The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Last Second Shot - Legal Move? (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100912-last-second-shot-legal-move-video.html)

JRutledge Thu Feb 18, 2016 01:35am

Last Second Shot - Legal Move? (Video)
 
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/szztUGuNJlc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Camron Rust Thu Feb 18, 2016 02:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 981395)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/szztUGuNJlc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Really close. It really hinges on when you think he started holding the ball. I'd lean towards no travel but can't say with any certainty that it wasn't.

Blindolbat Thu Feb 18, 2016 03:53am

I don't think he gathers until the left foot has been put down to the ground. I'm saying no travel.

Mr.C Thu Feb 18, 2016 07:45am

I would say no travel also

#olderthanilook Thu Feb 18, 2016 07:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 981398)
Really close. It really hinges on when you think he started holding the ball. I'd lean towards no travel but can't say with any certainty that it wasn't.

Same. I think a case can be made for right foot being the pivot. If so, then it is a travel.

ballgame99 Thu Feb 18, 2016 09:11am

No travel, dribble didn't clearly end until left foot was down. This looks funny, but looks like a correct no call.

Pantherdreams Thu Feb 18, 2016 09:50am

I think I would be closer to a travel on the intial take off then the stop and shot.

However a lot if going to depend on the standard you've applied all game. I've worked for groups/associations who wanted you to be able to clearly see the ball out before the back foot was picked up and if not call the travel. I've also worked with associations who only wanted you getting the obvious stuff.

In either case in real time I did not have a travel on the aspect of the play we are discussing.

Da Official Thu Feb 18, 2016 10:33am

As others have indicated this play is completely hinged on when the dribble ended. If its the right foot then travel. If left foot then play on. Tough play as I believe there is a good case either way. In real time I probably would have called this a travel.

Rule: 4-15-4

ART. 4

The dribble ends when:

a. The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both hands.

b. The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or both hands.

c. The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands.

d. The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control.

e. The ball becomes dead.

walt Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:12am

As others have said, too close to call. My first reaction was no travel. Even in slow motion I am still not sure so that is what I am sticking with.

deecee Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:47am

To close to call, good shot.

Scuba_ref Thu Feb 18, 2016 12:04pm

I'm in the no travel group. If we can't tell by watching in slow motion then there is no way I'm going near this call in real time.

In the women's college association that I officiate for (not D1) we are lucky to have a final-4 D1 official as our training coordinator. A phrase that she uses is "don't be that good" - which basically means don't be splitting hairs on calls. In this situation we have to know it is a travel, not think it is!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1