the status of where he last touched the floor. You have frontcourt status if you jump from the frontcourt and have backcourt status once you land.

And player control is not (necessarily) required in the frontcourt to have a backcourt violation.

Raymond Fri Dec 02, 2016 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 994031)
This was an obvious violation. What I mean is that once you make that signal you are obligated to make the call, there may be situations where there are circumstances that you may not want to make the call (it's similar to a preliminary on a block charge from the C or T, if you don't signal you don't have a call either way). If the violation happens early enough you can make the signal. This violation happened close enough to the release where the signal wasn't necessary.

It's really not that complicated in this play. The Slot official missed the violation and the Lead came in with the whistle.

Adam Fri Dec 02, 2016 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefRich (Post 994037)
According to Rule 9.9, there is not violation because there has been no established position in the front court. All of the discussion so far appears to be that the ball is in the front court already. The jumping from the front court to the back court is not a factor because nothing has been established yet.

"in order to have a backcourt violation, “player and team” control must first be established in the frontcourt. This means a player must have been dribbling or holding the ball entirely in the frontcourt."

Isn't this a true statement? Now if his back foot lands in the newly established front court then when his front foot lands in the now defined back court it would be a violation. But in this case it would be a foul (based on the angle that I see visable)

Player and team control had already been established, then a pass was thrown between teammates. The receiving teammate jumped from the FC (he continues to have FC status until he lands) and catches the ball. Now you have player and team control in the FC (player control in the FC is not actually required, but it's hear in this play). As soon as he lands in the BC you have a violation.

AremRed Fri Dec 02, 2016 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 994029)
The person who should have displayed that signal did not, so another official made the call.

I believe the Lead did make the delayed violation call and the whistle heard in the video is his, despite the lack of a delayed violation signal.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1