The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Over and Back (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101354-over-back.html)

Camron Rust Mon May 16, 2016 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 987571)
I think I would remove "returns" from 3 and 4 and say
3. last to touch before the ball goes to BC
4. First to touch after ball goes to BC.

I'm easily confused but the word "returns" implies that the ball started in BC. If I was explaining the OP I would say Team A was in team control in FC. A2 was the last to touch the ball before it went to BC and the first to touch it after it went into the BC.

It's just words but for some reason that "returns" bothered me…thx

Yes, that would be better.

Camron Rust Mon May 16, 2016 11:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 987568)
This is what I've been using:

The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control
when coming from a throw-in); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must
be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after
the ball has been in the backcourt.


Is it universally correct?

That seems to be essentially the same.

JRutledge Mon May 16, 2016 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jumpshooter40 (Post 987552)
Team A is in possession in A's front court. Team B player tips the ball and it last touches off if team A player and goes into Team A's backcourt where Team A is the first to touch. Is this a violation?

Here is an example of your play:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/hKutC9aP29U" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

ballgame99 Mon May 16, 2016 01:28pm

I had a head coach of 25 years about lose his mind when I called this against his team. I will admit though that this is a rule I was not familiar with when I was playing and coaching.

Dad Mon May 16, 2016 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 987600)
I had a head coach of 25 years about lose his mind when I called this against his team. I will admit though that this is a rule I was not familiar with when I was playing and coaching.

Did he actually not know the rule after 25 years? I can't imagine he's good at what he does.

I'd assume he just didn't see his team touch the ball again and questioned your eyes.

ballgame99 Mon May 16, 2016 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 987604)
Did he actually not know the rule after 25 years? I can't imagine he's good at what he does.

I'd assume he just didn't see his team touch the ball again and questioned your eyes.

That was the first thing I did was talk to him to make sure we were arguing the same set of facts. I told him I have a tip by the defense then a tip by your guy in the front court, and your guy first to touch in the back court. He said yes, but thought his guy needed to have possession. I explained that I was 100% sure my call was right and he disagreed. Play on. "I've been coaching 25 years and I've never heard of that!!"

Dad Mon May 16, 2016 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 987611)
That was the first thing I did was talk to him to make sure we were arguing the same set of facts. I told him I have a tip by the defense then a tip by your guy in the front court, and your guy first to touch in the back court. He said yes, but thought his guy needed to have possession. I explained that I was 100% sure my call was right and he disagreed. Play on. "I've been coaching 25 years and I've never heard of that!!"

Lovely. It's why I always have a dozen rule books. Coaches need them too.

Adam Mon May 16, 2016 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 987611)
"I've been coaching 25 years and I've never heard of that!!"

Probably one of the most common lies we are told.

BoomerSooner Mon May 16, 2016 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 987613)
Probably one of the most common lies we are told.

The only question is which part of that line is a lie?

Adam Mon May 16, 2016 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by boomersooner (Post 987619)
the only question is which part of that line is a lie?

+2

BillyMac Mon May 16, 2016 06:09pm

Worth A Thousand Words ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 987590)
Here is an example of your play

Nice video. Thanks JRutledge.

Raymond Mon May 16, 2016 06:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 987563)
A1, trapped in the frontcourt near the division line throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces on the division line (or otherwise in the backcourt). A2, while entirely in the frontcourt, catches the ball.

That is a violation even though no player ever touched the ball in the backcourt. It would remain a violation even if the ball bounced again but in the frontocurt before A2 caught it.


Similarly, A1, in the backcourt near the division line, throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces in the frontcourt. A2, while in the backcourt, catches the ball.

Again, that is a violation even though no player ever touched the ball in the frontcourt.

This is what I always have to explain to people.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

RefBob Wed May 18, 2016 12:47pm

[I]Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
A1, trapped in the frontcourt near the division line throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces on the division line (or otherwise in the backcourt). A2, while entirely in the frontcourt, catches the ball.

That is a violation even though no player ever touched the ball in the backcourt. It would remain a violation even if the ball bounced again but in the frontocurt before A2 caught it.


Similarly, A1, in the backcourt near the division line, throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces in the frontcourt. A2, while in the backcourt, catches the ball.

Again, that is a violation even though no player ever touched the ball in the frontcourt.
This is what I always have to explain to people.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk[/I]




Helpful to think about this in terms of the three point rule (two feet and the ball) for determining front court/back court status. In the first scenario, the ball is in the back court when it hits the division line. So if the ball is first touched by A1 with two feet still in the front court we still have one of the points (the ball) in the back court - and a violation. No different than A1 catching the ball when it is in the front court but tapping one foot down in the back court. Same for the second scenario.

BigCat Wed May 18, 2016 04:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by requintero (Post 987673)
[I]Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
A1, trapped in the frontcourt near the division line throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces on the division line (or otherwise in the backcourt). A2, while entirely in the frontcourt, catches the ball.

That is a violation even though no player ever touched the ball in the backcourt. It would remain a violation even if the ball bounced again but in the frontocurt before A2 caught it.


Similarly, A1, in the backcourt near the division line, throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces in the frontcourt. A2, while in the backcourt, catches the ball.

Again, that is a violation even though no player ever touched the ball in the frontcourt.
This is what I always have to explain to people.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk[/I]




Helpful to think about this in terms of the three point rule (two feet and the ball) for determining front court/back court status. In the first scenario, the ball is in the back court when it hits the division line. So if the ball is first touched by A1 with two feet still in the front court we still have one of the points (the ball) in the back court - and a violation. No different than A1 catching the ball when it is in the front court but tapping one foot down in the back court. Same for the second scenario.

3 points only applies to dribbling the ball. Does not apply to passes etc. When the ball hits the division line it is in the BC. If team A is last to touch before the pass and the first to touch after, it doesn't matter where he is standing. # points only applies to a player dribbling the ball.

RefBob Wed May 18, 2016 07:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 987684)
3 points only applies to dribbling the ball. Does not apply to passes etc. When the ball hits the division line it is in the BC. If team A is last to touch before the pass and the first to touch after, it doesn't matter where he is standing. # points only applies to a player dribbling the ball.

For me the three point analogy is always helpful in determining front court/back status although it really only applies to the dribbler. Clearly to first establish front court status all three points must be in the front court - A1's two feet and the ball. For the ball it must actually touch the floor in the front court (for a dribbler) or be in player control by a player in the front court who has both feet in the front court (receipt of a pass). For a back court violation, a Team A player must be the first to touch "in the back court." A Team A player can only be "in the back court" if any of A1's three points are in the back court.

Some examples:

a. A1 has two feet in the front court, ball bounces in the front court and then is in the air in the back court, A1 then reaches across the center line and taps the ball back into the front court or catches the ball (before it hits the ground in the back court) - No Violation.
b. A1 in the back court passes the ball to A2 at the division line. A2 catches the ball, with one foot in the back court and one in front court. A2 is still in the back court. A2 brings his back court foot to the front court and A2 is now in the front court. A2 swings the same foot back to the back court - Violation. A2 with both feet in the front court dribbles the ball on the division line - Violation.

In any event, always thinking about the three points is something that helps me figure out back court and front court status, especially at the division line.

Please let me know it this way of thinking is going to get me in trouble some time.

Thanks.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1