![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Or for touching the ball while it was on or in the basket.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Which means it should also be basket interference when a player dunks and the ball hits off his own head and goes back up through the ring.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Also, why would "going back up through the ring" have any impact? If you are calling offensive basket interference, would it not be for the player touching the ball the ball is on or within either basket? EXCEPTION: In Arts. 1 or 2, if a player has his/her hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continues after it enters a basket cylinder or if in such action, the player touches the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
1) The player's head touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket, and then the ball eventually passes through the basket 2) The player's head touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket, and then the ball eventually bounces back up and out. 3) After the ball passes through the basket, the ball hits the player's head and bounces up through the basket. It seems to me that you are saying that 1 and 3 would be offensive BI but 2 would be a good goal. Without any case play to say otherwise, the rule to me (assuming you don't consider this a dunking exception) is that both 1 and 2 would be offensive BI and 3 would be a good goal. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Thu Mar 03, 2016 at 09:38am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I was just trying to understand your statement that if them ball hit the offensive players head and went back through, it was offensive BI. It didn't seem that simple to me since what the ball does after contacting a player doesn't have anything to do with the BI call (the ball is dead upon contact). But I understand your point that if the ball goes through the basket, it's not going to be called BI even if it technically is. With replay being used more now though (and I have no idea what triggers replays), I was curious to understand the rule and if there were case plays on this. |
|
|||
|
Yep.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
For this to be a CE, they would have had to actually call BI but fail to award the points (since it was a defensive violation)
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Here is more of the video broken down.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Oklahoma/Iowa State Act of Shooting? (Video) | bballref3966 | Basketball | 24 | Thu Mar 05, 2015 06:01pm |
| Video Request -- Kansas State/Iowa State -- Block/Charge | VTOfficial | Basketball | 0 | Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:42pm |
| Iowa State-Oklahoma Block/Charge (video) | JetMetFan | Basketball | 17 | Wed Jan 15, 2014 10:39pm |
| Iowa State-Oklahoma Continuation(?)...video | JetMetFan | Basketball | 8 | Tue Jan 14, 2014 01:05pm |
| Iowa State / Oklahoma | Adam | Basketball | 2 | Sat Feb 18, 2012 05:30pm |