![]() |
|
|
|||
Thanks Jay
I didn't see the game. I didn't see the play.
All I know is this authoritative assessment was the first thing on my newsfeed tonight. Jay Bilas @JayBilas 2m2 minutes ago HORRIBLE charge call on Jalen Jones. It was a secondary defender, not in legal guarding position, in the restricted area. HORRIBLE CALL.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game! Me: Thanks, but why the big rush. Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we! |
|
|||
I just watched the play (3:54 of the 2nd half for those interested) and - while Jay Bilas may be annoying - he may be right. I say may because I'm not sure of the NCAAM interp on this particular play.
The defender in question switched to cover Jones and was on the RA when contact took place. The only issue is no one was guarding Jones before the defender switched so I don't know whether under the NCAAM code he's considered secondary. As an FYI, the play in question under the NCAAW code would be a PC because Jones received the ball in the LDB.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Thu Jan 28, 2016 at 02:51pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
There's a case play similar to a player not being guarded in a zone: A.R. 97. Team B is in a zone defense. A1, who is located on the perimeter of Team B’s zone, passes the ball to A2. A1 then cuts behind B1, who is the defender at the top of the zone, and receives a pass from A2 while just outside the restricted area. After receiving the pass, A1 then crashes into the torso of defender B2 who has established initial guarding position inside the restricted area. The Lead official calls a blocking foul on B2. RULING: The official is correct. B2 is a secondary defender because A1 is deemed to have beaten B1 when he cut behind B1 on the perimeter of the zone defense. As a secondary defender, B2 may not establish an initial legal guarding position in the restricted area for the purpose of drawing a player control/charging foul when defending a player who is in control of the ball or has released the ball on a pass or try. I also think the L missed that one. There was another charge with 1:00 to go on Caruso that ESPN writers, broadcasters ("I think that his feet were moving"), and Bilas were complaining about. I thought the refs got it right on that one. As an aside - just want to say thanks JetMetFan for doing all your video posts. I really appreciate how you label each one, and then slow it down for the call. Can I ask what you use to capture and edit the video? |
|
|||
Here's the play...
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
Need to see if that defender was screened or switching. Need longer video.
Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Sun Jan 31, 2016 at 09:16am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|