The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Free thrower delay–NCAA ruling (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101794-free-thrower-delay-ncaa-ruling.html)

bballref3966 Fri Nov 04, 2016 10:57am

Free thrower delay–NCAA ruling
 
I cannot for the life of me find the correct ruling on this in the NCAA book.

The ruling official has reported the foul and has given directions to players along the lane. The official is ready to put the ball at free thrower A1’s disposal, but A1 is at the sideline talking to the coach.

NFHS–this is a technical foul charged to A1.

Is this a CLASS B 'T' in NCAA? Administrative? Warning for delay?

BigCat Fri Nov 04, 2016 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 992685)
I cannot for the life of me find the correct ruling on this in the NCAA book.

The ruling official has reported the foul and has given directions to players along the lane. The official is ready to put the ball at free thrower A1’s disposal, but A1 is at the sideline talking to the coach.

NFHS–this is a technical foul charged to A1.

Is this a CLASS B 'T' in NCAA? Administrative? Warning for delay?

I think under rule 8 you place the ball at the disposal of A1 (since all other players are ready). He is not allowed to enter the semi circle. Rule 9 says it is a violation to enter the semi circle after ball is placed at disposal of A1. All team A can do is call time out. It will be a violation in 10 if they don't call TO. I don't see this the same as a team preventing a FT from happening by huddling etc to warrant a delay of game.

bob jenkins Fri Nov 04, 2016 11:31am

Here is the NCAAM case (NCAAW has the same case as AR 190):

A.R. 178.
The official administering a free throw has alerted players that the
game shall resume� A1, the free-thrower, is not ready

RULING: When A1 is in the semicircle and does not take the ball or
is outside the semicircle, the ball shall be placed on the free-throw line
and the official shall start the count. A violation shall result when the
free throw is not attempted in 10 seconds or when the free-thrower
enters the semicircle. However, any player from Team A may request
and be granted a timeout before the expiration of the 10-second time
limit for shooting the free throw.

Raymond Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 992690)
Here is the NCAAM case (NCAAW has the same case as AR 190):

A.R. 178.
The official administering a free throw has alerted players that the
game shall resume� A1, the free-thrower, is not ready

RULING: When A1 is in the semicircle and does not take the ball or
is outside the semicircle, the ball shall be placed on the free-throw line
and the official shall start the count. A violation shall result when the
free throw is not attempted in 10 seconds or when the free-thrower
enters the semicircle. However, any player from Team A may request
and be granted a timeout before the expiration of the 10-second time
limit for shooting the free throw.

And remember, because the ball is live and it's not a throw-in, the coach cannot call a time-out. It has to be a player.

BillyMac Fri Nov 04, 2016 05:16pm

Nfhs ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 992685)
NFHS–this is a technical foul charged to A1.

NFHS 10-3-5-C: A player shall not: Delay the game by acts such as:
The free thrower fails to be in the free-throw semicircle when the official is
ready to administer the free throw unless the resumption-of-play procedure
is in effect following a time-out or intermission.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1