![]() |
Lane Violation & Foul
A1 is shooting a free throw. B1 leaves her lane spot on the release to box out A1. The box out by B1 results in a foul called because B1 knocked A1 to the ground.
What is the correct way to handle a lane violation and a foul? |
Quote:
Are there FTs left in the sequence? If there are you have to shoot those at this point. Did the FT on the foul go in the basket? If so then you would not shoot the FT again. But the bottom line, you have to enforce each penalties in the order they occur. But all those other things matter to the enforcement of this penalty. Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I'm calling it intentional -- two FTs and the ball. If it ever really happens, there is probably a T coming somewhere, too. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
The OP says that B1 leaves on the release. It's important to note that this by itself is not a violation. We're assuming that B1 entered the FT semi-circle while she was still restricted from doing so, but this is not expressly stated.
So, this could be either a violation followed by a personal foul, or simply a personal foul. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
Technically, you could have a foul followed by the violation.
The odds of having a foul in the act of shooting are pretty slim if the defender leaves after the release. |
Quote:
And I do not know how you would have a foul on a FT shooter without causing a violation first. I guess if the FT shooter is leaning over the line maybe but not likely. Or if the FT restrictions have ended and then the FT shooter enters the lane and is then fouled. But that sounds like a for the purposes of the new rule application. Peace |
Quote:
I assumed the same thing. Just clarifying for purposes of newer officials to whom this may not be so obvious. In terms of a foul on a FT shooter without a violation first, I'm considering the situation where a player in a marked lane space positions himself in front of the FT shooter, and then backs them down after the ball hits the rim. Or something like that. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
Quote:
|
Yes..Entering FT semi-circle is what I meant:)
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Feet cannot break the plane of any lane boundary. Other parts cannot touch floor.
|
I'm glad that something that so rarely happens is getting so much attention. Most officials should focus on getting whats obvious right and being consistent and that will improve their games way more than focusing on this once in a decade occurrences (which most likely are during off season AAU or freshman games).
|
Quote:
Especially if called if/when it happens, the violation will become rare. Before the rule and cautionary preventative officiating regarding it, it was not uncommon around here. From dozens of clips from previous years: Displacement of FTer 1 Early Entry and FT Line Violation Displacement of FTer 2 |
Release ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
With that in mind, everyone take a look at Freddy's third video. I don't think the defender's feet cross the free-throw line before the restrictions end, but her butt sure does, and there IS a foul there (not disputing that). So....is there also a delayed violation here? I agree with Billy; the new rule is not clear and may need a little editing. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39am. |