The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   How many free throws? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100879-how-many-free-throws.html)

benbret Sat Feb 13, 2016 01:44pm

How many free throws?
 
NFHS Girls Varsity A30 and B23 are both on the floor in the free throw lane trying to get a loose ball and R3 calls a jump ball. Both players stand up and A30 pushes B23 and then hits her with the ball. R3 calls a T on A30 as B23 walks away. B30 is at the free throw line and comes running up to A30 and gets in her face to defend her team mate. All of this happened within a couple of seconds. R1 calls a T on B30 and she walks away. When B30 gets to the free throw line she turns around and goes after A30. R1 steps in and stops her and there was no physical contact by B30. R1 then calls another T on B30 and ejects B30 form the game. How many free throws should be attempted?

This has nothing to do with that situation but what would you do with this information as a crew. After R3 and R1 reported the fouls, B coach was talking to B30 about her actions. She did not like it and left B's bench area and walked behind A's bench and went out into the hall. No adult or team B personnel went with her. She stayed out in the hall and never did return.

Adam Sat Feb 13, 2016 02:24pm

So you have two Ts on B30, and one on A30, preceded by a held ball call.

First T is on B30, so you have two shots for A.
A30 has to come in to get involved, so I'm not going to consider this to be a double.
Two shots for B.
B30 decides to come back in and get stupid after the call is made against A30. Two more shots for A.

A gets the ball.

We haven't sent B30 anywhere, she went on her own. It's on the coach now to follow rules and protocol. I'm not getting involved, because I'm going to assume the coach has someone to take care of her.

BryanV21 Sat Feb 13, 2016 03:03pm

I think there was confusion on the order of events. The way I read it is like this...

1. Tech on A30 for the push/hit after held ball call
2. Tech on B30 when she gets in face of A30
3. Tech on B30, her 2nd for going after A30 again

So I believe you would penalize them in order of occurrence, meaning this...

1. 2 shots for Team B, with the lanes clear
2. 2 shots for Team A, with the lanes clear
3. 2 more shots for Team A, with the lanes clear
4. ball is awarded to Team A at the division line, on the opposite side of table

NOTE: The held ball call is lost, as the following technical fouls negated it. Therefore the AP is not changed or even touched.

Adam Sat Feb 13, 2016 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 980763)
I think there was confusion on the order of events. The way I read it is like this...

1. Tech on A30 for the push/hit after held ball call
2. Tech on B30 when she gets in face of A30
3. Tech on B30, her 2nd for going after A30 again

So I believe you would penalize them in order of occurrence, meaning this...

1. 2 shots for Team B, with the lanes clear
2. 2 shots for Team A, with the lanes clear
3. 2 more shots for Team A, with the lanes clear
4. ball is awarded to Team A at the division line, on the opposite side of table

NOTE: The held ball call is lost, as the following technical fouls negated it. Therefore the AP is not changed or even touched.

You are correct, I had the order of fouls wrong (I simply got it all confused).

deecee Sat Feb 13, 2016 06:28pm

So A30 first pushed a player and then threw the ball at her? She's done in my game. The only thing I'm going back and forth on right now is do I just upgrade the first T to a flagrant after the ball throw or give 2 separate T's?

Nevadaref Sat Feb 13, 2016 08:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 980763)
I think there was confusion on the order of events. The way I read it is like this...

1. Tech on A30 for the push/hit after held ball call
2. Tech on B30 when she gets in face of A30
3. Tech on B30, her 2nd for going after A30 again

So I believe you would penalize them in order of occurrence, meaning this...

1. 2 shots for Team B, with the lanes clear
2. 2 shots for Team A, with the lanes clear
3. 2 more shots for Team A, with the lanes clear
4. ball is awarded to Team A at the division line, on the opposite side of table

NOTE: The held ball call is lost, as the following technical fouls negated it. Therefore the AP is not changed or even touched.

This is the correct administration of what the officials in the game called.

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 980778)
So A30 first pushed a player and then threw the ball at her? She's done in my game. The only thing I'm going back and forth on right now is do I just upgrade the first T to a flagrant after the ball throw or give 2 separate T's?

I also believe that the officials should have penalized both actions of A30. This is best done with two technical fouls. The second one may be deemed flagrant. That depends upon how the officials on the court view it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1