The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable Errors -- 2 in 1 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100929-correctable-errors-2-1-a.html)

bob jenkins Sat Feb 20, 2016 08:45am

Correctable Errors -- 2 in 1
 
A1 is shooting the second of two FTs. While the try is in the air, A2 fouls B2. B is in the bonus. The official waves off the shot (calling this a TC foul) and B inbounds the ball. During play (before any dead balls), B3 is fouled.

Ruling?

rlarry Sat Feb 20, 2016 08:52am

Official is incorrect free throw counts if made, B2 & B3 shoot bonus.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

JetMetFan Sat Feb 20, 2016 10:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 981686)
A1 is shooting the second of two FTs. While the try is in the air, A2 fouls B2. B is in the bonus. The official waves off the shot (calling this a TC foul) and B inbounds the ball. During play (before any dead balls), B3 is fouled.

Ruling?

Were you lucky enough to have this happen in a game? :p

BigCat Sat Feb 20, 2016 10:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 981686)
A1 is shooting the second of two FTs. While the try is in the air, A2 fouls B2. B is in the bonus. The official waves off the shot (calling this a TC foul) and B inbounds the ball. During play (before any dead balls), B3 is fouled.

Ruling?

The official, in effect, failed to award A1 his second FT when he waved it off while in air. A1 shoots his FT w no one on lane. Then B2 shoots his 1 and 1 w no one on lane. Then line everybody up for B3 1 and 1. I think...

bob jenkins Sat Feb 20, 2016 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 981696)
The official, in effect, failed to award A1 his second FT when he waved it off while in air. A1 shoots his FT w no one on lane. Then B2 shoots his 1 and 1 w no one on lane. Then line everybody up for B3 1 and 1. I think...

A2 already shot his second FT. It was "good" (or would have been had nothing else happened).

BigCat Sat Feb 20, 2016 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 981697)
A2 already shot his second FT. It was "good" (or would have been had nothing else happened).

Ok. Count A1s erroneously cancelled FT. Then shoot the 1 and 1s w players on lane for last one....I think...late night last night...this scenario is not helping my headache:eek:

BryanV21 Sat Feb 20, 2016 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 981686)
A1 is shooting the second of two FTs. While the try is in the air, A2 fouls B2. B is in the bonus. The official waves off the shot (calling this a TC foul) and B inbounds the ball. During play (before any dead balls), B3 is fouled.

Ruling?

To make sure I'm reading things right...

1. Since we're still in the time frame where we can correct an error (assuming the ball was not at the disposal of B3 after he was fouled), we first count the made FT by A1, as the official erroneously cancelled the score.

2. The next error, failure to award a merited free throw(s) to B2, is corrected by giving B2 a 1-and-1 free throw(s) with the lane cleared.

3. Now we go to the POI, which is when B3 was fouled, meaning play is continued with B3 being awarded a 1-and-1 free throw(s). Unless he was fouled while shooting, in which case play is continued by giving B3 free throw(s).

Nevadaref Sat Feb 20, 2016 02:46pm

The key to this is whether the calling official deemed the ball to still be in A1's hands when A2 fouled. It doesn't matter when he sounded his whistle. This official is the arbiter of the facts of the event. Even if video would prove that the ball was in flight when the foul occurred, the officials on the court have to go by what this official observed. Of course, his partners can counsel him on the call, but they cannot change it. Only the calling official can alter his decision.

So if he want to stick with the TC foul, one would need to know if A2 also committed a lane violation. If not, then A1 is entitled to attempt his FT which was halted by the foul with the lane cleared. This CE is failure to award a merited FT. The game would then continue at the POI with B3 attempting FTs.

If the calling official is willing to admit that the ball was in flight and that he kicked the rule, proceed as stated by BryanV, plus considering whether or not A2 committed a FT violation along with his foul.

bob jenkins Sat Feb 20, 2016 03:00pm

The calling official determined that the try had been released (and he waved off the shot in error). No one committed a lane violation.

Nevadaref Sat Feb 20, 2016 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 981748)
The calling official determined that the try had been released (and he waved off the shot in error). No one committed a lane violation.

In that case, the official just kicked the rule and BryanV has the correct administration to handle the situation.

bob jenkins Sat Feb 20, 2016 10:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 981749)
In that case, the official just kicked the rule and BryanV has the correct administration to handle the situation.

That's what we did. B3's FTs (1-1) were with players lined up on the lane.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1