![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I've watched it a few times and can't clearly tell but it kind of looks as if he bounces it off the defenders right shoulder. That then would negate the travel right?
Last edited by Cole4088; Sat Jan 30, 2016 at 10:20pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In the video the player jumps to shoot and simply drops the ball. At this moment there is nothing to call. When he catches it first the drop is considered a dribble. Illegal to start a dribble with pivot foot in air. |
|
|||
|
The instant he started a dribble after lifting his pivot foot is when the travel occurs. It has nothing to do with him being first to touch it.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
What happens after the drop determines if it is a dribble, or pass. |
|
|||
|
From The List ...
When an airborne player tries for goal, sees that the try will be blocked, purposely drops the ball, and touches the ball after it hits the floor, that player has traveled by starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
9.5 is the play where A1 dribbles, comes to a stop and then throws it off of opponents backboard. Opponents backboard is the same as floor. The play says violation by A1 provided he is first to touch it. |
|
|||
|
A second touch is not necessary to define a dribble. If a player releases the ball and, in the judgment of the official, it is not a try or a pass, it is, by default, a dribble. If this happens after the pivot is lifted, the violation occurs when the ball hits the floor.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
I had this same play occur last Saturday. I was Lead and the defender blocked the Trail's view of the action. Even though it was outside the 3pt line on the wing, I came with a late whistle and called the violation.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
You just might not be able to tell which it is right away, but that doesn't change what it is. Sometimes you can tell what it is right away. If it were any other way, a player who has released the ball on a dribble but hasn't yet touched it after the first bounce couldn't be considered to be in player control....and couldn't commit a player control foul. Do you really think a player who has released the ball on a dribble but before the first touch isn't in player control for that period?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Illegal Dribble ???
Quote:
9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: ART. 1 A try for field goal. ART. 2 A touch by an opponent. ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player. Did he lose control because of the touch by an opponent? Did he lose control because of a pass or a fumble that was then touched by another player? Or did he lose control because he dropped the ball?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Illegal Dribble ???
Quote:
But what if it's not a fumble, nor is it a pass, rather, it's intentionally thrown against a opponent? 9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: ART. 1 A try for field goal. ART. 2 A touch by an opponent. ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player. BigCat: I see your point and would probably actually call it your way in a real game, but is the interpretation supported by the written rule? Ask the question, "Why did the player lose control?" Because he intentionally threw it away.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
There are times when we have to wait to see what happens next to know if a dribble or pass occurred. This video is an example of it. 4.44.3A(d) and Ar 193 support it. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Penn State vs. Iowa GT/BI (Video request) | JRutledge | Basketball | 3 | Thu Mar 12, 2015 09:18pm |
| Video Request -- Kansas State/Iowa State -- Block/Charge | VTOfficial | Basketball | 0 | Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:42pm |
| Iowa State/Baylor - Video request x2 (Clips Added) | zm1283 | Basketball | 22 | Fri Jan 10, 2014 12:13pm |
| Texas vs Iowa State | MD Longhorn | Football | 17 | Thu Oct 10, 2013 09:29am |
| Video Request: Kansas vs. Iowa State | JRutledge | Basketball | 22 | Tue Feb 26, 2013 08:39am |