The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Purdue vs Little Rock #3 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101124-purdue-vs-little-rock-3-a.html)

mtn335 Thu Mar 17, 2016 06:15pm

Purdue vs Little Rock #3
 
Start of 2OT, is it just me, or is that violation call incorrect? The Purdue jumper touches it twice - legal - and then recovers once the ball touched a non-jumper (jump ball and restrictions now over).

...right?

Nevadaref Thu Mar 17, 2016 06:17pm

This is a fantastic game, but this crew should not advance. They have missed too many rule situations.

The officials shouldn't be judged on the quality of the game, but on how many decisions and rulings they get correct.

BigCat Thu Mar 17, 2016 06:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mtn335 (Post 984462)
Start of 2OT, is it just me, or is that violation call incorrect? The Purdue jumper touches it twice - legal - and then recovers once the ball touched a non-jumper (jump ball and restrictions now over).

...right?

That is what I thought. I just tried to start a thread on it. Same play.

crosscountry55 Thu Mar 17, 2016 06:20pm

I was just going to post on that. Assuming NCAA restrictions are the same as NFHS 6-3, the R kicked the call. The restrictions end either when one of the eight non-jumpers touches the ball, or when the ball touches the floor. In this case both of those things happened before the jumper touched it the third time.

Oops.

thedewed Thu Mar 17, 2016 06:31pm

missed an obvious foul at the end. one of the other 2 should have come in and got it due to straightline or whatever. wow I'd be pissed as purdue.

crosscountry55 Thu Mar 17, 2016 06:42pm

Travel at the end of 2OT
 
Wow. Bad miss by the C on the travel. Didn't hustle into position, and the L was racing over to ball-side when the crew wasn't really set yet. Fortunately no possession consequence b/c LR got the rebound.

I get it, double OT, they're tired. But...

The crew chief is not exactly a spring chicken. Perhaps this will re-ignite the annual discussion about older officials who do 80 games a season being a step or two behind.

Having said this, I admit that if I were still getting hired at $3K/gm at the age of 60, I'd still be doing it, too. It's not the official's fault in that sense.

Nevadaref Thu Mar 17, 2016 06:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by thedewed (Post 984469)
missed an obvious foul at the end. one of the other 2 should have come in and got it due to straightline or whatever. wow I'd be pissed as purdue.

I definitely want to see the video clip of this. It looked as if the defender had his arm caught inside the right elbow of the Purdue player. I thought that it was a foul during live action.

Raymond Thu Mar 17, 2016 07:09pm

It was a foul....IMO

Raymond Thu Mar 17, 2016 07:13pm

2OT jump ball: This does not appear to be a violation. The jump ball had ended.

thedewed Thu Mar 17, 2016 07:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 984476)
It was a foul....IMO

It was an obvious enough foul that either of the other 2 guys should have come and got it. Pollard/L might have been straightlined

Nevadaref Thu Mar 17, 2016 07:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by thedewed (Post 984479)
It was an obvious enough foul that either of the other 2 guys should have come and got it. Pollard/L might have been straightlined

I don't agree. I don't think that the C would have a look because the hold would be on the far side of the offensive player's body. The players would block his view.

I also think that the Trail would be looking at the back of the offensive player and not have a view of the contact from the front.

This was one the Lead had to live and die with. Unfortunate that it happened with 2 seconds left in a 1 pt game.

Raymond Thu Mar 17, 2016 08:41pm

I thought the play happened on the C''s side.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

BigCat Thu Mar 17, 2016 09:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 984472)
I definitely want to see the video clip of this. It looked as if the defender had his arm caught inside the right elbow of the Purdue player. I thought that it was a foul during live action.

They have this play on ESPN. Regular speed and slowed down. Defenders arm/forearm hits inside of offense forearm as you said. Foul.

The lead is getting there as it happens but could see it. Wasn't straight lined. The old C, new T on same side of floor had a good look also. The new C table side was long way away. One of the other two should have gotten it.

JRutledge Tue Mar 22, 2016 09:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mtn335 (Post 984462)
Start of 2OT, is it just me, or is that violation call incorrect? The Purdue jumper touches it twice - legal - and then recovers once the ball touched a non-jumper (jump ball and restrictions now over).

...right?

Here is the video:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/PiBJICRpwhs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Tue Mar 22, 2016 09:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 984476)
It was a foul....IMO

What was a foul?

Peace

BigCat Tue Mar 22, 2016 09:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 984943)
What was a foul?

Peace

There was a play at the end of regulation or one of the OTs. Can't remember which now. Player driving to basket....

JRutledge Tue Mar 22, 2016 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 984944)
There was a play at the end of regulation or one of the OTs. Can't remember which now. Player driving to basket....

Gotcha, I got the play. Will post it very soon.

Peace

JRutledge Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 984944)
There was a play at the end of regulation or one of the OTs. Can't remember which now. Player driving to basket....

Here is the play:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Gj3dcHVXWh8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Raymond Tue Mar 22, 2016 11:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 984943)
What was a foul?

Peace

Sorry, didn't quote the post. The last play of the game for Purdue (I believe 1.5 seconds), that player driving to the basket is fouled but there is no call.

Never mind, I see you posted it.

I believe if the Lead had pinched the paint instead of rotating on the drive, he would have been still and been able to see the foul. The official on that side of the play (C/Trail) pulls up, I believe if he continues down to the FT line extended he would have seen the foul also.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1