The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Wanted to call something (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/1008-wanted-call-something.html)

walter Fri Oct 27, 2000 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Walter,
In my mind, when MOFFICIAL gave it up to his partner, the contact became incidental, unless the contact was ruled flagrant, or intentional. MOFFICIAL termed the contact a "pretty serious bump", not a push, not a hold/grab. Doesn't sound like much to me.
mick

[/B]
Mick:
I agree totally. I was simply stating that if he had decided it was serious to warrant a call, under his scenario, it would have to be a "T". If I was in his spot and after talking to my partner, I would agree it's incidental contact.

mick Fri Oct 27, 2000 12:31pm

Sounds good.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by walter
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Walter,
In my mind, when MOFFICIAL gave it up to his partner, the contact became incidental, unless the contact was ruled flagrant, or intentional. MOFFICIAL termed the contact a "pretty serious bump", not a push, not a hold/grab. Doesn't sound like much to me.
mick

Mick:
I agree totally. I was simply stating that if he had decided it was serious to warrant a call, under his scenario, it would have to be a "T". If I was in his spot and after talking to my partner, I would agree it's incidental contact.
[/B]
Walter,
Yeah, probably since MOFFICIAL had to even think about it ... it wasn't necessary to call. If he really wants to call the next one, I'll bet he won't hesitate at all with a BIG BANG.
mick

Todd VandenAkker Fri Oct 27, 2000 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by walter
Being that he's already given up the play to his partner by agreeing that his partner's whistle came first (I agree it's really what act came first), he must now decide whether to punish the act. Because the ball was dead, if he punishes, he has no choice but to call it a technical foul.
But again, since the occurrence of an injury did not in itself cause the ball to become dead, the act of the foul may STILL have occured during a live ball before the ref decided the injury was severe enough to stop the game. So I wouldn't see that as a "technical" situation. If, as posted, the whistles came at approximately the same time, you could still go with the personal foul, regardless of whether the injury occured first. You "simply" explain, if necessary, that the foul occurred during a live ball before the whistle was blown to hold the game for the injury.

mick Fri Oct 27, 2000 04:02pm

That's too easy.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Todd VandenAkker
Quote:

Originally posted by walter
Being that he's already given up the play to his partner by agreeing that his partner's whistle came first (I agree it's really what act came first), he must now decide whether to punish the act. Because the ball was dead, if he punishes, he has no choice but to call it a technical foul.
But again, since the occurrence of an injury did not in itself cause the ball to become dead, the act of the foul may STILL have occured during a live ball before the ref decided the injury was severe enough to stop the game. So I wouldn't see that as a "technical" situation. If, as posted, the whistles came at approximately the same time, you could still go with the personal foul, regardless of whether the injury occured first. You "simply" explain, if necessary, that the foul occurred during a live ball before the whistle was blown to hold the game for the injury.

Great call, Todd!

walter Mon Oct 30, 2000 04:34pm

As always, Todd comes through as the voice of reason.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1