![]() |
Bench team member Unsporting T?
A1 and B1 are chasing the ball as it bounces towards the sideline, in front of team B's bench. Just before A1 can reach the ball, to save it from going out of bounds, a team B member, seated on the bench, reaches and catches the ball.
A) What is the ruling? B) Does it matter whether the ball has crossed the sideline, when the bench team member catches it? |
I'd give a T.
Doesn't matter whether the ball has crossed the sideline. |
I think for me this is a "You have to see it" call.
I have worked games in some gyms where the players on the bench barely have room for the feet without their toes being in play. In that situation, if it looks like the player is just trying to avoid getting hit with the ball and/or multiple players at full speed...I probably have nothing. It there is plenty of room and space behind them and they reach out while sitting, I probably have a warning to just avoid next time. If it is a reflex move I absolutely have nothing. Now, if they leave their seat (even a little) to reach out I probably have a T. |
This is a HTBT. Depending on the circumstances I may or may not T if the ball is clearly OOB.
|
My ruling, B1 was the last to touch the ball before it went OOB, designated spot throw-in for Team A. :D
|
If I think A had a legitimate shot at saving the ball, and B1 wasn't just protecting himself reflexively, I'm calling a T.
If it was going out anyway, I might warn his coach that if it had been close we'd be having a different conversation. If it was reflexive, no T or warning. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12pm. |