The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Wrong Number (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101691-wrong-number.html)

Valley Man Tue Oct 04, 2016 07:17am

Wrong Number
 
A7 comes to the scorer's table 2Q and has a number that is incorrect in the book. Coach A is told it is a Technical Foul if A7 enters. Coach A takes the T and we move on.

A9 comes to the scorer's table 4Q and has a number that is incorrect in the book. Another T or has that administrative T already been accessed once.

10-1-2 Penalty (Art 2)One foul only per team regardless of number of infractions

but then

Penalty (Art 2 b c d) Penalize when they occur

My confusion is the wording I guess.

Freddy Tue Oct 04, 2016 07:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Valley Man (Post 991415)
10-1-2 Penalty (Art 2)One foul only per team regardless of number of infractions

but then

Penalty (Art 2 b c d) Penalize when they occur.

Tell me if this helps:
"PENALTY: (Art.2)" applies to all of Rule 10-1-2, that is, a,b,c,d,and e.
"PENALTY: (Art.2b,c,d)" applies only to Rule 10-1-2b,c, and d.)
Therefore, "One foul only per team regardless of the number of infractions" applies to your stated situation. The plural "they" in "Penalized when they occur" refers to any of the situations in b through d.
If you have multiple infractions of 10-1-2c, you still only penalize the on the first occurrence.
Right?

bob jenkins Tue Oct 04, 2016 07:40am

I don't really understand the confusion. It's penalized when it occurs (vs. "before the ball becomes live to start the game" or "when discovered" as in the other subsections), but it's only penalized once.

Note that if the book just changed A7's number and A7 entered and the ball became live, it's too late to penalize A7. Now, when A9 tries the same stunt, you can penalize for that.

Valley Man Tue Oct 04, 2016 08:34am

Thanks Freddie .. that is how I wanted to go just needed that push.

Valley Man Tue Oct 04, 2016 08:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 991417)

Note that if the book just changed A7's number and A7 entered and the ball became live, it's too late to penalize A7. Now, when A9 tries the same stunt, you can penalize for that.

OK .. what if your table didnt change the number for A7 and the tell you next dead ball. Still too late to penalize?

bob jenkins Tue Oct 04, 2016 09:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Valley Man (Post 991421)
OK .. what if your table didnt change the number for A7 and the tell you next dead ball. Still too late to penalize?

What's the penalty for? Is it for "playing with an incorrect number" or for "changing the book?" That will (help) answer your question.

See also cases 3.2.2A and 3.2.2C

Valley Man Tue Oct 04, 2016 09:09am

Thanks Bob


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1