![]() |
Illegal Dribble?
Had this discussion with another referee friend last night. He says his partner was calling a n initiail two handed dribble a double dribble. Can a player legally start his dribble with two hands? I've never called a double dribble when a player catches in the post and puts the ball to the floor once with two hands and then turns and shoots. What do you guys/gals have here? Is there a rule reference?
|
"Power Dribbles" are certainly OK
Starting a dribble with two hands is certainly ok.
Dribble Definition in 4-15-4: The dribble begins by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted. |
agreed!
|
"Simultaneously (touching) the ball with both hands" is a way to END the dribble. A dribble can't end until it's started.
Your "friend" has bought into some officiating myth. |
Sometimes you just have to tell your partner no.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24pm. |