The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   UAB/UTEP Women's ending (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101054-uab-utep-womens-ending.html)

boro_ref Thu Mar 10, 2016 04:19pm

UAB/UTEP Women's ending
 
Anybody post the video? Half court 3 at the buzzer in OT waived off. Losing coach in the press conference alluded to conversation with the official about what clock was used to determine if the shot was good. Different from whatever he was looking at. Got any info on this?

boro_ref Thu Mar 10, 2016 05:02pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eP6RtX9Fnvg

BryanV21 Thu Mar 10, 2016 06:10pm

I was able to stop the video when the lights around the backboard came on, and the ball was still in her hands. Not sure about NCAAW rules, but in high school the shot is no good based on that info.

JetMetFan Thu Mar 10, 2016 06:33pm

NCAA 5-7-2a (it's the same rule number for Women and Men):

Quote:

In games with a 10th-of-a-second game clock display and where an official courtside monitor is used, the reading of zeros on the game clock is to be used to determine whether a try for goal occurred before or after the expiration of time in any period. When the game clock is not visible, the officials shall verify the original call with the use of the red/LED light(s). When the red/LED light(s) are not visible, the sounding of the game-clock horn shall be used. When definitive information is unattainable with the use of the monitor, the original call stands.

Altor Thu Mar 10, 2016 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by boro_ref (Post 983732)
Losing coach in the press conference alluded to conversation with the official about what clock was used to determine if the shot was good.

They (the team) were probably looking at the shot in the youtube video where the clock was inlaid on the main video. Never trust those. There is almost always a delay on that clock. There was a view from the backcourt where you could see the ball in her hand and the clock above the goal at 0.0 and the red LEDs on. That's the definitive look.

JRutledge Thu Mar 10, 2016 08:47pm

Here is a breakdown.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/8MkNy6cm2oI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Mr.C Thu Mar 10, 2016 09:33pm

Thanks for posting the video. I can see the red light on before the shot leaves her hands.

JetMetFan Fri Mar 11, 2016 01:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 983746)
They (the team) were probably looking at the shot in the youtube video where the clock was inlaid on the main video. Never trust those. There is almost always a delay on that clock. There was a view from the backcourt where you could see the ball in her hand and the clock above the goal at 0.0 and the red LEDs on. That's the definitive look.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr.C (Post 983754)
Thanks for posting the video. I can see the red light on before the shot leaves her hands.

Umm...you folks did see the NCAA rule citation I added to the thread earlier, right?

Camron Rust Fri Mar 11, 2016 02:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 983772)
Umm...you folks did see the NCAA rule citation I added to the thread earlier, right?

Yes, and?

The game clock above the basket in the same shot as the ball showed 0.0 before she released it. It shouldn't have counted.

JetMetFan Fri Mar 11, 2016 04:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 983775)
Yes, and?

The game clock above the basket in the same shot as the ball showed 0.0 before she released it. It shouldn't have counted.

The officials most likely could not clearly see the clock at 0.0, the ball and whether it was on her hand all in the same low-angle shot (I know I couldn't, though I was watching on a much smaller screen). They apparently went with the next-best angle (at 0:39 of the YouTube clip) which shows the ball out of the shooter's hands with 0:00.1 on the superimposed game clock. That's why the goal was ruled good. My guess is that's what the coach was alluding to about the clock and the angle. If the officials were wrong I'm sure I'll see something about it on Arbiter within a day or two.

Now, whether the superimposed clock was a beat behind those attached to the baskets is another story but it appears the crew went with the most definitive information available.

The question about my earlier post was also concerned with the references to the LED lights. Those lights weren't relevant in this case based on the rule and the equipment available.

BryanV21 Fri Mar 11, 2016 08:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 983781)
That's why the goal was ruled good.

You mean it was not ruled good?

Raymond Fri Mar 11, 2016 08:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 983772)
Umm...you folks did see the NCAA rule citation I added to the thread earlier, right?

That only applies when you go to the monitor. During live action on the court we use the red light and the horn.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

Altor Fri Mar 11, 2016 09:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan
Umm...you folks did see the NCAA rule citation I added to the thread earlier, right?

My comment agreed with your rule citation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 983781)
That's why the goal was ruled good.

From the Youtube description...
Quote:

The game appeared destined for double overtime when Chelsee Black, who led UAB with a game-high 19 points, banked in a halfcourt shot at the buzzer. But after an official review, it was determined that the shot came after time expired to send the Miners (26-3) dancing into the semifinals

JetMetFan Fri Mar 11, 2016 09:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 983786)
My comment agreed with your rule citation.



From the Youtube description...

Apologies to all for misunderstanding the outcome. Ugh. Don't know where my head was.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1