The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ball touches court (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101866-ball-touches-court.html)

loners4me Wed Nov 23, 2016 11:33am

Ball touches court
 
Scenario: A1 is palming ball and loses balance and uses ball to regain balance by extending arm/ball so ball touches ground. Legal?

or steer me in the right direction in the book so I can look it up.

Camron Rust Wed Nov 23, 2016 11:54am

Legal.

It isn't a dribble if the player continues to hold the ball....so no dribbling rules apply.

It isn't a travel if the player didn't move the pivot foot and didn't touch the floor with some part of the body other than a hand or foot...the ball isn't part of the body.

bob jenkins Wed Nov 23, 2016 11:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by loners4me (Post 993497)
Scenario: A1 is palming ball and loses balance and uses ball to regain balance by extending arm/ball so ball touches ground. Legal?

or steer me in the right direction in the book so I can look it up.

Try under 4- travelling.

Or, look in the case book -- there's a case where A touches the ball to the floor.

Freddy Wed Nov 23, 2016 12:18pm

4-44-5a: hand or foot . . .
4.15 COMMENT . . . or ball
OK

BillyMac Wed Nov 23, 2016 04:54pm

Always Listen To bob ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 993502)
... there's a case where A touches the ball to the floor.

4.15 COMMENT: It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble. A player
is not dribbling while slapping the ball during a jump, when a pass rebounds
from his/her hand, when he/she fumbles, or when he/she bats a rebound or pass
away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control
under these conditions. It is a dribble when a player stands still and bounces the
ball. It is not a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches
it to the floor once or more than once.

BillyMac Wed Nov 23, 2016 07:10pm

Thanks For The Idea loners4me ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by loners4me (Post 993497)
A1 is palming ball and loses balance and uses ball to regain balance by extending arm/ball so ball touches ground. Legal?

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 993514)
It is not a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches
it to the floor once or more than once.

I believe that I will add this (red above) to my list of The Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules.

APG Wed Nov 23, 2016 07:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by loners4me (Post 993497)
Scenario: A1 is palming ball and loses balance and uses ball to regain balance by extending arm/ball so ball touches ground. Legal?

or steer me in the right direction in the book so I can look it up.

Since you've been asking NBA rules...this is legal under NBA rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1