The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Unusual Play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100779-unusual-play.html)

rickyss10 Sat Jan 30, 2016 12:26pm

Unusual Play
 
Team A throws ball in on baseline in BC. A1 passes to A2, no pressure at all, 10 second count started, A2 shoots at wrong basket, just hits backboard, A1 gets rebound, does the 10 second count start over or keep counting from initial throw in. Is team A still considered to have continuous control? Rule 4-41-2 states a try for field goal is to one's own basket. What do you think?

TimTaylor Sat Jan 30, 2016 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rickyss10 (Post 978741)
Team A throws ball in on baseline in BC. A1 passes to A2, no pressure at all, 10 second count started, A2 shoots at wrong basket, just hits backboard, A1 gets rebound, does the 10 second count start over or keep counting from initial throw in. Is team A still considered to have continuous control? Rule 4-41-2 states a try for field goal is to one's own basket. What do you think?

Shooting at the opponents basket is not a try - 10 second back court count continues from when team control is established after initial throw-in.

Camron Rust Sat Jan 30, 2016 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rickyss10 (Post 978741)
Team A throws ball in on baseline in BC. A1 passes to A2, no pressure at all, 10 second count started, A2 shoots at wrong basket, just hits backboard, A1 gets rebound, does the 10 second count start over or keep counting from initial throw in. Is team A still considered to have continuous control? Rule 4-41-2 states a try for field goal is to one's own basket. What do you think?

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 978742)
Shooting at the opponents basket is not a try - 10 second back court count continues from when team control is established after initial throw-in.

You might, however, have either a travel or an illegal dribble if a single player is involved in the "shot" and "rebound".

TimTaylor Sat Jan 30, 2016 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 978744)
You might, however, have either a travel or an illegal dribble if a single player is involved in the "shot" and "rebound".

Yep, but OP said "A2 shoots & A1 gets the rebound" so I figured it didn't apply..

Raymond Sat Jan 30, 2016 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rickyss10 (Post 978741)
Team A throws ball in on baseline in BC. A1 passes to A2, no pressure at all, 10 second count started, A2 shoots at wrong basket, just hits backboard, A1 gets rebound, does the 10 second count start over or keep counting from initial throw in. Is team A still considered to have continuous control? Rule 4-41-2 states a try for field goal is to one's own basket. What do you think?

No thinking needed, it's a clear cut ruling. There was no try, therefore team control never terminated.

Dad Sat Jan 30, 2016 02:06pm

Question was well answered already. There are a few case book plays you should probably look into for understanding the two baskets. Example: Can you travel after throwing it off your own backboard? A players basket and opponents basket are two very different things.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1