The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Oklahoma State Vs. Iowa State Video (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101008-oklahoma-state-vs-iowa-state-video.html)

wildcatter Tue Mar 01, 2016 12:45am

Oklahoma State Vs. Iowa State Video
 
I can't embed this, but the link contains the video.

This Play Seems Impossible

Whatcha got?

LeeBallanfant Tue Mar 01, 2016 12:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wildcatter (Post 982895)
I can't embed this, but the link contains the video.

This Play Seems Impossible

Whatcha got?

Concussion protocol

Nevadaref Tue Mar 01, 2016 01:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wildcatter (Post 982895)
I can't embed this, but the link contains the video.

This Play Seems Impossible

Whatcha got?

There have been numerous occurrences of this over the years. We've probably posted five of them on this forum.

The correct call is defensive basket interference.

BlueDevilRef Tue Mar 01, 2016 10:33am

It would be BI bc his head was in the net and cylinder at same time ball is passing through?

bob jenkins Tue Mar 01, 2016 10:45am

His head was not in the cylinder.

BI for touching the basket while the ball is on or in the basket.

BlueDevilRef Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:42am

Ok. Sounds good

Camron Rust Tue Mar 01, 2016 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 982910)
His head was not in the cylinder.

BI for touching the basket while the ball is on or in the basket.

Or for touching the ball while it was on or in the basket.

BlueDevilRef Tue Mar 01, 2016 12:15pm

Did the game officials count it? Or is that why the vid was posted?

JRutledge Tue Mar 01, 2016 02:00pm

Embedded video.
 
Not my video but I will but this is so we can all see this on the site.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/un5baS36lTk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JetMetFan Wed Mar 02, 2016 08:19am

The goal was not awarded. It's listed in the play-by-play as a missed dunk by ISU #1 and a rebound by OSU #41.

Raymond Wed Mar 02, 2016 08:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 982921)
Or for touching the ball while it was on or in the basket.

Which means it should also be basket interference when a player dunks and the ball hits off his own head and goes back up through the ring.

HokiePaul Wed Mar 02, 2016 09:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 982981)
Which means it should also be basket interference when a player dunks and the ball hits off his own head and goes back up through the ring.

Would this not fall under the exception in Section 6? The rules don't specifically address this exact scenario as far as I can tell, but I could argue that the spirit and intent of the rule is that the occasional situation that the ball touches the player's head before passing completely through the basket on a dunk is not basket interference.

Also, why would "going back up through the ring" have any impact? If you are calling offensive basket interference, would it not be for the player touching the ball the ball is on or within either basket?


EXCEPTION: In Arts. 1 or 2, if a player has his/her hand legally in contact with the ball, it is
not a violation if such contact with the ball continues after it enters a basket cylinder or if in such
action, the player touches the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference.

Raymond Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 982984)

Also, why would "going back up through the ring" have any impact? If you are calling offensive basket interference, would it not be for the player touching the ball the ball is on or within either basket?

I say going back through the ring b/c that's what happens when a player dunks on his own head. No one pays attention otherwise. We've seen plenty of videos over the years where a player dunks and hits his own head the ball comes back up through the hoop.




Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 982984)
Would this not fall under the exception in Section 6? The rules don't specifically address this exact scenario as far as I can tell, but I could argue that the spirit and intent of the rule is that the occasional situation that the ball touches the player's head before passing completely through the basket on a dunk is not basket interference.

EXCEPTION: In Arts. 1 or 2, if a player has his/her hand legally in contact with the ball, it is
not a violation if such contact with the ball continues after it enters a basket cylinder or if in such
action, the player touches the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference.

Since players don't dunk with their heads, I don't think the exception applies. The exception is to allow a player to put his hand(s) in and contact the basket when he dunks.

Nevadaref Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 982981)
Which means it should also be basket interference when a player dunks and the ball hits off his own head and goes back up through the ring.

It is.

Camron Rust Wed Mar 02, 2016 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 982981)
Which means it should also be basket interference when a player dunks and the ball hits off his own head and goes back up through the ring.

Yep.

BryanV21 Wed Mar 02, 2016 01:36pm

Just a note on this...

Since this is a missed violation call this would not fall under the CE for erroneously cancelling a score.

Correct?

Camron Rust Wed Mar 02, 2016 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 983013)
Just a note on this...

Since this is a missed violation call this would not fall under the CE for erroneously cancelling a score.

Correct?

No. Missed calls are not correctable errors, even if they involve scoring.

For this to be a CE, they would have had to actually call BI but fail to award the points (since it was a defensive violation)

JRutledge Wed Mar 02, 2016 04:17pm

Here is more of the video broken down.
 
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/HfBPISpGWyo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

HokiePaul Thu Mar 03, 2016 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 982987)
I say going back through the ring b/c that's what happens when a player dunks on his own head. No one pays attention otherwise. We've seen plenty of videos over the years where a player dunks and hits his own head the ball comes back up through the hoop.

Since players don't dunk with their heads, I don't think the exception applies. The exception is to allow a player to put his hand(s) in and contact the basket when he dunks.

I guess I'm having a hard time figuring out why this would be an automatic call only if the ball bounced back up through. If you don't consider this one of the dunking exceptions, then I can think of 3 scenarios:

1) The player's head touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket, and then the ball eventually passes through the basket

2) The player's head touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket, and then the ball eventually bounces back up and out.


3) After the ball passes through the basket, the ball hits the player's head and bounces up through the basket.

It seems to me that you are saying that 1 and 3 would be offensive BI but 2 would be a good goal. Without any case play to say otherwise, the rule to me (assuming you don't consider this a dunking exception) is that both 1 and 2 would be offensive BI and 3 would be a good goal.

Raymond Thu Mar 03, 2016 09:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 983054)
I guess I'm having a hard time figuring out why this would be an automatic call only if the ball bounced back up through. If you don't consider this one of the dunking exceptions, then I can think of 3 scenarios:

1) The player's head touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket, and then the ball eventually passes through the basket

2) The player's head touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket, and then the ball eventually bounces back up and out.


3) After the ball passes through the basket, the ball hits the player's head and bounces up through the basket.

It seems to me that you are saying that 1 and 3 would be offensive BI but 2 would be a good goal. Without any case play to say otherwise, the rule to me (assuming you don't consider this a dunking exception) is that both 1 and 2 would be offensive BI and 3 would be a good goal.

I gave an example of a play that should be ruled offensive BI but ends up being a play-on. All the other stuff your talking about never entered my head. "Automatic" and "only" were not even in my posts. Not sure what your point is based on my original post as it pertains to the video that was posted.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 982936)
Not my video but I will but this is so we can all see this on the site.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/un5baS36lTk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 982981)
Which means it should also be basket interference when a player dunks and the ball hits off his own head and goes back up through the ring.


HokiePaul Thu Mar 03, 2016 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 983055)
I gave an example of a play that should be ruled offensive BI but ends up being a play-on. All the other stuff your talking about never entered my head. "Automatic" and "only" were not even in my posts. Not sure what your point is based on my original post as it pertains to the video that was posted.

Thanks for clarifying. The video is clearly defensive BI that was missed.

I was just trying to understand your statement that if them ball hit the offensive players head and went back through, it was offensive BI. It didn't seem that simple to me since what the ball does after contacting a player doesn't have anything to do with the BI call (the ball is dead upon contact). But I understand your point that if the ball goes through the basket, it's not going to be called BI even if it technically is.

With replay being used more now though (and I have no idea what triggers replays), I was curious to understand the rule and if there were case plays on this.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1